Charter HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3664 Old 01-22-2010, 11:18 AM
Member
 
wunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SW Wisconsin
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2nd vote for SyFy HD and Science HD
wunder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3664 Old 01-22-2010, 11:21 AM
Member
 
wunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SW Wisconsin
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invader3 View Post

I notice a decent amount of pixelation in fast moving scenes.

I finally ditched the Moxi I had been using for years. It frequently had pixelation issues, stuck scenes, reboot at random, etc. I bought a Tivo HD. The cablecard installation took 2 technicians 2 days to resolve, but since then I've had flawless HD. Tivos Rock.
wunder is offline  
post #363 of 3664 Old 01-22-2010, 12:34 PM
Member
 
klandry7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Paincourtville, la
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wunder View Post

2nd vote for SyFy HD and Science HD

Charter has had Science HD in Louisiana for the last two years .
klandry7 is offline  
post #364 of 3664 Old 01-22-2010, 04:28 PM
Member
 
adgreer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey anyone know how to get the guide on a sa 8300 hdc to fill the whole screen and not be in 4:3 mode on a widescreen hd tv? It is running the sara software. I have been through the setup selected widescreen tv gut guide is still in 4:3 anyone know if its possible to have it fill the whole screen?

Thanks
adgreer is offline  
post #365 of 3664 Old 01-23-2010, 03:55 PM
Member
 
UVa Wahoo in WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CharterJosh,

You have been active here for lately so I thought I would inquire.

We have been experiencing pretty poor signal quality here for the last few weeks including not only pixelization and signal dropout on the TV, but also loss of internet or very slow performance. From what I understand it has not been unique to our household, but others in the area lately as well. Have there been any shuffling of equipment or upgrades or maintenance or something lately that might be the cause? It has come and gone for awhile now and I would feel better to know that whatever it is/was is short term and hopefully resolved.

On a 2nd different topic any feedback about when the Asheville area might see ESPNUHD and Comedy Central HD in the lineup?

Thanks
UVa Wahoo in WNC is offline  
post #366 of 3664 Old 01-24-2010, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
eastfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Josh,

I live in southern California (Riverside, CA 92509 zip). Does Charter use SDV in this area? I am going to get the Ceton Quad tuner when it comes out and wanted to know if I need tuning adapters for it. Thank you

Jeff
eastfamily is offline  
post #367 of 3664 Old 01-25-2010, 12:46 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by eastfamily View Post

Josh,

I live in southern California (Riverside, CA 92509 zip). Does Charter use SDV in this area? I am going to get the Ceton Quad tuner when it comes out and wanted to know if I need tuning adapters for it. Thank you

Jeff

I'm not showing we have SDV deployed in the Riverside area yet.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #368 of 3664 Old 01-25-2010, 12:52 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by UVa Wahoo in WNC View Post

CharterJosh,

You have been active here for lately so I thought I would inquire.

We have been experiencing pretty poor signal quality here for the last few weeks including not only pixelization and signal dropout on the TV, but also loss of internet or very slow performance. From what I understand it has not been unique to our household, but others in the area lately as well. Have there been any shuffling of equipment or upgrades or maintenance or something lately that might be the cause? It has come and gone for awhile now and I would feel better to know that whatever it is/was is short term and hopefully resolved.

On a 2nd different topic any feedback about when the Asheville area might see ESPNUHD and Comedy Central HD in the lineup?

Thanks


I honestly don't see anything in the area that should be causing the pixelation problems you've been seeing. We did have a problem last week with slow speeds on our Internet service due to a DNS spoofing attack, but this has been resolved. If you're still having problems I can take a look at the service to find out what's going on. PM me with your Name/Address/Phone# and I'll see what I can find.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #369 of 3664 Old 01-25-2010, 12:55 PM
Member
 
don_mccarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Umatter2charter
Has the SDV upgrade that was cancelled a few months ago been rescheduled
for the St. Louis area.
When will we be getting more HD.
Like speed, versus, espn news, etc.
The only problem I find with HD is there is not enough of it.
don_mccarter is offline  
post #370 of 3664 Old 01-25-2010, 02:32 PM
Member
 
klandry7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Paincourtville, la
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umatter2Charter View Post

There are plans in place to launch HD additions in March.

