Mediacom HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 815 Old 03-13-2009, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brew View Post

I like how you're making a comparison between Mediacom MPEG-2 channels and DirecTV's MPEG-4 channels.

MPEG-4 at a lower bitrate looks better than MPEG-2.

I love the PQ on DirecTV and really don't like the PQ on Mediacom. I mean, it's OKAY, but it's certainly not spectacular. DirecTV went from having terrible PQ to pretty darn good PQ, in my humble opinion, when they switched to MPEG-4.

I think you may have hit the nail on the head! Not apples to apples at all. Not only is the quality not as good, but the channel selection is a joke. The satellites have left Medicom in the dust.

Local Mediacom recently had a letter to the editor published in Moline IL Dispatch newspaper. They are proud of their (marketing oriented) charitable offering to give free basic cable to anyone having problems with the digital conversion. They are SO OUT OF TOUCH!

Help me lord.

By the way, no new HD channels lately in Moline, IL.
Hotkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 815 Old 03-14-2009, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Teisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Suprised no one in CR mentions that they gave us Speed and FX a couple months ago and took them away. They are still on the guide but not available.
Teisco is offline  
post #363 of 815 Old 03-14-2009, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ugh.
Hotkey is offline  
post #364 of 815 Old 03-14-2009, 12:56 PM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotkey View Post

Ugh.

indeed..
steppinrazer is offline  
post #365 of 815 Old 03-15-2009, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotkey View Post

Ugh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steppinrazer View Post

indeed..

Inflating our post counts, boys?


Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #366 of 815 Old 03-15-2009, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpark89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Paxton, Ill
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh
jpark89 is offline  
post #367 of 815 Old 03-15-2009, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Inflating our post counts, boys?


I guess so - hope thats not too bad a thing. It gives me something to do wihle waiting on Mediacom to grow.
Hotkey is offline  
post #368 of 815 Old 03-15-2009, 10:03 AM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yupper.. instead of watching new HD channels we can complain about it here on AVS
steppinrazer is offline  
post #369 of 815 Old 03-19-2009, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mediacom in the Quad Cities today added --

757 -- HGTV HD
758 -- Food HD
760 -- FX HD
761 -- Speed HD

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #370 of 815 Old 03-19-2009, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now we're getting someplace. Still a few to go. Hope they speed it up. Thanks for the heads up.
Hotkey is offline  
post #371 of 815 Old 03-19-2009, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotkey View Post

Now we're getting someplace. Still a few to go. Hope they speed it up. Thanks for the heads up.

Yep...nice to see the addtions...now if they would just give us AMC HD...I'd be a very happy camper (Mad Men).

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #372 of 815 Old 03-19-2009, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please add to Des Moines. Thanks
SnakeEyes is offline  
post #373 of 815 Old 03-23-2009, 06:05 PM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
725 WGNHD
added today Annawan, Il
steppinrazer is offline  
post #374 of 815 Old 03-24-2009, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Fox News HD coming to the QC soon according to a press statement from Mediacom.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #375 of 815 Old 03-25-2009, 12:39 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Fox News HD coming to the QC soon according to a press statement from Mediacom.

Gee, thanks Mediacom. I'm sure Faux News HD is in MUCH higher demand than Discovery HD.
djbrettb is offline  
post #376 of 815 Old 03-25-2009, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrettb View Post

Gee, thanks Mediacom. I'm sure Faux News HD is in MUCH higher demand than Discovery HD.

In our house it is.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #377 of 815 Old 03-25-2009, 10:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrettb View Post

Gee, thanks Mediacom. I'm sure Faux News HD is in MUCH higher demand than Discovery HD.

