DirecTV HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actuary555 View Post

Do you have to subscribe to the hd package to get these new HD channels?

Related, but opposite question:

What about those (very few) of us who have the HD package, but not any basic tier? Will we get the channels? I can't test it, because I don't have an Mpeg4 receiver yet.
aviators99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:36 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JadeTree View Post

D* doesn't carry CW in HD on the satellite, doesn't mean that you can not get it from OTA. Get a good HD antenna, connect it to you D* HD receiver, and you could get the program if it is available through OTA in your market.
Check http://www.antennaweb.org website for you local HD broadcast and check which antenna is suit for your location.
I live 30 miles from Seattle, and I get CW in HD through OTA.

Whether Directv carries the CW depends on the market you live in. All you have to do is go to their site and enter your zip code to find out what HD locals are available in your area thru Directv. Directv said a couple of months ago that with the launch of D10 and D11 that they'll add the remaining nets (like CW) in markets that currently don't have the CW but they have the other 4.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #363 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:39 PM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actuary555 View Post

So there is no way of getting the new satellite channels and ota together in one line? I must now have a separate line for OTA?

Not currently. There is a new switch called the SWM that will allow for diplexing and only one cable needed for the DBS side. It's being tested now and hoped for release in the next month or so.
rad is offline  
post #364 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:41 PM
Member
 
skywalkr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you notice that in the release from Direct TV that they say they have 21 new channels today, but they count Versus and Golf as two separate channels?
skywalkr2 is offline  
post #365 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Versus/Golf is counted as a single channel.
CPanther95 is online now  
post #366 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:43 PM
Member
 
rp2955's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Issue with not getting the remaining HD channels has been solved. I noticed some of my transponders showing low numbers, some even showing 0's on the 103(b. I had previously had an OTA diplexed into my line. I thought I had gotten rid of the only diplexer behind my H20 unit a couple of nights ago. Just went out to my dish and noticed another diplexer. I removed that diplexer and put in a quick and dirty splitter to join the two lines. Now I am getting 90+ on all transponders and all HD channels. I am sure the splitter isn't the "best" route...but best I could do given cable is split at diplexer and dish is aways down my fence.
rp2955 is offline  
post #367 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
SJKurtzke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else getting TBSHD as 720p?
I have Native mode on and all the other channels seem to be changing formats fine (1080i for CNNHD, 480i for PBS-SD, 720p for ESPNHD, etc)
SJKurtzke is offline  
post #368 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:47 PM
Member
 
skywalkr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just looked at their announcement and they only had 21 logos shown and two of those were golf/versus. However they only had one logo for Starz HD... so maybe that's the difference.
skywalkr2 is offline  
post #369 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
[quote=killerdoberman;11734102]
Quote:
Originally Posted by isyp View Post


And I believe Congress has backed out the origial date from 2009 to 2011 to go full HD as the standard. That is...Congress' idea of HD.

WRONG. There is NO mandate of ANY KIND that ANYTHING has to be HD.

The law states that by Feb 17, 2009 all analog OTA MUST cease and be digital with the SAME SD resolution as analog. HD is optional. Cable has to support legacy analog sets until 2012. Again HD is optional. That is the law. End of story.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #370 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Yep - 21 logos - Separate Golf and Versus logos, but a single Starz logo instead of separate E & W.
CPanther95 is online now  
post #371 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by galoot View Post

i guess what i'm reall getting at is the channels appear 9/10's widescreen with small black bars on ech side. what's up with that?

I noticed the same thing when I got my HR20 a couple months ago. I forgot what I did to fix it... I'm not at home now to check... I think maybe the D* receiver is not properly set to 16:9 display ratio ?

FWIW, here was my question on DBSTalk:
http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=89503
paule123 is offline  
post #372 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviators99 View Post

Related, but opposite question:

What about those (very few) of us who have the HD package, but not any basic tier? Will we get the channels? I can't test it, because I don't have an Mpeg4 receiver yet.

You will only get the newer MPEG4 HD channels with the newer MPEG4 H20 receiver, 5 lnb dish and subscription to HD channels. You will then get the newest HD channels if they are in your tier of SD programming.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #373 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=foxeng;11737643]
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerdoberman View Post


WRONG. There is NO mandate of ANY KIND that ANYTHING has to be HD.

The law states that by Feb 17, 2009 all analog OTA MUST cease and be digital with the SAME SD resolution as analog. HD is optional. Cable has to support legacy analog sets until 2012. Again HD is optional. That is the law. End of story.

It will be several years before 50 percent of the population is viewing HD content.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #374 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
..watching travel shows on PBSHD..getting ready to watch 'WAR' by Ken Burns at 8 tonite. PBSHD shows may only be in MPEG2 but, in my opinion, I see none of these MPEG4 channels beating PBS for quality on the screen. At best, a few may look as good. Smithsonian, by far, great content and great HD. I hope NatGeoHD can do as good as Smithsonian.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #375 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:06 PM
AAF
AVS Special Member
 
AAF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What does the Weather Channel produce in HD? Is it only the big map graphic shots?

