DirecTV 2007 New HD Channels - First Wave anticipation thread. - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
danshane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jeffersontown, KY
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by guffy1 View Post

Are you saying that theyve come out and fixed problems without you even having the protection plan?

Yes. They replaced an out-of-warranty HD receiver that had one tuner go bad for no charge. I even offered to let them simply ship me the box for self-installation, but they insisted on sending a tech to do the swap.

--

Be seeing you...

Dan Shane
danshane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danshane View Post

Yes. They replaced an out-of-warranty HD receiver that had one tuner go bad for no charge. I even offered to let them simply ship me the box for self-installation, but they insisted on sending a tech to do the swap.

I had a HD DVD from Directv and it was not operating correctly. In 3 days an installer came around and replaced the defective unit with a new HR20-700..zero charge. Afterall, it is leased from Directv and they should replace it (if they want my continuing business).
richard korsgren is offline  
post #93 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 02:34 PM
Member
 
riga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SW VA
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Googer View Post

It's speculative at this point, at least until D10 actually goes live, but from what I've seen, the thinking is that the current HD offerings will in fact be mirrored in MPEG-4 on D10. Sure it's a bit wasteful of bandwidth for now but it helps out people in situations such as yours and makes turning off the MPEG-2 HD's for Sunday Ticket a lot less painful - if someone calls up D* to complain about it once they're mirrored, D* just says "no problem, upgrade to an H20/HR20 and 5-LNB dish and you're covered, plus you get all the new HD".

I am hoping that at least ESPN/2 will be put up on D10 (in MPEG4). Football PQ doesn't seem to have the pop it had last year, and we've all heard the ravings of the LiL spotbeamers.
riga is offline  
post #94 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
yampan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chapel Hill,NC
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

Second, you can also get a better view of a running back taking a handoff and making his initial cuts from behind - that doesn't mean that is the prefered view for television viewing of football.

Which is why they broadcast football from the sides but not tennis. There's a reason the end seats cost much much more than the side ones.
yampan is offline  
post #95 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 02:59 PM
Member
 
MrSmartyAss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I subscribe to the SD Sports package, so I wonder what about the RSN-HD's, will they be only available on the spot beams or will I be able to receive more then just "my one home RSN"?
MrSmartyAss is offline  
post #96 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 03:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fredfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Antonio TX 78251
Posts: 49,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
According to DirecTV officials, you should be able to get HD games of whatever sports package(s) you subscribe to.
fredfa is offline  
post #97 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkie View Post

I am less than 30 miles from you as the crow flies, and have considerably higher signals than you. with all but the first two transponders, which are 0's,
I range from 95-99......

you might want to check your dish alignment

What was wrong with his numbers? Is 95 going to look better than 85? And I wouldn't mess with it until the channels go live...things are constantly changing up there...
pdawg17 is offline  
post #98 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tonybradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 3,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post

What was wrong with his numbers? Is 95 going to look better than 85? And I wouldn't mess with it until the channels go live...things are constantly changing up there...

That was my thought too. Reminded me of when my installer installed my new 5LNB dish. He had to put it on the peak of the roof instead of the bottom of the eave like the 3LNB dish. The installer told me I'd get a stronger signal and the picture would be a lot better. LOL!!!! Something that basic and the D* installer was clueless. He then saw my small $25 Phillips powered antenna in my window sill. I had it on Fox HD and it was around 7, and locally, that's Friends reruns in SD. He said "If you get a bigger antenna, one that says HD, Friends will be in HD". LOL!!!!

Moral of the story.....even folks that have HD sets and HD programming are at a loss on many things such as signal strength etc. I'll be happy if I get 95 on the new transponders..heheheh.

Tony
tonybradley is offline  
post #99 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 04:00 PM
 
Electrico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good evening guys:
1807 ETD 103b latest readings
01-08> 00 00 00 98 88 95 94 95
09-16> 95 95 94 96 95 96 na na
17-24> 80 na na na na 100 n na
Check Tr. 22 it has a 100% reading. This is the 1st time I have noticed that! Is this reading significant? Also I called D* and a CSR told me that 37 HD CH's will be activated/added next Wed. 19 Sep 07!
Later~!
Electrico is offline  
post #100 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post

What was wrong with his numbers? Is 95 going to look better than 85? And I wouldn't mess with it until the channels go live...things are constantly changing up there...

