DirecTV HDTV - Page 527 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 459Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15781 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
we're mulled this a few times - DTV decide minimize impact of 4k spinoff and goes with small step as a 4k client, perhaps 3D experience made the learning curve
Their small step turned into a big stumble if you ask me.

Hopefully they'll wake up and take a page from Dish and their Hopper 3, which blows the HR54 out of the water.
TheRatPatrol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15782 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Practically it's exist.
Big question if you could make it ?

In short - yourself (technicians are not allowed to do that) should move old card from 44 to 54 and THEN activate the 54, I assume you're going to swap 44 to 54
it would be easy if you using external HDD with 44 (is it H44 ?)
if not, you should spend a lot of time swapping drives between 44 and 54

personally, I would make full copy of 44's drive to my own HDD and use it with 54 as external when I'd like watch old recordings - less hassles fiddling with opening boxes
but an hdd from a 44 will not work on a 54

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15783 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,650
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdram View Post
but an hdd from a 44 will not work on a 54
-> actually where you got that restriction ?

That's why I mentioned my preferred way:
- connect empty drive to HR54, let it initialize;
- copy whole file system structure with files/folders/metadata from HR44 drive to new one (using Linux and XFS utilities)
- use it with HR54, but remember the key movement - activate HR54 with a card from HR44 before send it back.
P Smith is offline  
post #15784 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 06:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
-> actually where you got that restriction ?
various conversations over the years over on sat guys

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15785 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 12:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,604
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4336 Post(s)
Liked: 4280
So after reading a couple of posts yesterday on DBS, that channels 9800 & 9801 were showing test signals, I tried tuning them just now. All I get is 'channel unavailable'.

I'm hoping there's just nothing being tested right now, otherwise there's something wrong with my setup.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15786 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 12:06 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,844
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
So after reading a couple of posts yesterday on DBS, that channels 9800 & 9801 were showing test signals, I tried tuning them just now. All I get is 'channel unavailable'.

I'm hoping there's just nothing being tested right now, otherwise there's something wrong with my setup.
Ken

not to worry: I get the same 'channel not available'
Ken Ross likes this.

please take the high road in every post
Please do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it to Mods to handle
new forum:High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)
markrubin is offline  
post #15787 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 12:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,604
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4336 Post(s)
Liked: 4280
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
Ken

not to worry: I get the same 'channel not available'
Thanks Mark, do you have the necessary equipment to receive that channel (C61 etc)?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15788 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 12:22 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,844
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Thanks Mark, do you have the necessary equipment to receive that channel (C61 etc)?
yes: this was on my C61 with an HR44 DVR

I have been watching some 4K downloaded from the C61 to a Samsung 7100: I have to say it has piqued my interest in changing my main display (Sharp Elite 70 as I think you still have) to a 4K display

please take the high road in every post
Please do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it to Mods to handle
new forum:High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)
markrubin is offline  
post #15789 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 12:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,604
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4336 Post(s)
Liked: 4280
Thanks Mark.

Yeah, there's nothing like good quality 4K. You really need to watch one of the best examples of 4K coupled with HDR, Mad Dogs, on Amazon. Truly an amazing video experience.

BTW, I have the 60" Elite in the bedroom. It's still plugging along, but I kind of wish it would die so I'd have an excuse to buy a new display for the bedroom.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15790 of 16799 Old 02-04-2016, 10:37 PM
Member
 
GCAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post

In short - yourself (technicians are not allowed to do that) should move old card from 44 to 54 and THEN activate the 54
Directv hasn't allowed cards to be moved to a different stb in around 10 years.

Just went through this again with them earlier this week.

So unless you have a way to hack Directv's computer network to change the card in their system from a HR44 to a HR54, you are pretty much SOL on that one.
GCAVS is offline  
post #15791 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 06:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,604
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4336 Post(s)
Liked: 4280
Someone had posted that there was testing being done at the time I tried tuning and received the 'channel unavailable' prompt.

Does anyone have any idea why I wouldn't be receiving these channels with the HR54 & C61 combo? I saw reference to the 'CE Update'. Can that firmware update be forced?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15792 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 117
try this link for info on the feed, you will need to register

http://iamanedgecutter.com/showthrea...IRECTV!/page12

there is also info on the CE program on the site
Ken Ross and markrubin like this.

