DirecTV HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:32 AM
Member
 
TallGuyMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRIBB43 View Post

They already broadcast in HD

Um, not for me... I don't seem to have an HD alternative channel or corresponding channel for CW. Am I the only one here??
TallGuyMe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Big Ten Network HD showing a re-run (ESPN) of M/ND game and it looks very nice, indeed.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #183 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im getting some pretty bad lip syncing issues on TBSHD and Smithsonian. Anybody else with these issues?

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
post #184 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchaney View Post

And those running relatively new plasmas don't want to take the risk of burn in, particularly during the first few hundred hours.

Burn-in is non-issue on newer plasmas. But even if it is a concern, you're free to stretch or zoom if you are so inclined.

The rest of us can't get rid of distortion sent at the source.
CPanther95 is online now  
post #185 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnis View Post

I'm getting all the channels I should relative to my programming package but CNN, NFL newtwork breaks up & Animal Planet HD searches for signals.
I checked my signal for 103' B & its pretty weak....time for an alignment tweak?

If your channel is breaking up, perhaps the signal is somewhat weak. Are you getting 90 plus signal strengths on 103b?
richard korsgren is offline  
post #186 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

Burn-in is non-issue on newer plasmas. But even if it is a concern, you're free to stretch or zoom if you are so inclined.

The rest of us can't get rid of distortion sent at the source.

I have a commercial Panny plasma and watch many channels with black bars and have never had any problem and this was from day one.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #187 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminatorbob View Post

Im getting some pretty bad lip syncing issues on TBSHD and Smithsonian. Anybody else with these issues?

This happens from time to time..just one of those things.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #188 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:41 AM
Member
 
isyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=mp11;11732935]
Quote:
Originally Posted by teevman View Post


Well that is the big question. Probably a few years away.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teevman View Post

and how many years away is 1080p or will we never see it (in my lifetime anyways)

As I recall 720p and 1080i are the only HD standards that have been approved by the US government. I believe that 1080p would require an act of congress. That's not likely since they can't seem follow through with the commitment to cutover to all digital and do away with analog.

That's enough OT discussion for me. So far all the new channels are coming in with no problems. The HR20s tune the HD channel first and H20 tunes the SD channel first. No big deal since I don't use the H20 much and all I have to do is hit the channel up button to work around the problem.
isyp is offline  
post #189 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
beatles6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatles6 View Post

I also have the premier. All Starz HD channels have 721 message. Spoke to a D* CSR who said they have to send the report to a supervior who will add the "Starz HD pacakge" to the account. Should be on sometime today. We'll see.

Update: I actually got a call back from a D* supervisor who echoed what has been posted here about removing the HD Access package and adding it back in through their new system. Took her a couple of minutes and I now have all of the Starz HD channels. I am also now getting the 9300 test channel which before had the 721 message.
beatles6 is offline  
post #190 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Pelican123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

Early impressions:

Not impressed.


bob

Agreed.
Pelican123 is offline  
post #191 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by TallGuyMe View Post

Um, not for me... I don't seem to have an HD alternative channel or corresponding channel for CW. Am I the only one here??

The CW is a national network like NBC, CBS, FOX and ABC. You would get The CW as part of your local channels package, given that your market has The CW and it's broadcast in HD. Some markets already get their local CW station in HD from DirecTV.

There's always a chance DirecTV could pickup WGN-HD at some point, but I tend to doubt it.
Keenan is online now  
post #192 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jambroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wrong.

[QUOTE

=isyp;11733472]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post




As I recall 720p and 1080i are the only HD standards that have been approved by the US government. I believe that 1080p would require an act of congress. That's not likely since they can't seem follow through with the commitment to cutover to all digital and do away with analog.

That's enough OT discussion for me. So far all the new channels are coming in with no problems. The HR20s tune the HD channel first and H20 tunes the SD channel first. No big deal since I don't use the H20 much and all I have to do is hit the channel up button to work around the problem.


My HD DNS days are kaput!
jambroni is offline  
post #193 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Travis M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no channels at my commerical building. Funny how the CSR told me that those channels had not launched yet. I told her there are people currently watching them and she repeated that they aren't supposed to launch until Mid-october.

Wow.

I have a website, but apparently I can't put it here. WTF?
Travis M is offline  
post #194 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GreySkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Formerly Chicagoland, now Doylestown, PA
Posts: 2,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp11 View Post

As I recall 720p and 1080i are the only HD standards that have been approved by the US government.

1080p/24 is already one of the ATSC resolutions and legal for broadcast.
GreySkies is offline  
post #195 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:48 AM
Member
 
rlp2955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nope that didn't do it. Same issue. Any other thoughts? Would it be an alignment issue if I get all of the other HD channels (including the new ones except for those mentioned?)
rlp2955 is offline  
post #196 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Let's avoid the 1080p discussion. Has nothing to do with this topic.
CPanther95 is online now  
post #197 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:50 AM
Member
 
SRIBB43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan View Post

The CW is a national network like NBC, CBS, FOX and ABC. You would get The CW as part of your local channels package, given that your market has The CW and it's broadcast in HD. Some markets already get their local CW station in HD from DirecTV.

There's always a chance DirecTV could pickup WGN-HD at some point, but I tend to doubt it.