I concur. It is better to wait until we get programming. My numbers have been changing all day. Do no adjusting for several days.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #101 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, as this Sunday began I had an average of 96 for the transponders on 103-b. As the day closes, I am down to about 94 as an average. We shall see what Monday brings in the way of adjustments. Did others gain or lose as far as signal strength this Sunday?
richard korsgren is offline  
post #102 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 04:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I gained on some - lost on some. I'm not touchin' a thing until the dust settles and we see programming. And I may not change anything then, unless I start getting rain fade.
arxaw is offline  
post #103 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post

What was wrong with his numbers? Is 95 going to look better than 85? And I wouldn't mess with it until the channels go live...things are constantly changing up there...

They don't have Arkansas thunderstorms out there in Cali........Rain fade can be an issue here..........just trying to help a brother out......the difference between 95 and 85 here could be the difference in having a picture in a downpour or not.......
Arkie is offline  
post #104 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kingcarcas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Los Angeles
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 33
WOOT!! I just jumped back on the boat today They wouldn't give us the DVR for anything less than $300, but we ordered the Sunday ticket and they gave us 4 months free of the Premier package. I guess we should be happy because they waived our cancellation fee (I switched to TWC a few weeks ago) History HD is the deal maker for me, it would probably take cable another million years to get all the upcoming HD channels on D*. I'm going to complain if the football games suffer from the same pixelation like last time.

Kingcarcas is offline  
post #105 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
mav3121ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just checked my signal strength for 103b and it varies from 22 to 50. Will I need to adjust the angle of my 5lnb?
mav3121ck is offline  
post #106 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 06:56 PM
 
Electrico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mav3121ck View Post

I just checked my signal strength for 103b and it varies from 22 to 50. Will I need to adjust the angle of my 5lnb?

I think you have to. I get 97 on 101, 94-95 for 110 and 98-100 for 119. I am averaging 95 for all the 103b transponders. With ALL due respect if I were you I call the D* tech.
Good luck!
Electrico is offline  
post #107 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 07:02 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by mav3121ck View Post

I just checked my signal strength for 103b and it varies from 22 to 50. Will I need to adjust the angle of my 5lnb?

Yes, 22 to 50 sounds low but...There are a number of things that affect signal strength for Ka-Band satellite signals. Ka-Band (20GHz) is different than Ku-Band (11GHz - what D* and E* use for their original satelliites). Rain fade is a significant Ka-Band issue but the satellite power can be adjusted to compensate for the fade in areas. A good reference paper (at least the summary) is at:

http://gltrs.grc.nasa.gov/cgi-bin/GL...TM-107534.html
http://www.kusat.com/P/ka/rain_fade.jpg
http://www.kusat.com/go.php?path=/ka/qa.php - not for Ka-Band TV but some interesting information

Another thing that can change your reception is how many times you're dividing the signal to the receivers, how long the cable lengths are and, of course, the alignment of the dish. The shape of the dish could also have a big impact, particularly with tracking 5 LNBs from one dish.

And, of course, this satellite is still undergoing testing and they could be changing TP strengths as part of the test. Large jumps in TP strength during tests can occur.

So, just because someone says that they are getting 98 and someone else has 95 doesn't mean a thing. However, as previously mentioned 22 is *probably* something to check.
alk3997 is offline  
post #108 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Poolrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting 81-91 here in Greenville, SC. I typically get 96-100 on the other sats..
Poolrad is offline  
post #109 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 08:25 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I wouldn't worry just yet. I was getting 87-90 pretty consistently and now I'm getting:

0 0 0 96 89 95 87 0 93 95 91 94 95 96 94 98
CPanther95 is offline  
post #110 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 09:13 PM
Member
 
danimalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingcarcas View Post

I'm going to complain if the football games suffer from the same pixelation like last time.

I don't know what football games you're talking about, but only some RSN, and BTN games are going to be going to be going over mpeg4.
danimalx is offline  
post #111 of 1793 Old 09-16-2007, 10:05 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

I wouldn't worry just yet. I was getting 87-90 pretty consistently and now I'm getting:

0 0 0 96 89 95 87 0 93 95 91 94 95 96 94 98

It looks like they are testing/tuning the individual transponders. I'm getting very consistent readings now across the active transponders which wasn't true earlier today.
alk3997 is offline  
post #112 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danimalx View Post

I don't know what football games you're talking about, but only some RSN, and BTN games are going to be going to be going over mpeg4.

