DirecTV HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:13 AM
Member
 
FriscoJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on regional sport nets? Hockey season is right around the corner...
FriscoJoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:13 AM
Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard korsgren View Post

Let say you have a favorite list of HD channels. Now, if you press 202 I am quite sure you will get CNNHD, channel 202.

I as well have my favorite list with the CNNHD as the only 202 on my list and when I enter it goes to the standard def version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FriscoJoe View Post

Any word on regional sport nets? Hockey season is right around the corner...

Next month
hockeythug is offline  
post #33 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimsonblake View Post

So has anyone figured out what resolution of the new channels?

Numbers mean very little. The main thing that matters is how the images on your display look to you. Many things go to make up a top quality image. Directv is one part of that puzzle. Directv is certainly doing its' part. Some programmers are not doing their best.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #34 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:14 AM
Member
 
captdusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know when the new channels will be available to commercial accounts? After going 'round and 'round with a CSR, trying to get these things activated at work, I was told that commercial accounts wouldn't see anything until sometime in October.

Can that possibly be right? D* doesn't want their brand new HD shown off and advertised for free in sports bars and restaurants all over the USA?! Or did I just get the wrong CSR?
captdusty is offline  
post #35 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
john barlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lansing Michigan
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Richard a shout out to you. I have been online with a tech from D* and we can't get Starz HD. What did your tech do to get your Starz HD running?
john barlow is offline  
post #36 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post

I as well have my favorite list with the CNNHD as the only 202 on my list and when I enter it goes to the standard def version.




Next month

..delete all channels and begin anew..just saving the channels you want to view..in 'favorite one' list.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #37 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:17 AM
Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Many have posted on a couple of forums that the H20 is not going to the HD first, as the HR20 is. I have the H20. But I will try your steps and see if that works.
hockeythug is offline  
post #38 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Revolutionary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any of you guys willing to take some screen shots and post them? I'm curious about how Discovery, TLC, CNN , Weather in HD.

Thanks!
Revolutionary is offline  
post #39 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by john barlow View Post

Hey Richard a shout out to you. I have been online with a tech from D* and we can't get Starz HD. What did your tech do to get your Starz HD running?

All I can say..I called Directv and told the lady of my problem. She pushed a botton or 2 (I presume) and now I receive the Starz HD channels. I guess the person at Directv just has to 'do the right thing'. Call again...
richard korsgren is offline  
post #40 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:18 AM
Member
 
SRIBB43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by THESNAP View Post

When I want to add the new HD's to my existing favorites how do I know which channel, eg. both 202's, is the HD??.....Sorry if I sound dumb here.

well when you cycle through the channels determine if the HD comes up 1st or 2nd. If it 2nd then choose the 2nd ch.202 on your favorites list and unhighlight the first
SRIBB43 is offline  
post #41 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolutionary View Post

Any of you guys willing to take some screen shots and post them? I'm curious about how Discovery, TLC, CNN , Weather in HD.

Thanks!

no time for screen shots (which prove little). I can tell you, most channels are looking excellent and a few are not because they have not learned how to do HD correctly. Live studio shots from CNN studio look EXCELLENT.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #42 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
kulims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard korsgren View Post

Channel 267..Smithsonian..right now..nine EDT is showing a very good looking HD program. It is the way HD should look. Those new HD channels that distort the programming are not any channels I care to watch anyway.

I briefly watched 267 today before leaving for work, it looks very good to me too.
kulims is offline  
post #43 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
john barlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lansing Michigan
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MACKD413 View Post

Not getting the Starz channels, anyone else having this problem? I have the premier package>

There is a guy that had the same problem but got it solved. He is not sharing what he did to get it solved. I have been on the phone with D* for over an hour and they can't get me Starz HD programming. Very frustrating.
john barlow is offline  
post #44 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Yes, screenshots, please. Especially CNN.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #45 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:23 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmck407 View Post

This was posted in a closed thread:

"PQ definitely got better... HBO and Showtime look much better then before...."



have these been moved to mpeg4 also? And if so does it matter which channel you view to get the mpeg4 version?

Example: HBO East is MPEG2 on 70 and 509; MPEG4 on 501. Picture on 501 is definitely better. Bottom line: MPEG4 channel is the "ghost" of the prior SD channel. Old MPEG2 channels for now stay MPEG2 for all the legacy viewers/STBs.
rlb is offline  
post #46 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:24 AM
Member
 
billd1530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
check over at dbstalk.com about problems with starz hd channels. i read something whereby you may delete the hd programming and then add it back on directv.com yourself or have a csr do it for you. good luck.
billd1530 is offline  
post #47 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the list of channels (favorites)..you will see for 202......202 CNNHD AND 202 CN..choose CNNHD. ..and so on for other channels you want.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #48 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
ChrisC47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta GA (ITP)
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI on CNN HD, only the New York studios currently do HD so you won't see HD shots during the Atlanta shows that run from 9am to 6pm ET. American Morning, Lou Dobbs and Anderson Cooper are in HD, as well as special investigative report programming. However SD studio shows are upconverted and have some native HD graphics (e.g. crawl).

