DirecTV 2007 New HD Channels - First Wave anticipation thread. - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RAVEN56706's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jersey City, NJ, USA
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcpapant View Post

Yup -- mentioned that a few posts ago.

that you did and for that you are da man

2011 SUPERBOWL CHAMPIONS- New York Giants!!!

Gamertag: GENERAL CUPKAKE
RAVEN56706 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justjoe View Post

Even with the sd channel removed from the line-up, pressing 622 still brings up the sd channel on the h-20. That being said, I leave the sd channel in the line-up because it has the interactive feature. Any reason why interactive cant be used on an hd channel?

interactive works just fine on the nfl sunday ticket hd channels

edit: though now that i think about it, i'm not sure if you can access your fantasy teams from any channel other than 701 (sd)

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #183 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by chibul View Post

Just had a recorded call about making sure I had the right equipment. Nice.

They have been doing those for months. Your last name must start with Z.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #184 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
chibul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Muncie, IN
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
G, actually.

I'm a little nervous about my transponders/having two 103 satellites...hopefully someone can help me out there. (previous post)
chibul is offline  
post #185 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 10:34 AM
Member
 
Cavemanhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've heard that Direct TV HD is refferred to as "HD-Lite" because of the compression and hence poor PQ. Is this still the case now, or is this issue resolved?
Cavemanhead is offline  
post #186 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Snuffy101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chibul View Post

G, actually.

I'm a little nervous about my transponders/having two 103 satellites...hopefully someone can help me out there. (previous post)

103(a) is believed to be spot-beams for local channels to various markets, mine are all zeros. 103(b) is for the new HD channels (16 transponders) which should give pretty good signal levels by now. Maybe tomorrow they will be on-air.

Snuffy
Snuffy101 is offline  
post #187 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chibul View Post

Question...I'm not as knowledgable on this stuff. I went to test my satellite signal for 103, and I have two 103s - 103(a) and 103(b). 103(a) is bad - the majority are N/A, with a few 0s and a couple of 65s. 103(b) is better, with Transponders 1-16 ranging from 82-96.

Your 103-a is not 'bad'. Your 103-b is probably high enough in signal strength to give you good programming. All signals in the 90's (103-b) is excellent but, I believe, you will be just fine on the new HD channels. We all will know soon.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #188 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 10:54 AM
Newbie
 
hengnv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavemanhead View Post

I've heard that Direct TV HD is refferred to as "HD-Lite" because of the compression and hence poor PQ. Is this still the case now, or is this issue resolved?

If you are referring to MPEG-4 as the compression, you don't have to worry about quality. I'm receiving my local channels in MPEG-4 for a while now and they look as good as the channels that are using MPEG-2.
hengnv is offline  
post #189 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavemanhead View Post

I've heard that Direct TV HD is refferred to as "HD-Lite" because of the compression and hence poor PQ. Is this still the case now, or is this issue resolved?

Always judge for yourself. Comments made here are mostly opinions and should be viewed as such. I find the HD channels (stations) are far from 'poor'.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #190 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trgraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So, midnight tonight and we should see the results of the new sat?
trgraphics is offline  
post #191 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 11:06 AM
Member
 
antzona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the rep I just spoke to, the channels will be up at 6am eastern.
antzona is offline  
post #192 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by hengnv View Post

If you are referring to MPEG-4 as the compression, you don't have to worry about quality. I'm receiving my local channels in MPEG-4 for a while now and they look as good as the channels that are using MPEG-2.

We need some clarification here.

Are you saying your mpeg-4 local channels from D* look as good as the mpeg-2 channels from D*?

Or your D* HD locals look as good as your local OTA stations that are in mpeg-2?

I hope you mean the 2nd one.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #193 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RAVEN56706's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jersey City, NJ, USA
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by antzona View Post

According to the rep I just spoke to, the channels will be up at 6am eastern.

just got the same answer.... channels will be up at 6am eastern...

2011 SUPERBOWL CHAMPIONS- New York Giants!!!

Gamertag: GENERAL CUPKAKE
RAVEN56706 is offline  
post #194 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 11:23 AM
Member
 
dschuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Williamsburg, VA, USA
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are in Cherry Hill NJ you are most likely out of the YES/NY market. You would have to "move" to get YES via a spot.[/quote]
OK - so the magic question. I am moving to Virginia from NH and have been "living" on Long Island for quite a few years. I get the spot beam MPEG4 NYC locals. When I physically move to VA, but am still "living" on Long Island in the eyes of some unnamed satellite company because no one has told them anything to the contrary, will I still get the NYC MPEG4 locals? Is the spot beam a physical limitation or is it based upon where you "live"?
dschuman is offline  
post #195 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
jmj713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When can we see the guide updated with the new channels and upcoming programming? I'm gonna be asleep at 6 AM but would love to DVR something to check out before work.
jmj713 is offline  
post #196 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmj713 View Post

When can we see the guide updated with the new channels and upcoming programming?

6:00 A.M. EDT.

Sorry...

