Official WWE in HD topic! - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 572 Old 12-31-2007, 06:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
goaliebob99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Manteno, IL (from there) Live in BearBonnais!
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

yea i see Wwe raw listed in HD as mentioned above on my HR20. still dont see SMACKDOWN listed in HD on my local CW (OTA).



Seeing the same here.. IT sure does look like they are using HD camera's for tonights show. If they would flip the switch from SD to HD, I would be able to tell you for sure
goaliebob99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 572 Old 12-31-2007, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
kizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldmaga View Post

My personal opinion is that they aren't concerned about revealing anything important, mostly because they've been testing this for over a year now.

I agree with your personal opinion. I forgot that they've been testing this for over a year now... and you know McMahon would not make this move unless they are prepared.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldmaga View Post

I'd say that WWE has one of the best production teams on television, and given that much time to tinker with equipment and angles, they've probably got a good handle on how they want to broadcast their product.

Yep.. and I can't wait to see what they can do.
kizzo is offline  
post #33 of 572 Old 01-01-2008, 04:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there any confirmation yet as to this weeks SMACKDOWN being available in HD??

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #34 of 572 Old 01-01-2008, 07:57 AM
Member
 
tvsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

is there any confirmation yet as to this weeks SMACKDOWN being available in HD??

There is currently no indication (according to the guide and zap2it) that it will be on HD this week and next week but you never know. SD! was and still is scheduled to go HD sometime in January. It was expected to be the first WWE broadcast in HD, but I guess Raw would get that honor of going first and SD! will follow shortly after.
tvsharp is offline  
post #35 of 572 Old 01-01-2008, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Was the initial press release about Smackdown going HD from WWE or CW?

It was CW iirc, but I could be wrong.
Baldmaga is offline  
post #36 of 572 Old 01-01-2008, 05:45 PM
Member
 
tvsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldmaga View Post

Was the initial press release about Smackdown going HD from WWE or CW?

It was CW iirc, but I could be wrong.

It was reported as a CW press release (see link below...it was from July '07). It was about most of their primetime shows being in HD starting Fall '07. SD! would not go HD initially, but will follow suit in HD on Jan '08.

http://www.tvpredictions.com/cwhd072507.htm
tvsharp is offline  
post #37 of 572 Old 01-02-2008, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
And it looks like D* jumped the gun.

Quote:


- If you are excited about WWE RAW airing in High Definition, it looks like you are going to have to wait longer than this coming Monday. According to Mike Johnson the original plan was for RAW to launch in HD alongside the USA Network, however, it has since been pushed back several weeks. It is likely that WWE RAW will debut in HD the day after the Royal Rumble pay-per-view which is set to be the first WWE pay-per-view broadcast in High Definition.

wrestlingobserver.com/Mike Johnson

DARN!
Baldmaga is offline  
post #38 of 572 Old 01-02-2008, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
o brother... whats next.. the R Rumble is not going to be available in HD you gotta wait till wrestlemania...

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #39 of 572 Old 01-02-2008, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

o brother... whats next.. the R Rumble is not going to be available in HD you gotta wait till wrestlemania...

Royal Rumble HD was announced...

Raw was NEVER anounced as being HD... people assumed...
Berk32 is offline  
post #40 of 572 Old 01-03-2008, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldmaga View Post

And it looks like D* jumped the gun.



wrestlingobserver.com/Mike Johnson

DARN!

In this thread I think it's more appropriate to post...

DAMN!
SnakeEyes is offline  
post #41 of 572 Old 01-03-2008, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #42 of 572 Old 01-03-2008, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Has USA showed anything in HD yet? I haven't watched that channel.

I don't think shooting the matches in HD will make much of a difference. The bad thing is if someone is atomic bombed we might seeing their balls squish.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #43 of 572 Old 01-03-2008, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea usa has a lot of HD programing...
law and order
monk
usa movies-bad boys 2, and others...
house
...

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #44 of 572 Old 01-03-2008, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
RSF_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Barring any technical setbacks Smackdown on CW should start in HD on Jan 25 2008.
RSF_LA is offline  
post #45 of 572 Old 01-03-2008, 09:02 PM
Member
 
MasturB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my CW affiliate has an HD channel, but nothing has aired in HD.
MasturB is offline  
post #46 of 572 Old 01-03-2008, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
hdtvjunkie247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Too bad Comcast around here removed the HD PPV channel a few months ago. Now I can't watch the Royal Rumble in HD.
hdtvjunkie247 is offline  
post #47 of 572 Old 01-04-2008, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Lucid504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: O'Fallon,MO
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSF_LA View Post

Barring any technical setbacks Smackdown on CW should start in HD on Jan 25 2008.