Atlanta over-the-air digital TV reference table, now with Atlanta OTA FAQ:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post16732147
ChrisC47 is offline  
post #49 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:28 AM
Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Carr View Post

Yes, screenshots, please. Especially CNN.

Would a picture taken from a camera be ok?
hockeythug is offline  
post #50 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Yikes, I read the title and immediately went to 206HD to see the beautiful new pictures....and was disappointed. Unfortunately ESPN is still HD Lite. But then I checked out the actual list and am loving this. Keep in mind I come from Time Warner, which only has a couple HD channels and Voom awhile ago which had a bunch of HD channels that no one really asked for and of very little use to someone that watches mainstream TV. These new HD channels on Directv look great. I sold my wife on getting D* last week because HG and Foodtv were about to switch to HD, so right now she's upset that "her" channels didn't get activated yet. CNNHD looks great, but the channel I was looking forward to most (NFLHD) is pretty much all 4:3. I've whined enough in other threads about their lack of HD content, so I won't do that again. I have the DVR, and it's going to the HD version of every channel that has HD and SD versions. Very happy right now.
skyehill is offline  
post #51 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:36 AM
Member
 
acf53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the new HD channel contents are transmitted in MPEG4, will the content size be significantly smaller than that from the HD channels transmitting in MPEG2 ? I believe the compression ratio is a lot better than MPEG2. So I should be getting more than "30" hours of HD recording on the HD DVR ?
acf53 is offline  
post #52 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:36 AM
Member
 
THESNAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Sribb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRIBB43 View Post

well when you cycle through the channels determine if the HD comes up 1st or 2nd. If it 2nd then choose the 2nd ch.202 on your favorites list and unhighlight the first

THESNAP is offline  
post #53 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Revolutionary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post

Would a picture taken from a camera be ok?

Yes please!
Revolutionary is offline  
post #54 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Reveille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Garland, Texas
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picture looks great to me this am. Will do more detailed watching tonight.
Reveille is offline  
post #55 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeythug View Post

Would a picture taken from a camera be ok?

Yep.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #56 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
john barlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lansing Michigan
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MACKD413 View Post

Not getting the Starz channels, anyone else having this problem? I have the premier package>

I have this problem too. I just got off the phone with D* after an hour and one half I still don't have Starz HD. The service tech is sending a field rep to my house. This is ridiculous because I am convinced the problem is not equipment related. I get every other HD offering except for Starz HD. What a waste of time talking to these fools. They never want to listen to any customer ideas. I told the guy that other people have had this solved without sending a tech out to the house but he wouldn't listen. His ego wont allow him to believe that another tech could solve this issue. Don't these idiots ever talk to each other?
john barlow is offline  
post #57 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:44 AM
Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11






Best I can do with my camera skills. CNN is not showing anything from their NYC studio so Im not gonna take any pics from that channel.
hockeythug is offline  
post #58 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sleeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by john barlow View Post

I have this problem too. I just got off the phone with D* after an hour and one half I still don't have Starz HD. The service tech is sending a field rep to my house. This is ridiculous because I am convinced the problem is not equipment related. I get every other HD offering except for Starz HD. What a waste of time talking to these fools. They never want to listen to any customer ideas. I told the guy that other people have had this solved without sending a tech out to the house but he wouldn't listen. His ego wont allow him to believe that another tech could solve this issue. Don't these idiots ever talk to each other?

Call back. I'm sure that they are very busy today and don't have a chance to tell everyone about their successes for the day.

Call back, then call back, then call back.

-Brian
sleeks is offline  
post #59 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:45 AM
Member
 
justjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hugenot, Staten Island
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the H20, regardless how you set up your favs, entering a channel # on the remote WILL NOT bring you to the HD channel. PERIOD. Simple test. Go to CNN-hd, then press 202 on the remote. It brings you to the sd channel even if the sd channel is removed from your channel list.

JET FAN...BUD MAN!!!
justjoe is offline  
post #60 of 15194 Old 09-26-2007, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
thall85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI- Channel 77 is a list of currently active HD channels. Presumably updated as more channels added.
thall85 is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off