Dish Network HDTV - Page 87 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 2605 Old 10-01-2014, 09:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoilerJim View Post
This may have been answered before, but does Dish Network have an actual "on-demand" service like the cable companies do? I have U-verse and am also familiar with Comcast, both of which offer "on-demand" for (among other things) subscribers of the premium channels like HBO, Showtime, etc. I have a friend in southern Indiana who has Dish and missed the first two episodes of "The Knick" on Cinemax, so I asked him why he just didn't watch them on-demand. You would have thought I was speaking a foreign language, and he told me he had never heard of such a service and was pretty sure it wasn't avilable. So, my question is... does Dish Network have an on-demand service or do programs have to be saved to the DVR for later viewing?
If the show is available, watch right away.

colnago is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 2605 Old 11-22-2014, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Nick_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hopper Update

Definitely like the most recent software update to Hopper. Brought icons to show which shows are available on-demand, can now see next available episode of series recorded on DVR, and best of all one-button on and off for closed captions!
ltownsend likes this.

Visiting since 2002!
Nick_WI is offline  
post #2583 of 2605 Old 12-17-2014, 04:14 PM
Member
 
lucasland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone use the winegard pathway X2. i'm really interested in this product.

If i wanted to put something in front of my dish so its not so obvious, what materials can the signal go through?
lucasland is offline  
post #2584 of 2605 Old 12-25-2014, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I upgraded from Hopper to Hopper with Sling recently & am having a problem with GUIDE. I was wondering if anyone with a Dish Hopper with Sling was experiencing this issue.

Turning the Hopper ON the GUIDE forgets the previous personal setting & will always be reset to MY CHANNELS. Once the GUIDE is set to the personal setting it often reverts back to MY CHANNELS out of no where. I figure it's a software glitch but wondered if others were experiencing this?
DERG is offline  
post #2585 of 2605 Old 05-17-2015, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
yadfgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Anyone else having issues in the last month or so with stuff being ordered that you know for a fact was not ordered?

Somehow the Mayweather Pacquino fight was ordered for my home, and I just logged into my dish network account and somehow I started getting Brazzers TV about a month ago also!

I know neither one of these was ordered in my home, so it seems as though dish network is either ripping people off or it's some sort of glitch on their end. I complained for both instances but they wouldn't give me any refunds for this crap I didn't order. Only some partial credits.
yadfgp is offline  
post #2586 of 2605 Old 05-18-2015, 04:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 6,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 455
How do you "know" no one ordered those things? Sure you don't have kids in the house ordering things that they shouldn't be ordering?
yadfgp likes this.

The Doctor... the Original, you might say!
Where I am when I'm not here!
HDMe2 is offline  
post #2587 of 2605 Old 05-18-2015, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
yadfgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMe2 View Post
How do you "know" no one ordered those things? Sure you don't have kids in the house ordering things that they shouldn't be ordering?
I live alone and my hopper box has the 4 code parental lock, and my account online is not set up to save my log in info.

One of the things that was ordered, I asked the dish network rep how it was ordered and they said it was ordered via online chat. Which is BS because I'm the only one with access to my account. I'm the only one who knows all this info.
yadfgp is offline  
post #2588 of 2605 Old 05-19-2015, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 6,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Strange... but the devil's advocate in me has to ask... if you live alone, why do you have the parental lock enabled? The whole point of that is to lock out other people in the home from doing just what you've described... and if no one else is in the home, there's not a lot of point in enabling that is there?

Not saying there aren't glitches... but these are not the usual kind of glitches I've heard of... about 95% of the time these things boil down to someone in the home (or perhaps you had a visitor) ordered something, perhaps even by accident, and just didn't admit to it.

There is the rare case of online chat being ordered and if an account number is close to yours, it could be typoed by the CSR... but those are usually easier to clear up because if you didn't order them, then you never tuned your receiver to them... and you can prove that, or rather they can pull logs from your receiver and prove you never tuned to them... in which case, they should credit you for them.
yadfgp likes this.

The Doctor... the Original, you might say!
Where I am when I'm not here!
HDMe2 is offline  
post #2589 of 2605 Old 05-19-2015, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
yadfgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMe2 View Post
Strange... but the devil's advocate in me has to ask... if you live alone, why do you have the parental lock enabled? The whole point of that is to lock out other people in the home from doing just what you've described... and if no one else is in the home, there's not a lot of point in enabling that is there?

Not saying there aren't glitches... but these are not the usual kind of glitches I've heard of... about 95% of the time these things boil down to someone in the home (or perhaps you had a visitor) ordered something, perhaps even by accident, and just didn't admit to it.

