Mediacom HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 815 Old 10-03-2007, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpark89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Paxton, Ill
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yesterday I called and emailed Mediacom about upcoming Hd channels and the Big 10 Network. I told them that the other local cable companies, Dish Net and Directv are kicking their butts in HD programming. That it's time to get going. The CSR asked me what channels in HD would interest me. I told her any as long as it's more than 1 channel. The customer service person didn't have any news about it. Interestingly though, I received an email reply that reads this;


Mediacom Customer Service 2:17 am (5 hours ago)

We understand your concern and are presently working to provide more HD
channels to our channel line up. We at Mediacom continuously strive to
provide our customers with the highest and best digital products.

The next channels that are to be HD are TNT and Animal Planet. This will
happen in the near future.


Customer Service Support
1613 Natahala Beach Road
Gulf Breeze, Fl 32563



How near is the question now?
Well, I did say more than 1 channel. Oh Christ!!!
jpark89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 815 Old 10-03-2007, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
iowahawkeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa City IA
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the info. I posted a link to your post over in another Mediacom forum. Should be interesting. http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r191...To-Be-Added-Is

HD since Sept 2005
iowahawkeye is offline  
post #3 of 815 Old 10-04-2007, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Perfect timing.

I'm an Illini guy (U of Illinois) and had just today sent an email to local (Moline, IL) Mediacom executive assistant that has helped me with some issues over the past few years.

Basically I was asking about:

(1) The Big 10 Network grid lock and
(2) The lack of new HD channels in the last 2ish years.

Her response was:

(1) Mediacom wants the Big 10 Network in their "sports tier" so people already paying for "extra" sports programs would get it - this would remove the need for Mediacom charge $2 per "basic" subscriber to add it at the "basic" level. Big 10 Conference wants it in the "basic" tier so everyone can get it (read advertising sales potential) and assumes no extra charge by cable companies. I'm curious if anyone knows if the cost went up for "basic" with the cable (or satellite) providers who have in fact added it to "basic". No time line has been discussed, at least publicly, while we miss all the games we used to see on ESPN and other channels. Both Mediacom AND Big 10 Conference Tick me off!

Also, she had no idea if the Big 10 Network channel(s) to be added would be HD and/or standard def!

(2) The tale of woe for added HD channels was that of horsepower to complete the digital conversion by 2009 deadline AND also bandwidth. Once again, NO time table at all and no channel quantity qualifiers either. I had included the recent Dish HD addition list (about 15 I recall) to her in the email and suggested Mediacom at least pick out 1 2 or 3 to keep the customers "satisfied" short term by throwing us a bone, while we wait until 2009 to get any more.

I'd love to hear from more folks on the Mediacom lack of effort - including any Mediacom employees/executives that may read the AV forums.

Also, if this post needs to be moved to other forums to get the exposure it should get, please feel free to do so!
Hotkey is offline  
post #4 of 815 Old 10-08-2007, 10:08 AM
Member
 
MrChambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I responded to the other thread about this on DSLReports - I'm currently a Mediacom HD subscriber, and their offerings are pathetic. I'm switching to Dish, on the hope that I can get a good signal after I trim a few trees. (I've heard Dish's sats are a few degrees further West, which would help me get through neighbors trees).

I would go with DirecTV, but they've been promising more HD for years and haven't delivered, so I see no reason to assume this year will be any different - Dish has more available right now.
MrChambers is offline  
post #5 of 815 Old 10-08-2007, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marty Milton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Urbana, Illinois
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a frustrated Insight/Comcast customer in Cham-Bana, IL where the cable company has the same issues with the Big Ten Network as Comcast. If the Big Ten Network is not available by basketball season, I am switching to satellite.

So much for cable companies being an asset to the community. If Comcast and Mediacom really cared about the communities they serve, they would bite the bullet for the time being and just provide the Big Ten Network on the basic tier for now. I am not holding my breath that the Big Ten Network will ever be available on cable.
Marty Milton is offline  
post #6 of 815 Old 10-08-2007, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fireshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of my customers told me over the weekend that Mediacom in Des Moines sent out a letter stating they were going to be removing the SD west coast feeds of the premiums to add more HD content within the next few weeks.
fireshoes is offline  
post #7 of 815 Old 10-09-2007, 09:51 AM
Member
 
chris8796's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I switched from Mediacom (Peoria area) a couple of months ago for all these reasons.

