DirecTV HDTV - Page 497 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14881 of 14895 Old 08-09-2014, 04:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Is the Red Zone channel only active during the regular season? In other words, there is not even a place holder in the guide for it?
Keenan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14882 of 14895 Old 08-09-2014, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
What I'm saying is that 611 is not available to add to my channels

Wolfie
AIUI until it is able to be selected from the guide it won't be available to add to your channels....i.e. its not there yet.

lovinthehd is offline  
post #14883 of 14895 Old 08-09-2014, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
AIUI until it is able to be selected from the guide it won't be available to add to your channels....i.e. its not there yet.
Pretty sure that is correct, I had some freak thing happen a couple of weeks ago where TNT-HD disappeared from my guide and I went to the favorites list and it didn't show up and there was no way to even add it to my favorite's list.
rebkell is offline  
post #14884 of 14895 Old 08-10-2014, 01:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
The anal idiot that I am, in my experiments between the two, I'm beginning to think the timing is in the channel selected (please don't ask me to explain why that would be, because I don't know; I can only report what I see). Some channels can be as fast as a second before you see a picture, while others can take as long as 3 seconds, regardless of the display setting. Just my anal observations. YMMV.

As you anal idiots know, a split second can seem like an eternity.

That's not too surprising. It can depend on a lot of factors, like the compression that is being applied on that channel at that moment. The machine cannot even start to display something until it sees an I frame in the data stream. Channels that are highly compressed will likely take longer to display than those that have less compression applied.

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #14885 of 14895 Old 08-10-2014, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Is the Red Zone channel only active during the regular season? In other words, there is not even a place holder in the guide for it?
That is correct.
bradman is offline  
post #14886 of 14895 Old 08-10-2014, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
Keep in mind that depending on your displays capabilities turning off native may have a negative effect on picture quality.
Yep. Also, using the component connections speeds up channel changing the most. No HDMI handshaking.
bradman is offline  
post #14887 of 14895 Old 08-10-2014, 10:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
That is correct.
Thanks!
Keenan is offline  
post #14888 of 14895 Old 08-14-2014, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 36
The SEC network is on the air.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is online now  
post #14889 of 14895 Old 08-14-2014, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
The SEC network is on the air.

And the network is headquartered in Charlotte, NC -- WTF??
rebkell is offline  
post #14890 of 14895 Old 08-14-2014, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe The Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Is the Red Zone channel only active during the regular season? In other words, there is not even a place holder in the guide for it?
All of the 700 range is only active and in guide for the season / event.
Joe The Dragon is offline  
post #14891 of 14895 Old 08-16-2014, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I see Directv doesn't offer streaming of the SEC Network ... I hate that, I wanted to checkout a little bit of the Kentucky basketball game yesterday at work, but couldn't of course. It was depressing looking at all the providers that offered it and no Directv anywhere.
rebkell is offline  
post #14892 of 14895 Old 08-16-2014, 12:41 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,609
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 251
I thought live sec stuff is on ESPN3?

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #14893 of 14895 Old 08-16-2014, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
I thought live sec stuff is on ESPN3?
I don't think ESPN3 is available for Directv subs.
rebkell is offline  
post #14894 of 14895 Old 08-16-2014, 01:03 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,609
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Ah. Guess it depends on your ISP. I get it, so I don't think much about it. My bad.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #14895 of 14895 Old 08-16-2014, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Ah. Guess it depends on your ISP. I get it, so I don't think much about it. My bad.
I think it's more than just ISP now, I have comcast as an ISP, but I think you have to be an Xfinity sub and ESPN has to be in your tv package. I guess it cost too much for Directv to get streaming rights, I'd hate for them to cut into their exorbitant profit margins.
rebkell is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off