Is this just a guess or a actual known fact?

TV: Vizio 32" LCD and Toshiba 42" LCD
Cinema: Onkyo TX-SR304 and Sony STR-K790
HD:Directv HR21-100 and HR21-200 with 1TB External HDD
HD Players:Toshiba HD-A2,Sony BD-350
Remote: Harmony One
Lucid504 is offline  
post #48 of 572 Old 01-04-2008, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vurbano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 7,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

Maybe you should come back to the adult table when you get a sense of humor.

For now, get bent.

Stop trying to provoke a fight..
vurbano is offline  
post #49 of 572 Old 01-04-2008, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vurbano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 7,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

i think your thinking of the older wrestling days.. every time i go to HOOTERS after a LIVE event the WWE Diva's look pretty

I was reffering to porn. Try reading the post. You really don't want to see most of those women in HD. The fantasy is much better in SD a lot like wrestling.
vurbano is offline  
post #50 of 572 Old 01-04-2008, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
no longer hd in the epg

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
post #51 of 572 Old 01-04-2008, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Lucid504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: O'Fallon,MO
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefbal99 View Post

no longer hd in the epg

royal rumble will be in hd if thats what your disputing, direct tv has it listed and even the royal rumble commerical was shot in widescreen...

TV: Vizio 32" LCD and Toshiba 42" LCD
Cinema: Onkyo TX-SR304 and Sony STR-K790
HD:Directv HR21-100 and HR21-200 with 1TB External HDD
HD Players:Toshiba HD-A2,Sony BD-350
Remote: Harmony One
Lucid504 is offline  
post #52 of 572 Old 01-04-2008, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
RSF_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucid504 View Post

Is this just a guess or a actual known fact?

Much more than a guess but not yet a fact.
RSF_LA is offline  
post #53 of 572 Old 01-04-2008, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucid504 View Post

royal rumble will be in hd if thats what your disputing, direct tv has it listed and even the royal rumble commerical was shot in widescreen...

I was referring to Raw on Monday, its no longer flagged as HD

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
post #54 of 572 Old 01-07-2008, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea tonights RAW is available in upconverted SD as usual on USAHD. cant wait for HD IN 2 WEEKS!

has it been confirmed that all WWE programing will be available in HD after the R-Rumble?

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #55 of 572 Old 01-07-2008, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post

yea tonights RAW is available in upconverted SD as usual on USAHD. cant wait for HD IN 2 WEEKS!

has it been confirmed that all WWE programing will be available in HD after the R-Rumble?

Raw was confirmed on tonight's broadcast.
Baldmaga is offline  
post #56 of 572 Old 01-08-2008, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i only saw the beginning of RAW but from what people are saying on DBSTALK one of the anouncers mentioned that RAW on the 21st LIVE in HAMPTON, VA will be the first RAW in HD...?

http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=114312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldmaga-dbstalk View Post

...However, it was confirmed on tonights show that it will begin in 2 weeks.


MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #57 of 572 Old 01-08-2008, 05:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
RAVEN56706's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jersey City, NJ, USA
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
last night on Raw they stated that RAW will be live in 2 weeks

2011 SUPERBOWL CHAMPIONS- New York Giants!!!

Gamertag: GENERAL CUPKAKE
RAVEN56706 is offline  
post #58 of 572 Old 01-08-2008, 05:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

http://i17.tinypic.com/6ozzhio.jpg

now all we need is ECW and SD!

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT Vz or D*
dtv757 is offline  
post #59 of 572 Old 01-08-2008, 05:38 AM
Member
 
tvsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post


http://i17.tinypic.com/6ozzhio.jpg

now all we need is ECW and SD!

01/21/08?
Here's a link to it:

http://www.wwe.com/content/media/vid...50?zone=_index
tvsharp is offline  
post #60 of 572 Old 01-08-2008, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post


http://i17.tinypic.com/6ozzhio.jpg

now all we need is ECW and SD!

Shouldn't be too much of an issue as their broadcasting networks CW and SciFi have HD simulcasts that can easily add an HD production.

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off