There is the rare case of online chat being ordered and if an account number is close to yours, it could be typoed by the CSR... but those are usually easier to clear up because if you didn't order them, then you never tuned your receiver to them... and you can prove that, or rather they can pull logs from your receiver and prove you never tuned to them... in which case, they should credit you for them.
I didn't used to have the parental lock on. When the fight mysteriously was ordered and I called to dish to complain about it, they recommended I have the parental lock on. So that's when I turned it on. Then as I said earlier, the Brazzers channel was ordered but it couldn't have been ordered through my TV, due to the parental lock being on. They said that was ordered through the online chat system. Which there's no way that could have happened due to me being the only knowing my account login info.

Turns out today when I got my latest bill, it was about $130.00 more than what I had expected. I looked to see what other stuff "I" ordered, and found that on May 14th, not only was the Brazzers channel ordered, but about $70.00 worth of adult movies, plus the movie Mortedecai was ordered twice also.

So since no one but me can access my account, I'd say it's safe to say Dish is ripping me off. I haven't checked in with Dish about all the other stuff that I recently found out was ordered. Whenever I tell them I didn't order anything that was ordered, they tell me there are no refunds.

Thanks for the tip on checking the logs to see that I never tuned into those channels, that alone right there should say I didn't order this stuff. I mean afterall, why order about a $100 worth of programming if you don't even bother to watch any of it?

EDIT : Well I just called dish to see if they can look up the logs of what I've viewed and she said she was unable to do so.

While I was on the phone with her I went though as much as humanly possible to ensure that no one but me can order anything at all so that should prevent this sort of thing from happening again. And if it does happen again, I'll know that dish is ripping me off.

Last edited by yadfgp; 05-19-2015 at 08:17 PM.
yadfgp is offline  
post #2590 of 2605 Old 05-20-2015, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 6,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 455
She can't be telling the truth on that front... As long as you have your receiver connected to a phone line OR an Internet connection... they are collecting logs from the receiver all the time about your viewing habits and to report PPV orders. Someone there can definitely tell whether or not you tuned to a channel on that receiver, especially a PPV one where there is an authentication process that happens under the covers between the time you tune to a channel and actually get the audio/video once the receiver knows it is ok for you to watch.
yadfgp likes this.

The Doctor... the Original, you might say!
Where I am when I'm not here!
HDMe2 is offline  
post #2591 of 2605 Old 05-20-2015, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
yadfgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Yea, when I asked her if there was some way about being able to tell if anyone actually tuned into those broadcasts, if there was some sort of log keeping track of what I had been watching, she said something to the affect of not knowing how to do that. She said she would look into and put me on hold for a minute to see, but when she got back to me she kinda brushed it off and that was the end of it.

It would seem to me that what you're saying makes sense. I might call back and press that issue further.

It's only been 6 days since the last unauthorized orders were made.

Thanks for all the help HDMe2.
yadfgp is offline  
post #2592 of 2605 Old 05-21-2015, 02:24 AM
Member
 
richeydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FresYes, CA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Go to http://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/help/dirt-help/ and see if you can get a hold of a representative(aka DIRT) to help with this issue. It doesn't seem right that you should have to pay for these if you didn't order them.
richeydog is offline  
post #2593 of 2605 Old 05-22-2015, 02:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 6,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by yadfgp View Post
Yea, when I asked her if there was some way about being able to tell if anyone actually tuned into those broadcasts, if there was some sort of log keeping track of what I had been watching, she said something to the affect of not knowing how to do that. She said she would look into and put me on hold for a minute to see, but when she got back to me she kinda brushed it off and that was the end of it.

It would seem to me that what you're saying makes sense. I might call back and press that issue further.

It's only been 6 days since the last unauthorized orders were made.

Thanks for all the help HDMe2.
You're welcome... I wish I was able to do more than just point you at the right direction. PMing with a DIRT rep might help get some more personalized assistance. I'll second that suggestion, though I'd suggest doing it at DBSTalk, of course, since I'm a member there as well.

If I was billed for something, especially $130+ of something, I didn't order, I wouldn't be as patient as it seems like you've been so far.

The Doctor... the Original, you might say!
Where I am when I'm not here!
HDMe2 is offline  
post #2594 of 2605 Old 10-06-2015, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
bawilbur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone have Dish that uses their "Snowbird Policy" for a second home? That policy allowed us to call in and have the local channels changed on the unit at the second home (otherwise we got no local channels). We sold a second home and are building another. We used a dual tuner DVR at the first house, but would like to more TV's in the new second home, but when I talked to a rep, they didn't seem to want to let me use a Hopper. We don't have a Hopper at the primary residence, but are moving and I thought perhaps we could get two, and use one at each home.
bawilbur is offline  
post #2595 of 2605 Old 10-06-2015, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Snowbird is meant to have watching at one house or the other. When you leave house #1 you carry your receiver/s to house #2 . You don't have one at each house. They want to make sure that you are not getting service at each house at the same time.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #2596 of 2605 Old 10-07-2015, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by bawilbur View Post
We used a dual tuner DVR at the first house, but would like to more TV's in the new second home,
What ARE you using now in the 2nd home? Are you taking the receiver from your 1st house there now, or using a separate one at the 2nd home...I'm confused?