Umatter2charter,
Do you have a list of the channels we are supposed to be getting in Louisiana?
klandry7 is offline  
post #371 of 3664 Old 01-27-2010, 10:07 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by forumreader View Post

Hi UMatter2Charter there was an unanswered question awhile back regarding NBA TV and NBA League Pass ? any chance Charter might add these ? also any new HD channels in the pipeline for Minnesota ? Thanks

As of now there has not been any progress on adding NBA TV or NBA League Pass. There also has not been any news on new HD channels at this time.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #372 of 3664 Old 01-27-2010, 10:08 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by klandry7 View Post

Umatter2charter,
Do you have a list of the channels we are supposed to be getting in Louisiana?

That has not been released yet, although I'm hoping to hear something soon.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #373 of 3664 Old 01-29-2010, 09:42 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by don_mccarter View Post

Umatter2charter
Has the SDV upgrade that was cancelled a few months ago been rescheduled
for the St. Louis area.
When will we be getting more HD.
Like speed, versus, espn news, etc.
The only problem I find with HD is there is not enough of it.

We are still planning on moving forward with the SDV upgrade for the St Louis area. Right now we have tentative dates set to go live on SDV in Jefferson County on 2/10. The rest of the St. Louis market is planned to launch SDV also, however a firm date has not been set yet. Please remember any dates posted are tentative and are subject to change at any time. As for additional HD channels, we did launch Universal HD on 1/20 so we could provide more Olympic coverage in HD and we hope to launch more HD in the Spring and early Summer. We do not have specific information on what or exactly when this will occur yet. Thank you for your channel suggestions, we have noted them and forwarded appropriately.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #374 of 3664 Old 01-29-2010, 04:31 PM
Newbie
 
TVMAN 101's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Umatter2charter
Any new HD channels coming to Wisconsin?
TVMAN 101 is offline  
post #375 of 3664 Old 02-02-2010, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Gonesouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a timeframe/date for the upgrades? I left my dvr with d* and my wife is giving me heck for not having it. Ballpark would be great.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Umatter2Charter View Post

Unfortunately no info has been released. I have been told that the needed work is being looked at and scheduled to make this possible but a timeframe/date for completion has not been set yet. We did get info that DVR launch is scheduled for this year after the beginning of the upgrades have been completed.

Gonesouth is offline  
post #376 of 3664 Old 02-04-2010, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Charter to add EPIX in May.

http://www.businesswire.com/portal/s...28&newsLang=en

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is online now  
post #377 of 3664 Old 02-04-2010, 08:12 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVMAN 101 View Post

Umatter2charter
Any new HD channels coming to Wisconsin?

I spoke with our Marketing Manager. The channel additions for this year are still being worked on and still in the planning stage. No announcements on what will be on the slate yet. (Other than Epix)
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #378 of 3664 Old 02-04-2010, 08:17 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonesouth View Post

Is there a timeframe/date for the upgrades? I left my dvr with d* and my wife is giving me heck for not having it. Ballpark would be great.

For right now no, there's not anything being released for a timeframe. Sorry.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #379 of 3664 Old 02-05-2010, 07:05 AM
Member
 
adgreer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my dvr is not recording when I sent up a recording. SO I called Charter and asked if I could swap it out at a local Charter office for a new dvr. The rep told me that would be fine. I noticed that there was another office different than the office I had went to originally to get the dvr and this office is 13 miles away but a closer drive time than the office I had went to that is 11 miles away due to its location next to the interstate. So I asked the rep if it mattered which office I went to, and she said no. I double checked and again she said no I could go to any Charter office. So long story short. I take the dvr to the new office I found and they tell me that they are on a different system and their dvr's wont work on the system I am on. So they said they needed to send a tech out. Does this sound right?
adgreer is offline  
post #380 of 3664 Old 02-05-2010, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
eastfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Josh,

I have a question. I am looking into buying a Ceton tuner when it comes out and using a cable card. Does Charter DRM content so that I can't convert the file into something smaller to keep on my hard drive? roughly 6 gigs for a show is a lot, especially when you like to catalogue shows for the whole season so you can watch before the new season start.

