DirecTV HDTV - Page 527 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 187Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #15781 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
we're mulled this a few times - DTV decide minimize impact of 4k spinoff and goes with small step as a 4k client, perhaps 3D experience made the learning curve
Their small step turned into a big stumble if you ask me.

Hopefully they'll wake up and take a page from Dish and their Hopper 3, which blows the HR54 out of the water.
TheRatPatrol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15782 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Practically it's exist.
Big question if you could make it ?

In short - yourself (technicians are not allowed to do that) should move old card from 44 to 54 and THEN activate the 54, I assume you're going to swap 44 to 54
it would be easy if you using external HDD with 44 (is it H44 ?)
if not, you should spend a lot of time swapping drives between 44 and 54

personally, I would make full copy of 44's drive to my own HDD and use it with 54 as external when I'd like watch old recordings - less hassles fiddling with opening boxes
but an hdd from a 44 will not work on a 54

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15783 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdram View Post
but an hdd from a 44 will not work on a 54
-> actually where you got that restriction ?

That's why I mentioned my preferred way:
- connect empty drive to HR54, let it initialize;
- copy whole file system structure with files/folders/metadata from HR44 drive to new one (using Linux and XFS utilities)
- use it with HR54, but remember the key movement - activate HR54 with a card from HR44 before send it back.
P Smith is offline  
post #15784 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
-> actually where you got that restriction ?
various conversations over the years over on sat guys

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15785 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 01:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,082
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4014 Post(s)
Liked: 3956
So after reading a couple of posts yesterday on DBS, that channels 9800 & 9801 were showing test signals, I tried tuning them just now. All I get is 'channel unavailable'.

I'm hoping there's just nothing being tested right now, otherwise there's something wrong with my setup.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15786 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 01:06 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
So after reading a couple of posts yesterday on DBS, that channels 9800 & 9801 were showing test signals, I tried tuning them just now. All I get is 'channel unavailable'.

I'm hoping there's just nothing being tested right now, otherwise there's something wrong with my setup.
Ken

not to worry: I get the same 'channel not available'
Ken Ross likes this.

please take the high road in every post
If you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #15787 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 01:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,082
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4014 Post(s)
Liked: 3956
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
Ken

not to worry: I get the same 'channel not available'
Thanks Mark, do you have the necessary equipment to receive that channel (C61 etc)?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15788 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 01:22 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Thanks Mark, do you have the necessary equipment to receive that channel (C61 etc)?
yes: this was on my C61 with an HR44 DVR

I have been watching some 4K downloaded from the C61 to a Samsung 7100: I have to say it has piqued my interest in changing my main display (Sharp Elite 70 as I think you still have) to a 4K display

please take the high road in every post
If you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #15789 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 01:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,082
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4014 Post(s)
Liked: 3956
Thanks Mark.

Yeah, there's nothing like good quality 4K. You really need to watch one of the best examples of 4K coupled with HDR, Mad Dogs, on Amazon. Truly an amazing video experience.

BTW, I have the 60" Elite in the bedroom. It's still plugging along, but I kind of wish it would die so I'd have an excuse to buy a new display for the bedroom.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15790 of 15801 Unread Yesterday, 11:37 PM
Member
 
GCAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post

In short - yourself (technicians are not allowed to do that) should move old card from 44 to 54 and THEN activate the 54
Directv hasn't allowed cards to be moved to a different stb in around 10 years.

Just went through this again with them earlier this week.

So unless you have a way to hack Directv's computer network to change the card in their system from a HR44 to a HR54, you are pretty much SOL on that one.
GCAVS is offline  
post #15791 of 15801 Unread Today, 07:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,082
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4014 Post(s)
Liked: 3956
Someone had posted that there was testing being done at the time I tried tuning and received the 'channel unavailable' prompt.

Does anyone have any idea why I wouldn't be receiving these channels with the HR54 & C61 combo? I saw reference to the 'CE Update'. Can that firmware update be forced?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15792 of 15801 Unread Today, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 79
it can be forced, the guys at the iamanedgecutter website have the details

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15793 of 15801 Unread Today, 07:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,082
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4014 Post(s)
Liked: 3956
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdram View Post
it can be forced, the guys at the iamanedgecutter website have the details
Thanks. Do you have a link?

The other question that arises is if this is only available via this update that most people probably don't have nor know how to do, is it possible the actual live golf stream will be on a channel that this update won't be required?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15794 of 15801 Unread Today, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 79
try this link for info on the feed, you will need to register

http://iamanedgecutter.com/showthrea...IRECTV!/page12

there is also info on the CE program on the site
Ken Ross and markrubin like this.

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15795 of 15801 Unread Today, 07:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,082
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4014 Post(s)
Liked: 3956
OK, I did this: Using 'smart search', I entered 'IAMEDGECUTTER' and hit enter. I really thought this would result in nothing. Wrong! I am now getting the 4K boxing test on 9800.

I can only assume that once the actual broadcasting begins, this won't be required. Otherwise, really, who will know to do this?
markrubin likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15796 of 15801 Unread Today, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 79
good question

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is online now  
post #15797 of 15801 Unread Today, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Do you guys know the pros and cons of going RVU vs. C61? I am having DirecTV come out next weekend and I'm scheduled for the RVU install but if you guys think the C61 option is better I'm all for it.
jstang12 is online now  
post #15798 of 15801 Unread Today, 01:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,082
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4014 Post(s)
Liked: 3956
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstang12 View Post
Do you guys know the pros and cons of going RVU vs. C61? I am having DirecTV come out next weekend and I'm scheduled for the RVU install but if you guys think the C61 option is better I'm all for it.
The C61 is not as fast as the HR54 and the RVU that I activated for about 2 weeks in my Sony 940c was even slower. I think that's indicative of all RVUs at this point.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15799 of 15801 Unread Today, 01:55 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,886
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 651
I've deleted a number of non-informative posts that simply direct users to other sites. Let's try to answer questions and supply knowledge, not force members to jump through hoops to get an answer. If you absolutely need to include a link to explain where you got your information, that's okay. Manufacturer sites, especially. Just pointing users to unconfirmed speculation or possible misinformation on some other forum is not.

Thanks.
Ken Ross and markrubin like this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #15800 of 15801 Unread Today, 02:24 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
OK, I did this: Using 'smart search', I entered 'IAMEDGECUTTER' and hit enter. I really thought this would result in nothing. Wrong! I am now getting the 4K boxing test on 9800.

I can only assume that once the actual broadcasting begins, this won't be required. Otherwise, really, who will know to do this?
I got to this too: what is next step? download new FW?

Dr Don: appreciate your comments: I prefer to get my technical info right here
Ken Ross and DrDon like this.

please take the high road in every post
If you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #15801 of 15801 Unread Today, 02:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 29,082
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4014 Post(s)
Liked: 3956
Mark, that was all I had to do! I'm now wondering if it wasn't "IAMANEDGECUTTER". Try that too.

I don't believe there was anything to download, per se. It worked immediately and unlocked those channels instantly...much to my surprise.
Ken Ross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off