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15793 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 06:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,604
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4336 Post(s)
Liked: 4280
OK, I did this: Using 'smart search', I entered 'IAMANEDGECUTTER' and hit enter. I really thought this would result in nothing. Wrong! I am now getting the 4K boxing test on 9800 & 9801.

I can only assume that once the actual broadcasting begins, this won't be required. Otherwise, really, who will know to do this?
markrubin likes this.

Last edited by Ken Ross; 02-06-2016 at 05:05 AM.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15794 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 117
good question

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15795 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Do you guys know the pros and cons of going RVU vs. C61? I am having DirecTV come out next weekend and I'm scheduled for the RVU install but if you guys think the C61 option is better I'm all for it.
jstang12 is offline  
post #15796 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 12:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,604
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4336 Post(s)
Liked: 4280
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstang12 View Post
Do you guys know the pros and cons of going RVU vs. C61? I am having DirecTV come out next weekend and I'm scheduled for the RVU install but if you guys think the C61 option is better I'm all for it.
The C61 is not as fast as the HR54 and the RVU that I activated for about 2 weeks in my Sony 940c was even slower. I think that's indicative of all RVUs at this point.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15797 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 12:55 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 14,174
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 917
I've deleted a number of non-informative posts that simply direct users to other sites. Let's try to answer questions and supply knowledge, not force members to jump through hoops to get an answer. If you absolutely need to include a link to explain where you got your information, that's okay. Manufacturer sites, especially. Just pointing users to unconfirmed speculation or possible misinformation on some other forum is not.

Thanks.
Ken Ross, markrubin and dbphd like this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #15798 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 01:24 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,844
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
OK, I did this: Using 'smart search', I entered 'IAMEDGECUTTER' and hit enter. I really thought this would result in nothing. Wrong! I am now getting the 4K boxing test on 9800.

I can only assume that once the actual broadcasting begins, this won't be required. Otherwise, really, who will know to do this?
I got to this too: what is next step? download new FW?

Dr Don: appreciate your comments: I prefer to get my technical info right here
Ken Ross and DrDon like this.

please take the high road in every post
Please do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it to Mods to handle
new forum:High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)
markrubin is offline  
post #15799 of 16799 Old 02-05-2016, 01:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,604
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4336 Post(s)
Liked: 4280
Mark, that was all I had to do! I'm now wondering if it wasn't "IAMANEDGECUTTER". Try that too.

I don't believe there was anything to download, per se. It worked immediately and unlocked those channels instantly...much to my surprise.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15800 of 16799 Old 02-06-2016, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Hey guys was looking into the Genie Go again today and realized you can't even order it from Dtv and thenI decided to ask on the chat and received this: In order to deliver customers an effortless, integrated experience, DIRECTV periodically reviews and updates products and offers to ensure subscribers can enjoy the latest-and-greatest equipment in the industry. Therefore, the GenieGO is currently unavailable for purchase. We are making some changes to the GenieGO and we will relaunch it sometime this year and we aren't completely sure, but it may be a feature we implement in the Genie itself

Spoiler!
azz7686 is offline  
post #15801 of 16799 Old 02-06-2016, 09:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1726 Post(s)
Liked: 1365
Quote:
Originally Posted by azz7686 View Post
Hey guys was looking into the Genie Go again today and realized you can't even order it from Dtv and thenI decided to ask on the chat and received this: In order to deliver customers an effortless, integrated experience, DIRECTV periodically reviews and updates products and offers to ensure subscribers can enjoy the latest-and-greatest equipment in the industry. Therefore, the GenieGO is currently unavailable for purchase. We are making some changes to the GenieGO and we will relaunch it sometime this year and we aren't completely sure, but it may be a feature we implement in the Genie itself
I read something about that, it seems that they're going to integrate the function into the host DVR(Genie) similar to how TiVo has their Stream function 'housed' in their Roamio/Bolt DVRs. I think you can still get the Genie Go from 3rd party vendors like Solid Signal, Amazon, etc. One less box is always a good thing in my book.
azz7686 likes this.
Keenan is online now  
post #15802 of 16799 Old 02-07-2016, 04:47 AM
Senior Member
 
KK in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Mark, that was all I had to do! I'm now wondering if it wasn't "IAMANEDGECUTTER". Try that too.

