Mediacom HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 815 Old 02-19-2010, 07:58 PM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
location = my zip code or see 2 posts above
steppinrazer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 815 Old 02-19-2010, 08:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing in moline
Hotkey is offline  
post #543 of 815 Old 02-19-2010, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steppinrazer View Post

location = my zip code or see 2 posts above

I am blind? I don't see any zip code in your posts. Why not add location information to your profile?
WhatHappend is offline  
post #544 of 815 Old 02-19-2010, 08:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatHappend View Post

I am blind? I don't see any zip code in your posts. Why not add location information to your profile?

His zip is 61234, next to location, where typically a city would be listed.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #545 of 815 Old 02-19-2010, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

His zip is 61234, next to location, where typically a city would be listed.

Thanks... I was looking in the posts and not finding anything.
WhatHappend is offline  
post #546 of 815 Old 02-19-2010, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Des Moines got this message:

867 E!HD
869 TruTVHD
868 HLNHD
865 AMCHD
866 TravelHD
854 MSNBCHD

Not one channel I care about

I want Spike and FSC
SnakeEyes is offline  
post #547 of 815 Old 02-19-2010, 11:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steppinrazer View Post

new message on the dvr ...

"On or about feb 25th SEVEN new HD channels will be added to HD family cable."
E! 767
Spike 770
Comedy cent 771
Nick 777
Mtv 772
CMT 775
VH1 773

Looking here: http://www.mediacomtoday-lineup.com/..._and_shef.aspx

Do you get these channels currently? (From the link above for your zip):

754 MSNBC HD*
759 Bravo HD*
765 AMC HD*
766 Travel Channel HD*
768 HLN HD*
769 truTV HD*

With your new 7 and 5 channels above (I get BravoHD) that I don't get that, would mean 12 new HD channels coming at some time for my Market.

I am glad Mediacom is finally getting more HD.
WhatHappend is offline  
post #548 of 815 Old 02-20-2010, 08:42 AM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes we've had those for awhile now
steppinrazer is offline  
post #549 of 815 Old 02-20-2010, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
SowegaBowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All of the channels mentioned by steppinrazer except E! will be available in Albany, GA in mid-March. See my post in the Albany thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post18146841

Scott

Been there, done that, got the T-shirt...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SowegaBowler is offline  
post #550 of 815 Old 02-22-2010, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
ivorygate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatHappend View Post

Looking here: http://www.mediacomtoday-lineup.com/..._and_shef.aspx

Wow, if the lineup on that web site is actually correct for you, it would be a complete and utter shock to me. I've been in contact with Mediacom for now for over a three weeks, due to the fact that they can't provide me a channel lineup that is 1:1 to what I actually get inside my house. The listings at the site above for my zip, and also the surrounding towns, used to be dated Dec 9 and had errors from when they switched channels around back on Sep 1, 2009. Then, last week they "updated" it, except that the date now says ... March 29, 2010 (yes, in the future) and they didn't actually fix a single error on the lineup that I had been telling them about.
Also, they usually tell me to use the Zap2It programming listings, and not that link above, and TMS has completely different errors in their database that after four weeks I can't get them to fully resolve. They almost fixed it back in January, but in the process they introduced two channel errors. Then, four weeks later, they fixed those two new errors they created, but then introduced yet another completely new error this past weekend.

Apparently, knowing what station is on what channel is one of the most complex things we have to deal with in modern life.
ivorygate is offline  
post #551 of 815 Old 02-22-2010, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivorygate View Post

...Apparently, knowing what station is on what channel is one of the most complex things we have to deal with in modern life.

You're a funny guy....but you speak the truth. When you plug in our zip code, Mediacom has TWO channel lineup documents for East Moline, Ill.: one of them is accurate and the other not.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #552 of 815 Old 02-25-2010, 03:00 PM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steppinrazer View Post

new message on the dvr ...

"On or about feb 25th SEVEN new HD channels will be added to HD family cable."
E! 767
Spike 770
Comedy cent 771
Nick 777
Mtv 772
CMT 775
VH1 773

E! HD went live today no sign of the others

The Mediacom link WhatHappend refered to above has the date changed from Feb 25th to the end of March..
steppinrazer is offline  
post #553 of 815 Old 03-04-2010, 11:04 AM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steppinrazer View Post

new message on the dvr ...

"On or about feb 25th SEVEN new HD channels will be added to HD family cable."
E! 767
Spike 770
Comedy cent 771
Nick 777
Mtv 772
CMT 775
VH1 773

I'm happy for you, but WHY is it that Mediacom insists on rolling out TONS of HD channels to small towns? I would _love_ to have Comedy Central HD, but we don't have it in Des Moines/Ames.
djbrettb is offline  
post #554 of 815 Old 03-05-2010, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Kelud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Three new HD channels in Cedar Rapids.

E!
HLN
TruTV

Not exactly the cream of the crop.
Kelud is offline  
post #555 of 815 Old 03-08-2010, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
ivorygate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrettb View Post

I'm happy for you, but WHY is it that Mediacom insists on rolling out TONS of HD channels to small towns? I would _love_ to have Comedy Central HD, but we don't have it in Des Moines/Ames.