No BTN

No HD channels announcements - standard we are working on it email

NO "guide" info for the HD locals - creates problems for parental control when no ratings

DVR service- no dvrs we'll put you on the "waiting list"

No HD-DVRs

Limited to one HD box per house

Wasted more time trying to sell me phone service than provide TV programming.

I switched to direct, so far so good.

I was going to keep MC internet, but they want $67/month now w/o cable TV. So they are history once the retention credits stop.
chris8796 is offline  
post #8 of 815 Old 10-09-2007, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This so SOOOO like where I wanna go! I'm alread "poised" with a gmail address!

I hate to have to go thru the "growing" pains of changing our equipment, re-upping phone service, etc. but I think I'm there.

Why did you pick Direct as opposed to Dish?

How do the set top boxes/DVR's compare?

Do you have multi-room set-ups?

How about total costs? Ahead or behind the curve?

How do the channel guides/info compare?

Any other details that would be helpful in making the choice to jump?

Thx!!!!!!!!!!!
Hotkey is offline  
post #9 of 815 Old 10-09-2007, 11:55 AM
Member
 
chris8796's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went with direct because I liked thier HD package better. I also like thier business focus, sports programming, HD, DVRs.

I have the H20 (HD) and 2 HR20 (HD-DVR). I'm getting 2-SD-DVRs for the kids rooms tomorrow. I love the HR20, my first experience with a DVR. I couldn't imagine watching TV without them now.

Multiroom setups? I went with a box at each TV, in part because I have 3 HDTVs to feed.

Cost-wise: Its hard to compare right now, with all the special promotions. In the end, I plan on paying about the same or more as I did with MC. But I plan on getting alot more programming, boxes, etc. I wouldn't change just to get or expect lower costs. I would do it to get better programming and equipment options.

Other advice, take Dish's best offer to direct and say do better. Hopefully you can at least get a free HR20 out of them (usually $299) and some programming credits.
chris8796 is offline  
post #10 of 815 Old 10-09-2007, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hotkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Moline, IL 61265
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Chris - 1 more question please - does the DVR remote have the 30 second skip function that got me hooked on ReplayTV DVR to begin with?
Hotkey is offline  
post #11 of 815 Old 10-09-2007, 01:14 PM
Member
 
chris8796's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes
chris8796 is offline  
post #12 of 815 Old 10-09-2007, 04:23 PM
Member
 
jjeffeory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrChambers View Post

I responded to the other thread about this on DSLReports - I'm currently a Mediacom HD subscriber, and their offerings are pathetic. I'm switching to Dish, on the hope that I can get a good signal after I trim a few trees. (I've heard Dish's sats are a few degrees further West, which would help me get through neighbors trees).

I would go with DirecTV, but they've been promising more HD for years and haven't delivered, so I see no reason to assume this year will be any different - Dish has more available right now.

Huh? DirecTV has more HD than Dish right now. You know they added a bunch this month with more to come. Yes, Dish has Voom. I just don't see them adding too many more right now. It would be nice if they did.

Jeff
jjeffeory is offline  
post #13 of 815 Old 10-09-2007, 04:46 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrChambers View Post

I would go with DirecTV, but they've been promising more HD for years and haven't delivered, so I see no reason to assume this year will be any different - Dish has more available right now.

They've been promising more HD in 2007 for years. They just started delivering on that promise (on time).
CPanther95 is offline  
post #14 of 815 Old 10-09-2007, 04:49 PM
Member
 
jjeffeory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You're right. Maybe that's what he meant. At any rate, DirecTV now has the most HD and the quality is pretty darned good. I would love Verizon to add the extra channels or even Dishnetwork, but right now DirecTV has or will very soon have the channels I want in HD.

Jeff
jjeffeory is offline  
post #15 of 815 Old 12-04-2007, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
scott72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just stumbled across online today. Hope they are serious about this..

Mediacom Eyes HD Expansion
NOVEMBER 06, 2007
Discuss > Share >

Mediacom Communications Corp. may have posted a disappointing quarter Tuesday, sending shares below a 52-week low, but the company is still pushing ahead with a plan to enhance its service portfolio, including a hefty expansion of high-definition television (HDTV) content in time for the 2007 holiday season.