When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.
AAF is offline  
post #376 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
twelvepbrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Westminster, CA
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actuary555 View Post

So there is no way of getting the new satellite channels and ota together in one line? I must now have a separate line for OTA?

Have you tried putting the BBC before the first diplexer? it worked for my cable service, not sure about OTA though, but I'd imagine that cable uses even higher frequencies than OTA so maybe just give it a try if it's not too hard.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JadeTree View Post

D* doesn't carry CW in HD on the satellite, doesn't mean that you can not get it from OTA. Get a good HD antenna, connect it to you D* HD receiver, and you could get the program if it is available through OTA in your market.
Check http://www.antennaweb.org website for you local HD broadcast and check which antenna is suit for your location.
I live 30 miles from Seattle, and I get CW in HD through OTA.

We get CW-HD via D* in Los Angeles
twelvepbrs is offline  
post #377 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvepbrs View Post

Have you tried putting the BBC before the first diplexer? it worked for my cable service, not sure about OTA though, but I'd imagine that cable uses even higher frequencies than OTA so maybe just give it a try if it's not too hard.

The issue is with the new 5 LNB dish is it uses many of the OTA frequencies to get the Ka band to the receiver. You can't have two signals trying to use the same frequency at the same time. It is highly doubtful you will ever be able to diplex OTA and the sat signals as long as this method is used.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #378 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:36 PM
Member
 
toboggan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How could a company possibly piss off their customer base by launching more HD? Easy, leave out ESPN and HBO thus making sure a good portion of your customer base that cannot get the 119 or 110 don't get these channels. Instead, I have 5 Starz and a bunch of channels not showing more than a few hours of HD daily. Great plan morons.

SEVENTY channels and two of the most popular ones with HOURS and HOURS of true HD content are not included. UGH@!
toboggan is offline  
post #379 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Snuffy101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by galoot View Post

i guess what i'm reall getting at is the channels appear 9/10's widescreen with small black bars on ech side. what's up with that?

It appears the some channels are zooming the SD 4:3 frame while cropping the top and bottom. For some reason thew are not filling the 16:9 frame horizontally, leaving about 5% on the left and right. Discovery HD is one that does this, hence the small pillar-box black lines in the sides.
None of this is as bad as the History Channel that just stretches everything and gets an F in my book. Smithsonian HD is by far the best of the lot, give em an A.

Snuffy
Snuffy101 is offline  
post #380 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Well I have had time to make an opinion of the initial roll-out
So Far what I see from the 21 channels are:
A&E HD (265) CSI-Miami Appears to be HD but very soft. Nowhere near what I saw on the channel 9300 Monday night.
Animal Planet HD (282) Zoomed 4x3 Material
Big Ten HD (220) Very clean HD
CNN HD (202) Very clean HD when in the right studio
Discovery HD (278) Zoomed 4x3 Material
History Channel HD (269) Zoomed 4x3 Material
TLC HD (280) Zoomed 4x3 Material
NFL Network HD (212) Showing 4x3 in OAR
Science Channel HD (284) Zoomed 4x3 Material
Smithsonian HD (267) Very clean HD
TBS HD (247) Zoomed 4x3 Material
Versus HD / Golf Channel HD (604) Showing 4x3 in OAR
Weather Channel HD (362) 4x3 except for on screen graphics
The Movie Channel HD (544) Not Subscribed...can't comment
SHO Too HD (538) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Showtime HD West (540) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz Comedy HD (519) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz HD East (520) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz HD West (521) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz Edge HD (522) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz Kids and Family (518) Not Subscribed...can't comment


So if u like 4x3 material zoomed then you are a happy camper tonight....otherwise....I am kinda disappointed.
obxdiver is offline  
post #381 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:39 PM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by toboggan View Post

How could a company possibly piss off their customer base by launching more HD? Easy, leave out ESPN and HBO thus making sure a good portion of your customer base that cannot get the 119 or 110 don't get these channels. Instead, I have 5 Starz and a bunch of channels not showing more than a few hours of HD daily. Great plan morons.

SEVENTY channels and two of the most popular ones with HOURS and HOURS of true HD content are not included. UGH@!

Not D*'s fault, they've always said you need 101/110/119 to get those current HD channels and 99/103 for the NEW had channels, they never said that the existing channels would be mirrored on 99/103 at this time. If ESPN and HBO are that important to you why did you go with D* in the first place since they've always been there?
rad is offline  
post #382 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by JadeTree View Post

D* doesn't carry CW in HD on the satellite, doesn't mean that you can not get it from OTA. Get a good HD antenna, connect it to you D* HD receiver, and you could get the program if it is available through OTA in your market.
Check http://www.antennaweb.org website for you local HD broadcast and check which antenna is suit for your location.
I live 30 miles from Seattle, and I get CW in HD through OTA.