I don't believe there was anything to download, per se. It worked immediately and unlocked those channels instantly...much to my surprise.
Is there any downside to doing this though? For some reason I was under the impression that this enabled you to start receiving early releases of software updates that may or may not have all of the bugs ironed out. I could be completely incorrect here.

KK in CT is offline  
post #15803 of 16799 Old 02-07-2016, 05:07 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,844
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1440
Quote:
Originally Posted by KK in CT View Post
Is there any downside to doing this though? For some reason I was under the impression that this enabled you to start receiving early releases of software updates that may or may not have all of the bugs ironed out. I could be completely incorrect here.
you can always opt out by using: IAMANEDGECUTTER NOT

the way I understand it, the special downloads are only available Friday and Saturday nights after 11pm, and you have to force the download: if it does not work you can reinstall the regular fw by forcing another download during the day

But the instructions I read were from last year, so I think the C61 (at least mine) had already received the newer fw, and entering the code somehow allowed channels 9800 and 9801 to start to work.

Now I am monitoring 9800 to see if they might put something live on today around 6:30pm....probably not, but one can hope

my software:
DVR HR44/200 0xb15
Client C61K-700 0x7de

please take the high road in every post
Please do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it to Mods to handle
new forum:High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)

Last edited by markrubin; 02-07-2016 at 07:23 AM.
markrubin is offline  
post #15804 of 16799 Old 02-08-2016, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
If you are using the displays RVU there is only one resolution available, (the resolution of your display).
I can't change the resolution of the TV in my bedroom, only the one in my living room. The hr54 is in the living room and the RVU is in my bedroom. When I watch 4k, it looks SICK! But when I'm watching regular HD TV, it doesn't look 1080i or 1080p to me.
thegame2388 is offline  
post #15805 of 16799 Old 02-08-2016, 03:55 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 36,583
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3020
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegame2388 View Post
When I watch 4k, it looks SICK! But when I'm watching regular HD TV, it doesn't look 1080i or 1080p to me.
Please explain further.
oink is offline  
post #15806 of 16799 Old 02-08-2016, 05:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Please explain further.
It just looks pixlated, or washed. Just look at CNN, the rectangular borders look weird. I was watching CBS news and the letters and borders look fuzzy, but when I press GUIDE and that top left box is showing, it looks crisp (maybe because it's smaller?).

I'm pretty sure this is a DirecTV issue and not a problem for this TV. How do I look make DirecTV look ideal?
thegame2388 is offline  
post #15807 of 16799 Old 02-08-2016, 05:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1726 Post(s)
Liked: 1365
So, how did the 4K golf broadcast look, or has it aired yet? I'm not a golf fan so I don't when it exactly airs(ed?).

Last edited by Keenan; 02-09-2016 at 08:45 AM. Reason: correct an error
Keenan is online now  
post #15808 of 16799 Old 02-08-2016, 05:19 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 36,583
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3020
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegame2388 View Post
It just looks pixlated, or washed. Just look at CNN, the rectangular borders look weird. I was watching CBS news and the letters and borders look fuzzy, but when I press GUIDE and that top left box is showing, it looks crisp (maybe because it's smaller?).
Have you turned the Sharpness down?
And/or engaged a "Digital Noise Filter" of some sort?

Quote:
How do I look make DirecTV look ideal?
MILLIONS would like the answer to that question...
ambesolman likes this.
oink is offline  
post #15809 of 16799 Old 02-08-2016, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 978 Post(s)
Liked: 798
My 103D helps a little


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still
ambesolman is online now  
post #15810 of 16799 Old 02-08-2016, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Have you turned the Sharpness down?
And/or engaged a "Digital Noise Filter" of some sort?


MILLIONS would like the answer to that question...
Sharpness is 20. I'm using one of the setting someone posted here.

Digital Noise Filter...I'm assuming you mean "Digital Clean View" is OFF and MPEG Noise Filter is OFF. Is that okay?
thegame2388 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off