Speaking Tuesday morning with reporters and analysts, EVP of operations John Pascarelli said Mediacom's "basic family cable" tier will offer between 30 to 40 hi-def channels for the added cost of the new set-top.

"We expect to announce the first phase of the new HD channels in the next 30 days," he said. With that being the first phase, I guess we can expect subsequent phases, which will be required to keep up with the beefy hi-def lineups DirecTV Group Inc. (NYSE: DTV - message board) and EchoStar Communications Corp. are flaunting.

In other strategy-related moves, Mediacom -- which has much more DSL than fiber-to-the-home competition to contend with since Qwest Communications International Inc. (NYSE: Q - message board) is its primary telco competitor -- also plans to offer its low-end cable modem service (likely its 512-kbit/s tier) across the board, and couple that with a "fixed, long-term pricing strategy."

Mediacom is also teeing up a commercial voice product slated to launch in the first half of 2008.

While Mediacom used its earnings call to outline some new strategies, quite the opposite happened during Insight Communications Co. Inc. 's later in the day.

Insight, which turned in a solid quarter, offered nothing new about its prospects for a sale (and no analysts even brought it up in the Q&A session), which all but confirms that the MSO is off the block for now... or at least until sometime after it wraps up its system deal with Comcast Corp. (Nasdaq: CMCSA, CMCSK) later this year. (See Insight-ful Questions Expected Tuesday.)
scott72 is offline  
post #16 of 815 Old 12-04-2007, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpark89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Paxton, Ill
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i saw this also. hope they are right. the holiday season is approaching soon. i already have their hd/dvr motorola box.
jpark89 is offline  
post #17 of 815 Old 12-04-2007, 11:04 PM
Senior Member
 
scott72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpark89 View Post

i saw this also. hope they are right. the holiday season is approaching soon. i already have their hd/dvr motorola box.

I haven't went to the boxes yet. I"m waiting for them to get more channels before I'm committing to an extra 30 bucks a month for the HD channels and DVR. How do you like their DVR by the way?
scott72 is offline  
post #18 of 815 Old 12-05-2007, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpark89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Paxton, Ill
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's ok. it's not as fancy as the D* HR20 but for your basic needs for recording, it's easy to use. the dual tuner feature is a little awkward to use though. better than a vcr. lol
jpark89 is offline  
post #19 of 815 Old 12-07-2007, 03:21 PM
Member
 
mbockenstedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott72 View Post

"We expect to announce the first phase of the new HD channels in the next 30 days," he said.

well isn't announcing it the first phase? didn't you just do exactly that? their lack of HD programming is downright unacceptable. i signed up for HD right at the beginning of "Shark Week" on the discovery channel, only to find out its Discovery HD theater. can you imagine how disappointed I was (even though its my fault for not reading closely enough).

i live near Des Moines and it seems that ESPN and ESPN2 are always backwards lately. anyone else notice that? thats of course when ESPN actually comes in - there are times when its either laggy, theres no sound, or just no picture at all.
mbockenstedt is offline  
post #20 of 815 Old 12-12-2007, 01:23 AM
Newbie
 
MrTangent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It truly is sad that Mediacom is not offering more channels in HD. I hope that the recent press junket is a sign of things to come.

As an aside, can I ask what everyone here is paying for their service?

I pay for Family Cable [expanded basic/broadcast basic], Digital Plus and HDTV Tier and high speed internet. I am now paying right around $120 for this. I got an six month introductory rate and am kind of appalled at how expensive this is now that the introductory rate ran out.

I don't even get the Digital Premium channels like Starz, Encore, HBO, Showtime, TMC or whatever. I can't imagine how expensive it'd be if I got them. They say knowledge is power so I'm asking what you're paying and what packages you get. Reason: collectively we might be able to bargain our bills down. I'm going to call them and see if I can get it lowered because we've been using Mediacom (internet) for the past six or seven years and we used cable for a years before switching to DirecTV and later Dish. I only came back because I wanted to use TiVo via my Series 3 and unfortunately the satellite operators don't support an industry-standard device like the Cable Cards.
MrTangent is offline  
post #21 of 815 Old 12-12-2007, 01:30 PM
Member
 