Wait, aren't they going to add the CW and PBS locals as well as local independent stations?
wco81 is online now  
post #383 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
generalpatton78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carterville IL
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post

Wait, aren't they going to add the CW and PBS locals as well as local independent stations?

Pbs wants all their sub channels carried and D* doesn't want to.

Fredfa-"I agree with generalpatton78 "
generalpatton78 is offline  
post #384 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:50 PM
Member
 
ichen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interestingly after the upgrade.. I could not get the HD channels (even tho i could see 480, 481)
but i COULD get 267 (smithsonian HD)... [weird, huh?]
(but not AEHD, TLCHD, TWCHD, etc)

After futzing around for an hour, we figured that the old grandfathered packages (total choice plus, etc) is the problem..

So, if you have those, you have to 'upgrade' to the new choice, choice xtra, plus dvr, plus hd dvt packages..

Now, it all works.
I figure I could get 267 because it really was a 'new channel'.. but tech support nor programming could get the new HD channels to work with the old 'base packages'..

Just to save some headaches, in case people are having that problem..

Perhaps a fact to that can be added to the first page 'sticky'
ichen is offline  
post #385 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vurbano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 7,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by obxdiver View Post

Well I have had time to make an opinion of the initial roll-out
So Far what I see from the 21 channels are:
A&E HD (265) CSI-Miami Appears to be HD but very soft. Nowhere near what I saw on the channel 9300 Monday night.
Animal Planet HD (282) Zoomed 4x3 Material
Big Ten HD (220) Very clean HD
CNN HD (202) Very clean HD when in the right studio
Discovery HD (278) Zoomed 4x3 Material
History Channel HD (269) Zoomed 4x3 Material
TLC HD (280) Zoomed 4x3 Material
NFL Network HD (212) Showing 4x3 in OAR
Science Channel HD (284) Zoomed 4x3 Material
Smithsonian HD (267) Very clean HD
TBS HD (247) Zoomed 4x3 Material
Versus HD / Golf Channel HD (604) Showing 4x3 in OAR
Weather Channel HD (362) 4x3 except for on screen graphics
The Movie Channel HD (544) Not Subscribed...can't comment
SHO Too HD (538) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Showtime HD West (540) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz Comedy HD (519) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz HD East (520) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz HD West (521) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz Edge HD (522) Not Subscribed...can't comment
Starz Kids and Family (518) Not Subscribed...can't comment


So if u like 4x3 material zoomed then you are a happy camper tonight....otherwise....I am kinda disappointed.


Pretty much what I suspected. Just because they slapped an HD logo on the channel does not mean HD. The good news is now maybe we can get our locals in HD??? If LIN stops being Aholes.
vurbano is offline  
post #386 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vurbano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 7,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichen View Post

Interestingly after the upgrade.. I could not get the HD channels (even tho i could see 480, 481)
but i COULD get 267 (smithsonian HD)... [weird, huh?]
(but not AEHD, TLCHD, TWCHD, etc)

After futzing around for an hour, we figured that the old grandfathered packages (total choice plus, etc) is the problem..

So, if you have those, you have to 'upgrade' to the new choice, choice xtra, plus dvr, plus hd dvt packages..

Now, it all works.
I figure I could get 267 because it really was a 'new channel'.. but tech support nor programming could get the new HD channels to work with the old 'base packages'..

Just to save some headaches, in case people are having that problem..

Perhaps a fact to that can be added to the first page 'sticky'

Wasnt a problem for me. I have total choice plus and get all the channels.
vurbano is offline  
post #387 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 05:01 PM
Member
 
jimqk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The best part about all this is that it's is only the beginning. Yeah, while you'd be better off watching some programs on their SD counterparts, it's gonna be nice to watch playoff baseball on TBS in HD.
jimqk is offline  
post #388 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 05:05 PM
Member
 
toboggan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rad View Post

Not D*'s fault, they've always said you need 101/110/119 to get those current HD channels and 99/103 for the NEW had channels, they never said that the existing channels would be mirrored on 99/103 at this time. If ESPN and HBO are that important to you why did you go with D* in the first place since they've always been there?

Not DirecTV's fault? How so. Does the technology dictate that these two extremely popular channels be carried on sats that a large portion of their customer base? No. Do HBO and ESPN require MPEG2? No. It is entirely DirecTVs decision and for the record, I've had two CSRs tell me that these would be transitioned when the new sats go online. If that ends up NOT being their plan, I will change providers.
toboggan is offline  
post #389 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Most of the Zoomed 4x3 channels I listed above are even stretching and zooming the freeking commercials.
This is true indication of a full time zoom they have active because 99% of all commercials are still 4x3.
And their stretch seems to be fully linear making people really look short and fat.
obxdiver is offline  
post #390 of 14848 Old 09-26-2007, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington County NJ
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jambroni View Post

Of course he doesn't.

Ignorant comments like that are the reason I quit hanging around here a looooong time ago.

And yet...

...here you are!

ISF calibrated by Eliab - and lovin' it!

My DVD Profiler
maxman is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off