Translation: Welcome back to the pixi party my friend! Glad to have you!

Actually, depending on how many subchannels your local channels are running, your going to get pixelation reagardless of MPEG-2 or MPEG-4 transmission. Its not neccessarily the fault of D* when you are seeing those pixelation problems, although their MPEG-2 bit starving definitley doesent help matters any.
guffy1 is offline  
post #113 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 05:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mav3121ck View Post

I just checked my signal strength for 103b and it varies from 22 to 50. Will I need to adjust the angle of my 5lnb?

It probably will need to be adjusted. But people are getting widely different readings right now, depending on the individual transponders and where they live. The satellite is still being tested and tweaked, so I would wait until the new channels actually go live.
arxaw is offline  
post #114 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 07:01 AM
Member
 
clint501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had 2 DirecTV installers come out to change my dish to the 5LNB type. Both have said I have too many trees in the way that I won't be able to get the "new" satellites. (Thus no new dish yet!!)) If I can get sat 101 and sat 110 all year shouldn't I be able to pick up sat 103 OK?? I do have a problems picking up sat 119 because of trees in the way but in the winter when the leaves are off I get good signal strength. They are also reluctant to place the dish on the chimney chase. I have mounted the last 2 myself but I think the new dish maybe a bit more critical in "aiming". Am I correct in assuming the "newer" satellites are higher on the horizon than 119??
clint501 is offline  
post #115 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 07:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 103 sats are between the 101 & 110. So if you can get the 101 & 110, you should be able to get the 103. Other new HD sats are/will be at 99°. How is your clearance to the left of where the dish is currently pointed?

They are all circling the equator at the same "height" - some 22,000+ miles out.
arxaw is offline  
post #116 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
noleintheburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jamestown, Virginia
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called for a dish realignment, because 103 B was only gettting around 35.....well the CSR asked me to check 101 and the others, all of which were in the low 90's....then she twice put me on hold, the second time she told me she was getting a confirmation...seems 103B is not going to be used for the new HD (according to what she was told by two different people), they are going to park some of the lighter traffic ahnnels on there, she did say if I had a problem on Wednesday seeing the new HD channels to call back, but right now they said I will be fine....so this should be interesting. I told her to make sure she put me on hold, and was adamant about it...
noleintheburg is offline  
post #117 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
ayrton911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by noleintheburg View Post

I called for a dish realignment, because 103 B was only gettting around 35.....well the CSR asked me to check 101 and the others, all of which were in the low 90's....then she twice put me on hold, the second time she told me she was getting a confirmation...seems 103B is not going to be used for the new HD (according to what she was told by two different people), they are going to park some of the lighter traffic ahnnels on there, she did say if I had a problem on Wednesday seeing the new HD channels to call back, but right now they said I will be fine....so this should be interesting. I told her to make sure she put me on hold, and was adamant about it...

That is just an insane comment by the CSR. It really is wild. ha-ha.

The new MPEG 4 national HD channels will be on 103 b. No question.
ayrton911 is offline  
post #118 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
noleintheburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jamestown, Virginia
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know....I thought I would share....
noleintheburg is offline  
post #119 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
susanandmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I set-up a new receiver (H-20) today and am not getting anything at 99 degrees (it listed n/a in the signal strength meter). We have a 5-LNB dish and didn't have this issue when setting up any of our other (3) HR-20 receivers. Could it be tweaking or is there a problem?

Also, when I logged on to my directv.com account to activate the receiver, the "My Programming" area showed "Starz HD" and "Cinemax HD" as well as "HD Access" ... A few minutes later that was gone and the regular, current information was back. By the by, we are premier customers who also get locals and the current HD package.
susanandmark is offline  
post #120 of 1793 Old 09-17-2007, 10:20 AM
Member
 
clint501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was under the impression that sat 119 was lower in the horizon than 99 101 103 and 110.
Are they all the same "height" as I look to the southwest? I live just northeast of Atlanta GA.
clint501 is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off