kps246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Coralville, IA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Family Cable, Digital Two-Star pack (HBO & Starz), 1 HDTV box and 1 regular box, along with HSI. My bill is currently at $143, including taxes and fees.
Direct TV announced they will have locals in Hi-Def this year (mid 2008), and hopefully the SWM will be available by then. I'll probably keep Mediacom for basic cable and HSI, and go with Direct TV. It won't be any cheaper, but I'll have a lot more HD programing.
kps246 is offline  
post #22 of 815 Old 12-12-2007, 02:26 PM
Member
 
mbockenstedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Family Cable w/ Starz, 1 HD box, and Internet - currently is running ~$75, but that's still at the introductory rate. I believe when I called to get this all set up, they told me the rate would increase to $90 per month for the both of them, then add the $10 brings it up to $100. I'll be considering a dish in May (when the promotion is up) because of Mediacom's lack of HD.
mbockenstedt is offline  
post #23 of 815 Old 12-12-2007, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
scott72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This just gets worse and worse. Just came back from visiting my local Mediacom office in Prairie Du Chien, Wi. I live in the NE Iowa/Sw Wis market. The gal working in the office said she hasn't heard anything about our market moving HD channels to the expanded basic lineup. She said her office feels like the red-headed step child because they're always the last to get anything. They don't even have the phone service yet! I don't see how they can take some of the markets and give them more HD channels and not others. I can't switch to dish either because I'm right on the Iowa/Wis border and to get the sports channels I need to watch my favorite teams I need cable. I'm so frustrated. Right now I have a whopping two HD channels I receive though QAM. CBS and NBC. Whoopee..

Oh and I pay nearly 60 bucks for expanded basic service. They want nearly 30 bucks more to upgrade to the HD tier with the DVR and 5 more HD channels. Right...
scott72 is offline  
post #24 of 815 Old 12-12-2007, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
ToddR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ankeny, IA
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Family Cable - 51.95
(itemized as Expanded - 32 and Basic - 19.95)

Internet - 45.95

Taxes & other bs fees - 6.08

Total: 103.98

But wait..."Effective in 30 days, your Family Cable service rate will increase $3.00 per month. We greatly appreciate your business."

Yeah, right. And I appreciate your insipid lack of HD channels.
ToddR is offline  
post #25 of 815 Old 12-12-2007, 08:53 PM
Newbie
 
MrTangent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the replies. I was just curious as to how much my bill was compared to everyone else's. Looks like I'm not being too gouged. I would have thought that the satellite companies would have forced the cable companies to lower their costs, but apparently not. I guess you are getting a lot for what you're paying but still, it seems like it's a little high. I'd be more comfortable paying around $100 for what I get.

Another question (and pertinent to the HD topic). Has anyone got Mojo HD yet? It's listed as available in some areas on their site. All I get currently on the HD tier is HD theater, HDnet, HDnet Movies, Universal HD and the two ESPN HD channels. I also get locals in HD when available, of course.

Really wish Mediacom offered Current(.com). It's a really cool, interactive tv show that allows you, the viewer, to send in pods (think video podcasts) that they will air if they're good. Very Web 2.0-ish. Cool show. Get to watch it on Dish occasionally.
MrTangent is offline  
post #26 of 815 Old 12-12-2007, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fireshoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mediacom in Des Moines has Mojo.
fireshoes is offline  
post #27 of 815 Old 12-13-2007, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpark89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Paxton, Ill
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mojo is in Central Illinois also.
jpark89 is offline  
post #28 of 815 Old 12-16-2007, 10:23 PM
Member
 
bogeypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anymore new info regarding future hd. I know about the supposed information release in 2008, but does anyone know anything about it. Thanks.
bogeypro is offline  
post #29 of 815 Old 12-16-2007, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
scott72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogeypro View Post

anymore new info regarding future hd. I know about the supposed information release in 2008, but does anyone know anything about it. Thanks.

Sounds like the Cedar Rapids market is getting a bunch of HD channels next year. Other markets (such as mine) are looking to be out of luck for who knows how long. Satellite is looking better and better all the time..
scott72 is offline  
post #30 of 815 Old 12-18-2007, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jpark89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Paxton, Ill
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just received a message on my dvr saying that the local stations that broadcast in hd are available in the 700's. i've had these since i signed up back in may. maybe they are ramping up for some new hd channels. supposedly espn/espn2 are suppose to be moved the the family tier and others are to be rearranged for the upcoming 30-40 hd channels. they announced by the holidays that the new channels would be here. it's almost that time. they better be good, santa's watching.
jpark89 is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off