I agree, the only HD channel we don't have in the Cedar Fall/Waterloo area that I personally watch is Comedy Central, so I can only hope sometime in the next few weeks it will magically show up one day here.
ivorygate is offline  
post #556 of 815 Old 03-09-2010, 02:29 PM
Member
 
akira7799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know which Tuning Adapter Mediacom provides for SDV programming in Ocean Pines/Berlin, MD?
akira7799 is offline  
post #557 of 815 Old 03-10-2010, 01:17 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by akira7799 View Post

Does anyone know which Tuning Adapter Mediacom provides for SDV programming in Ocean Pines/Berlin, MD?

I have never heard of Mediacom using SDV. Are you sure they use SDV in that market?
djbrettb is offline  
post #558 of 815 Old 03-11-2010, 12:44 PM
Member
 
akira7799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrettb View Post

I have never heard of Mediacom using SDV. Are you sure they use SDV in that market?

I apologize for the question, I should have asked "Does Mediacom use SDV and if so what tuning adapter do they utilize in my area". After further research I found out that Medicom does not use SDV in my area, and as you say djbrettb, most likely not in any of their markets.

On a side-note, how do you find Mediacom's customer service and quality of service?

Thanks,
Dave
akira7799 is offline  
post #559 of 815 Old 03-17-2010, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by akira7799 View Post

...how do you find Mediacom's customer service and quality of service?

I find it very uneven here in the Quad Cities. You can get a tech who knows what he is doing, but for every one of those you'll have 3 or 4 who don't.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #560 of 815 Old 03-17-2010, 03:31 PM
Member
 
akira7799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

I find it very uneven here in the Quad Cities. You can get a tech who knows what he is doing, but for every one of those you'll have 3 or 4 who don't.

bierboy,

Thanks for the heads-up. Hopefully I'll have someone in my area who knows what they are doing. I'm going to be needing a MCard for my Ceton InfiniTV and would like to get it up and running in a reasonable amount of time without too much fiddling. I know I might be asking too much, but we'll just have to play it by year.

From the few people I have talked with over the phone, their customer service seems to be better than other companies I have dealt with in the past.

akira
akira7799 is offline  
post #561 of 815 Old 03-17-2010, 06:59 PM
Member
 
GuitarGuy305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any other Mediacom digital subscribers in Eastern Iowa have all the movie and digital plus channels for free until recently? I just noticed this and a co-worker said it's been that way for months.
GuitarGuy305 is offline  
post #562 of 815 Old 03-18-2010, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpark89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Paxton, Ill
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelud View Post

Three new HD channels in Cedar Rapids.

E!
HLN
TruTV

Not exactly the cream of the crop.

same here in Paxton, Illinois
jpark89 is offline  
post #563 of 815 Old 03-18-2010, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'll crap my drawers if those are the new ones we get here in the QC....that's just pure rubbish.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #564 of 815 Old 03-19-2010, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Kelud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarGuy305 View Post

Any other Mediacom digital subscribers in Eastern Iowa have all the movie and digital plus channels for free until recently? I just noticed this and a co-worker said it's been that way for months.

Unfortunately, yes. I got my first HD box last June and I've received all channels for free... until now. It's too bad they could not have waited until after 'The Pacific' finished airing on HBO.
Kelud is offline  
post #565 of 815 Old 03-23-2010, 02:27 PM
Member
 
GuitarGuy305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haha. I got a new cable box that was messed up and when messing with that was when I notcied all those extra channels. Until talking to my co-worker I thought it was the box so I didn't want to call to get another new box. Then of course a couple days after I got another new box, the channels went away.

For what MC charges around here, I had no problem getting $60 of channels for free.
GuitarGuy305 is offline  
post #566 of 815 Old 03-30-2010, 04:59 PM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New channels today, these are the channels they pushed the rollout back from last month..

770 Spike HD
771 Comedy Cent HD
772 MTV HD
773 VH1 HD
775 CMT HD
777 Nick HD
steppinrazer is offline  
post #567 of 815 Old 03-30-2010, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by steppinrazer View Post

New channels today, these are the channels they pushed the rollout back from last month..

770 Spike HD
771 Comedy Cent HD
772 MTV HD
773 VH1 HD
775 CMT HD
777 Nick HD

Hope we see some of these soon in the Quad Cities.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #568 of 815 Old 03-30-2010, 05:13 PM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ya your missing out on some good episodes of:
pregnant at 16 and RuPaul's whatever
steppinrazer is offline  
post #569 of 815 Old 03-30-2010, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Is there any chance that Mediacom will offer Golf Channel HD?

Jack

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #570 of 815 Old 03-31-2010, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by steppinrazer View Post

ya your missing out on some good episodes of:
pregnant at 16 and RuPaul's whatever

Yeah, I'd rather see AMC HD and Versus HD before any of the ones you listed...

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off