Just curious.
eastfamily is offline  
post #381 of 3664 Old 02-05-2010, 03:20 PM
Member
 
CardassianVol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umatter2Charter View Post

I spoke with our Marketing Manager. The channel additions for this year are still being worked on and still in the planning stage. No announcements on what will be on the slate yet. (Other than Epix)

What about Columbia, TN and Middle Tennessee in general? My brother would really like to know since he is considering switching.
CardassianVol is offline  
post #382 of 3664 Old 02-10-2010, 07:45 AM
Member
 
don_mccarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umatter2Charter View Post

We are still planning on moving forward with the SDV upgrade for the St Louis area. Right now we have tentative dates set to go live on SDV in Jefferson County on 2/10. The rest of the St. Louis market is planned to launch SDV also, however a firm date has not been set yet. Please remember any dates posted are tentative and are subject to change at any time.

Did Jefferson County go live on SDV today?
don_mccarter is offline  
post #383 of 3664 Old 02-10-2010, 08:41 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by don_mccarter View Post

Did Jefferson County go live on SDV today?

Unfortunately no. Due to a technical problem the launch had to be pushed back again. More information on rescheduling the launch should be released soon.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #384 of 3664 Old 02-10-2010, 09:02 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by eastfamily View Post

Josh,

I have a question. I am looking into buying a Ceton tuner when it comes out and using a cable card. Does Charter DRM content so that I can't convert the file into something smaller to keep on my hard drive? roughly 6 gigs for a show is a lot, especially when you like to catalogue shows for the whole season so you can watch before the new season start.

Just curious.

Good question. Content DRM is not managed by Charter. All DRM information (or lack thereof) comes from the networks themselves and is passed along unaltered.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #385 of 3664 Old 02-10-2010, 09:16 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by adgreer View Post

So my dvr is not recording when I sent up a recording. SO I called Charter and asked if I could swap it out at a local Charter office for a new dvr. The rep told me that would be fine. I noticed that there was another office different than the office I had went to originally to get the dvr and this office is 13 miles away but a closer drive time than the office I had went to that is 11 miles away due to its location next to the interstate. So I asked the rep if it mattered which office I went to, and she said no. I double checked and again she said no I could go to any Charter office. So long story short. I take the dvr to the new office I found and they tell me that they are on a different system and their dvr's wont work on the system I am on. So they said they needed to send a tech out. Does this sound right?

Unfortunately yes that could be correct. Certain types of equipment will only work with particular types of headends. If the office you went to is in an SA only area and you live in a Motorola only area (or the other way around), then the equipment would not be compatible. Not sure if this is the case in your particular area, however that can happen. Very sorry for the incorrect information given by the rep on the phone.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #386 of 3664 Old 02-10-2010, 09:22 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CardassianVol View Post

What about Columbia, TN and Middle Tennessee in general? My brother would really like to know since he is considering switching.

We do have launches planned for this year to add additional channels, however it's the same answer, no details yet and no specific dates set until the lineup and negotiations have completed.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #387 of 3664 Old 02-10-2010, 09:33 AM
Member
 
don_mccarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umatter2Charter View Post

Unfortunately no. Due to a technical problem the launch had to be pushed back again. More information on rescheduling the launch should be released soon.

let me see, first November date was cancelled, now today is cancelled,
so all we get are meaningless targets.
don_mccarter is offline  
post #388 of 3664 Old 02-10-2010, 09:36 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by don_mccarter View Post

let me see, first November date was cancelled, now today is cancelled,
so all we get are meaningless targets.

Quote:


"Right now we have tentative dates set to go live on SDV in Jefferson County on 2/10"

This is exactly why the date was "tentative."
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #389 of 3664 Old 02-10-2010, 09:53 AM
Member
 
don_mccarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umatter2Charter View Post

This is exactly why the date was "tentative."

looks like we are getting new "tentative " dates every three months.
don_mccarter is offline  
post #390 of 3664 Old 02-11-2010, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Rampage522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by don_mccarter View Post

looks like we are getting new "tentative " dates every three months.

If the alternative is "no information" or "no upgrade," perhaps "tentative" is better.
Rampage522 is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off