Ratings suggest it is. At least the primetime weekday programming anyway.
SnakeEyes is offline  
post #378 of 815 Old 03-26-2009, 08:53 AM
Member
 
aslabe81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: monticello, il
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrettb View Post

Gee, thanks Mediacom. I'm sure Faux News HD is in MUCH higher demand than Discovery HD.

yeah what is the deal with not having any of the discovery networks. i think mediacom is the only cable/sat provider that doesnt carry those
aslabe81 is offline  
post #379 of 815 Old 03-26-2009, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aslabe81 View Post

yeah what is the deal with not having any of the discovery networks. i think mediacom is the only cable/sat provider that doesnt carry those

We get Discovery HD Theater in the Quad Cities. We've had it since last summer.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #380 of 815 Old 03-26-2009, 09:03 AM
Member
 
aslabe81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: monticello, il
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

We get Discovery HD Theater in the Quad Cities. We've had it since last summer.

sorry i apologize, we do get that one, have for quite some time, but i was meaning discovery, animal planet, science...
aslabe81 is offline  
post #381 of 815 Old 04-07-2009, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Brew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still nothing new in Des Moines / Ames. Surprised they lit up new channels in the QCA before here.
Brew is offline  
post #382 of 815 Old 04-08-2009, 04:11 AM
Member
 
scooter2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brew View Post

Still nothing new in Des Moines / Ames. Surprised they lit up new channels in the QCA before here.


I don't begrudge the Quad Cities getting new channels first, but it does tick me off that it has been a few weeks -- that they have the channels up on Mediacoms HDTV page and yet here in their biggest market -- nothing
scooter2002 is offline  
post #383 of 815 Old 04-08-2009, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They really don't care. They should have someone monitoring this forum and keep us up to speed.
Hotkey is offline  
post #384 of 815 Old 04-21-2009, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well they added Fox News HD (channel 756) to our system today...I think....it's showing up in my TiVo guide but the screen is black...hmmm...

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #385 of 815 Old 04-24-2009, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Overnight, Fox News HD (756) finally made it to the Quad Cities system...we've had the channel banner but no video/audio. Now we have it all (except for program listings - is still says TBA).

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #386 of 815 Old 04-24-2009, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Overnight, Fox News HD (756) finally made it to the Quad Cities system...we've had the channel banner but no video/audio. Now we have it all (except for program listings - is still says TBA).

My listings (Moline) are all there and channel is running fine. What's next?
Hotkey is offline  
post #387 of 815 Old 04-24-2009, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotkey View Post

My listings (Moline) are all there and channel is running fine. What's next?

Is that a trick question? With Mediacom, one never knows...

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #388 of 815 Old 04-28-2009, 03:01 PM
Member
 
aslabe81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: monticello, il
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Overnight, Fox News HD (756) finally made it to the Quad Cities system...we've had the channel banner but no video/audio. Now we have it all (except for program listings - is still says TBA).

website lists cnbchd and bravohd but i dont have those yet or foxnewshd in central IL...
aslabe81 is offline  
post #389 of 815 Old 04-30-2009, 11:27 AM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
From DSLReports (regarding Des Moines):

"Ch 2 Discovery moves to exp basic (ch 46)
Ch 3 QVC moves to ch 4
Ch 4 Mediacom Mainstreet moves to digital (ch 123)
Ch 15 Public Access moves to ch 17
Ch 17 CNN moves to exp basic (ch 65)
Ch 21 WGN moves to ch 3
Ch 29 TNT moves to ch 47
Ch 47 Lifetime moves to ch 29
Ch 51 TV Land moves to ch 61
Ch 52 Hallmark moves to ch 66
Ch 53 Animal Planet moves to 62
Ch 54 BET moves to ch 57
Ch 55 Versus moves to ch 73
Ch 57 Food Network moves to ch 68
Ch 61 ShopNBC moves to ch 2
Ch 65 EWTN moves to digital (ch 94)
Ch 66 TBN moves to digital (ch 92)
Ch 68 HSN moves to ch 15
Ch 73 C-Span 2 moves to digital (ch 87)

New channels

C-Span 3 on ch 88
Inspirational on ch 93

Now the good stuff

New HD channels

HGTV HD ch 857
Food Network HD ch 858
FX HD ch 860
Speed HD ch 861
Fox News HD ch 856
Discovery HD ch 842
TLC HD ch 843
Animal Planet HD ch 844
Lifetime HD ch 863"
djbrettb is offline  
post #390 of 815 Old 04-30-2009, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4 out of 9 is cool with me. FX, Speed, Fox News, Discovery.

Though I wish it were now instead of over a month from now.
SnakeEyes is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off