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #197 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:02 PM
Member
 
Utahred1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SLC,Utah
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way for me to find out if my local HD channels are mpeg2 or mpeg4?
Utahred1981 is offline  
post #198 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
John4924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kenner, LA
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Utahred1981 View Post

Is there any way for me to find out if my local HD channels are mpeg2 or mpeg4?

If you get them from D* in HD, then they are mpeg4
John4924 is offline  
post #199 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:10 PM
 
Electrico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyGBiv View Post

Interesting that people are reporting their highest values for the transponder signals today. For me it is actually lower. I went to check after seeing that the first 3 transponders now had signals. My recollection is that when I checked on Sunday I was getting all readings in the 90's. Now most of my readings are in the low to mid 80's.

I hope they are not finished "tweaking" the signal, as doing so has made my reception worse.

SMK

The cat still has four legs. Secondly you are sweating spongy bullets Go back and try to recall the weather last Sunday VS this AM.
Furthermore before ALL 16 TPS were active the satellite SS was zero. Now ALL 16 TPS are up plus 103b has a satellite SS reading. Last night I got a 95% ave. SS. TPS 17 and 22 had 100% SS. Add that sat. 103b SS was 97%
on TP1. I am still getting very close to those SS's including a 97% SS on TPS1 for 103b. Chill out SMK!
Electrico is offline  
post #200 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:13 PM
Member
 
scdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been following this thread since the beginning and only now will I ask a stupid question.

I live in southern California and I am getting 0 signal strength on 103 (b). I can see the transponders are turned on, but every time I check the signal strength is ZERO! Other sats are between 80 and 95. Any suggestions, or should I wait till tomorrow morning?

Jeff
scdiver is offline  
post #201 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
..wishing Directv would provide us with Hallmark Movies. This channel will go HD in 3-4 months. Also hoping Hallmark Channel will go HD. We watch many excellent, original shows on this channel. And their commercials are outstanding.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #202 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scdiver View Post

I have been following this thread since the beginning and only now will I ask a stupid question.

I live in southern California and I am getting 0 signal strength on 103 (b). I can see the transponders are turned on, but every time I check the signal strength is ZERO! Other sats are between 80 and 95. Any suggestions, or should I wait till tomorrow morning?

Jeff

If you are receiving programming from other sats (and your signals are where you say), you should be getting good numbers on 103 (B). Check your system from beginning to end. You should be getting numbers on 103 (b) all day today, Tuesday.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #203 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard korsgren View Post

..wishing Directv would provide us with Hallmark Movies. This channel will go HD in 3-4 months. Also hoping Hallmark Channel will go HD. We watch many excellent, original shows on this channel. And their commercials are outstanding.

my general policy of any hd = good hd would be tested with these additions...

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #204 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:21 PM
Member
 
scdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Richard,

That is what I thought. I will reconnect all cables and triple chaeck everything. I find it very concerning that I have not seen anything on 103 (b).
scdiver is offline  
post #205 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
John4924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kenner, LA
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scdiver View Post

I have been following this thread since the beginning and only now will I ask a stupid question.

I live in southern California and I am getting 0 signal strength on 103 (b). I can see the transponders are turned on, but every time I check the signal strength is ZERO! Other sats are between 80 and 95. Any suggestions, or should I wait till tomorrow morning?

Jeff

First, do you have the BBCs installed?

Second, if you have a multiswitch, it needs to be the Zinwell WB68

http://www.solidsignal.com/prod_display.asp?prod=WB68

I would start with these two first.

Cheers,
John
John4924 is offline  
post #206 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TulsaCoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tulsa,Ok
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by John4924 View Post

If you get them from D* in HD, then they are mpeg4

Unless your in LA or NYC which has both for DSN
TulsaCoker is offline  
post #207 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:25 PM
Member
 
Utahred1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SLC,Utah
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John4924 View Post

If you get them from D* in HD, then they are mpeg4

I am not impressed with mpeg4 so far then...my off air locals still look better
Utahred1981 is offline  
post #208 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:28 PM
Member
 
scdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John4924 View Post

First, do you have the BBCs installed?

Second, if you have a multiswitch, it needs to be the Zinwell WB68

http://www.solidsignal.com/prod_display.asp?prod=WB68

I would start with these two first.

Cheers,
John

John,

I do have BBC's installed and I do have the WB68 installed. I have checked 499 to make sure that the BBC's are working.
scdiver is offline  
post #209 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:29 PM
Member
 
antiqueradioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The WB616 Zinwell is also okay to use
antiqueradioman is offline  
post #210 of 1793 Old 09-18-2007, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
John4924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kenner, LA
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Utahred1981 View Post

I am not impressed with mpeg4 so far then...my off air locals still look better

I can say from my personal view here in New Orleans that the D* mpeg4 feeds look every bit as good as my OTA feeds. And as a side benefit, the mpeg4 feeds take up less room on my DVR

However, I will always keep my OTA feeds hooked up, because we do get some heavy downpours here in the Big Easy, and rain fade from the sat is real!
John4924 is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off