Quote:
but when I talked to a rep, they didn't seem to want to let me use a Hopper.
Part of that may be because they will NOT allow you to mix legacy (non-Hopper) receivers on the same account WITH any Hoppers - EXCEPT that they WILL allow you to have up to (2) 211k receivers on the same account w/the Ho's; both of those you would have to purchase yourself, as they will not lease those in this situation. (they were meant for people who take these camping/tailgating) Perhaps that could suit your needs at the "2nd house".

Quote:
We don't have a Hopper at the primary residence, but are moving and I thought perhaps we could get two, and use one at each home.
Technically you very much could, as they WILL allow multiple Ho's on the same account (I have 3 myself) but that doesn't comply with bobby's point of the spirit of a "snowbird" account. You have to make that judgement call for yourself...
dishrich is offline  
post #2597 of 2605 Old 10-07-2015, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
bawilbur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the replies. We previously used a dual tuner DVR unit at our initial second home. For only two TVs, it was fine. We will have three at the new second property, and I'd like to have access to high definition on all TVs. I just got off the phone with another rep, and she said we could buy a second unit for our "RV."


I am contemplating this, since we are only at one place at a time, and it really is no different than if it was an RV. It doesn't seem logical to pay for two accounts, and only ever use one at a time.
bawilbur is offline  
post #2598 of 2605 Old 02-10-2016, 10:13 PM
Member
 
hakaida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a Washington Nationals fan that lives in Las Vegas and I'm wondering if the regional sports package that includes MASN will allow me to watch Nationals games. The phone staff give me the standard check the blackout list and it's confusing to me.
hakaida is offline  
post #2599 of 2605 Old 02-10-2016, 10:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakaida View Post
I'm a Washington Nationals fan that lives in Las Vegas and I'm wondering if the regional sports package that includes MASN will allow me to watch Nationals games. The phone staff give me the standard check the blackout list and it's confusing to me.

No, all pro sports are blacked out even with the sport pack. You will need the MLB Extra Innings package
osu1991 is offline  
post #2600 of 2605 Old 03-28-2016, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orange County
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 594
This Hopper 3 thing is slick! Feels light years ahead of my old Directv HR44. Much faster, way better menus, and program guide. Picture quality is great as far as I can tell so far.

LG OLED65E6 | Marantz AV8802A | Marantz MM8077 | Panasonic DMP-UB900 | PS Audio PerfectWave P3 | B&W CM9 | B&W CM5 | Dual JL Audio Fathom f112
Maingear Drift Z170 GTX 1080 HTPC | BDI Mirage 8227 | Logitech Harmony Elite | Synology DS916+ | TEAC UD-503 | Focal Solo6 Be | Vizio P50-C1
drewTT is online now  
post #2601 of 2605 Old 06-16-2016, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mds54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Groveland, CA
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Channels being shut down!

In my area, we've lost FOX Local and NFL Network due to contract disputes.
This is not acceptable. Anyone else?
mds54 is offline  
post #2602 of 2605 Old 06-17-2016, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 4,423
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by mds54 View Post
In my area, we've lost FOX Local and NFL Network due to contract disputes.
This is not acceptable. Anyone else?
My hunch says Charlie knows hardly anyone watches NFL Net in the summer so why pay for it. Save a few months of cost and then get it worked out by the season.
allargon likes this.
primetimeguy is offline  
post #2603 of 2605 Old 08-02-2016, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mds54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Groveland, CA
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
My hunch says Charlie knows hardly anyone watches NFL Net in the summer so why pay for it. Save a few months of cost and then get it worked out by the season.
You're right.....
NFL Network & Red Zone are back as of August 2nd!
primetimeguy likes this.
mds54 is offline  
post #2604 of 2605 Old 08-04-2016, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked: 206
FYI, the new flex pack is available on the website

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is offline  
post #2605 of 2605 Old 08-05-2016, 01:23 PM
Member
 
gerard143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://www.cepro.com/article/dish_of...51&bid=1489571

here is some info on the new dish pay as you go service.

also anyone who is on the fence or has recently signed up for dish I have a referral code that saves you $100! just call dish at 844-326-9628 and give them referral code EMM064698173 Pretty easy to do and saves you some coin.
gerard143 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off