I should have clarified earlier that I get CW-HD but its via OTA, D* doenst yet offer it with the big 4 in dallas
SRIBB43 is offline  
post #198 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

...The rest of us can't get rid of [stretch/zoom] distortion sent at the source.

Very true. Unfortunately, as more and more joe sixpacks buy HDTVs, the viewing audience becomes dumbed down. And the networks will hear more and more people screaming "i don't want no stinkin' black bars on my new widescreen."

So you'll probably see more stretchorama as new channels are added
arxaw is offline  
post #199 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:53 AM
Member
 
rlp2955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LanceTX View Post

A person on DBSTalk was having the same issue. He said he pulled the power plug for 30 seconds, then powered back up and the H20 was now working. I need to try the same thing when I get home, because I was having the same issue with mine this morning before I left for work. Let us know if that fixes your H20 problem.

nope that didn't do it. Same issue. Any other thoughts? Would it be an alignment issue if I get all of the other HD channels (including the new ones except for those mentioned?)
rlp2955 is offline  
post #200 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozvz View Post

Is there a list (idealistic??) of multi switches that are NOT compatible with the new sat??

Pretty much all of them. Only the Zinwell WB68 and the 16 port version of the Zinwell are certified to work with the new sat. The installer should have replaced any multiswitches for one of the new ones when they upgraded the dish. If not then call DirecTV and get it replaced for free.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #201 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CaspianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Land of Cardinals
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
MAke sure you have set it up for 5 LNB and have the B-band connected..

It is all about quality...that is the picture

JVC & NEC 8" CRT with 106" wide Stewart screen. All NHT speakers driven by Pioneer Elite AVR and bluray

Custom dedicated 8 seat theater

CaspianM is offline  
post #202 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

Very true. Unfortunately, as more and more joe sixpacks buy HDTVs, the viewing audience becomes dumbed down. And the networks will hear more and more people screaming "i don't want no stinkin' black bars on my new widescreen."

So you'll probably see more stretchorama as new channels are added

..and, I believe, if we complain enough, these channels will provide us with more and more true 16 x 9 format HD programming. It may take several years. In the meantime, I hardly ever watch these distorted HD channels anyway..so no big deal for me. If some of the viewing public prefers distortion, be my guest..and enjoy.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #203 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
The TV programmers should NEVER stretch the content. We the viewers can't UN_STRETCH it.
You folks who want to fill your screens with stretched video can do so on your end with your TV format button and/or the format button on you D* receivers.
Don't make the rest of the whole country watch what you feel is correct...because it is NOT correct.
Please send 4x3 material as 4x3
Stretchers can then stretch to their hearts desire
obxdiver is offline  
post #204 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 10:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRIBB43 View Post

I should have clarified earlier that I get CW-HD but its via OTA, D* doenst yet offer it with the big 4 in dallas

DirecTV doesn't offer it in the SF market yet either, although Comcast just added it so hopefully it won't be long before D* does here as well.
Keenan is online now  
post #205 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 10:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by isyp View Post

As I recall 720p and 1080i are the only HD standards that have been approved by the US government.

?


1080p @ 24 or 30 fps is part of the ATSC standards and always has been. 1080p @ 60 fps is not.

Having said that, it will be a long time before we see it from sources other than HD DVD or Blu-ray.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #206 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Actuary555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a naive question but do I have to be subscribed to the HD package to get the new HD channels. I have the 5 LNB dish the b-band converter but get a message that I have not paid? These new channels come in fine in SD ie A&E, Tbs, etc.
Actuary555 is offline  
post #207 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dandrewk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, finally real HD quality! It's been a long time... since the early days of PBS' HD loop.

BTW... right NOW... TMC HD showing "Into the Blue". Jessica Alba. Bikini. Underwater. Very nice.

There! I've run circles of logic around you!
dandrewk is offline  
post #208 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
chibul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Muncie, IN
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by obxdiver View Post

The TV programmers should NEVER stretch the content. We the viewers can't UN_STRETCH it.
You folks who want to fill your screens with stretched video can do so on your end with your TV format button and/or the format button on you D* receivers.
Don't make the rest of the whole country watch what you feel is correct...because it is NOT correct.
Please send 4x3 material as 4x3
Stretchers can then stretch to their hearts desire

There's two problems here.

#1.) The "stretchers" vastly outnumber the "non-stretchers", I would wager.

#2.) More importantly, the companies that sell these televisions and these high-definition services do an atrocious job at explaining these things to the average consumer. Most people with the black bars that hate them probably don't even realize they HAVE a stretch feature, or that their DirecTV box can be set to auto-stretch SD content, or so on. The consumers aren't at all educated on the subject.
chibul is offline  
post #209 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A pretty good looking program was on Animal PlanetHD. It all boils down to how good the HD content is. Directv is bringing us good looking HD if the programmer is sending it. Directv is certainly doing its' part..the rest is up to the programmers.
richard korsgren is offline  
post #210 of 14826 Old 09-26-2007, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Travis M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stretch vs OAR is here for anyone interested
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=903448

It became ugly quickly. I hope we can keep it from getting to that point.

I have a website, but apparently I can't put it here. WTF?
Travis M is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off