Best 8 Way Active Splitter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 05-15-2008, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cytomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would first like to start off by saying that i searched the forums and the closest thing that i found was this thread....
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=757496
The device listed in the thread is now discontinued...

I am setting up a house for 8 TV's and NO Cable Internet.

I would like to know what is the best 8 Way splitter to use...

I am assuming i need some sort of Active Splitter...

I most likely do NOT need a Active Return Path splitter since i don't use Pay Per View or Cable Internet or anything like that...

I am thinking of also putting in a amplifier as well as an active splitter so if you have a recommendation on that i would appreciate it...

Thanks in Advance
Eddie
Cytomax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 05-15-2008, 01:28 PM
Member
 
RWALKER44's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm am just learning, but may know enough to help.

amplifier (+15DB)
8-way active splitter (+2DB/+4DB)
signal from the street (+5DB/+10DB)
Loss per 100FT of cable (-5DB)

you need to be concerned about overdriving your system (You want about 10db at the TV).

Check this out, EDA-UG2800 ($69). it is a 0DB active 8-way splitter (it will not gain or lower the pre-amped signal)

I dont know your requirements, but you may need a amplifier (+15db) and a passive splitter (-11db) or just a active splitter, EDA-2800 (+4db)

http://www.cabletvamps.com/drop%20amps.htm
RWALKER44 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 05-15-2008, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cytomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the reply...
I checked out the website...

I guess these are my options.....

EDA-2800
8-Port
Bi-Directional
4dB forward gain (2.5x)
54-1000 MHz (forward)
5-42 MHz (return)

EDA-FT08000
8-Port
Bi-Directional
3dB forward gain (2x)
54-1000 MHz (forward)
5-42 MHz (return)

EDA-FT08100
8-Port
Bi-Directional
3dB forward gain (2x)
0dB return path loss
54-1000 MHz (forward)
5-42 MHz (return)
Surge protection 6000v

EDA-UG2802
8-Port
0dB forward gain
54-1000 MHz (forward)
5-42 MHz (return)

My questions are....

1) if i take the cable that comes from the utility pole and plug it into one of those active splitters that give me 4 or 3 db and it turns out to be too much power for my TV then basically i have waisted my money and cant use that device...?

2) Is there a way to adjust the amount of db gain i get incase it is too much?

3) Therefore i am safer using the splitter that gives me 0 db and if i need to in the future buy an amplifier for it?

Thanks in Advance
Eddie
Cytomax is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 05-16-2008, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytomax View Post

I would first like to start off by saying that i searched the forums and the closest thing that i found was this thread....
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=757496
The device listed in the thread is now discontinued...

I am setting up a house for 8 TV's and NO Cable Internet.

I would like to know what is the best 8 Way splitter to use...

I am assuming i need some sort of Active Splitter...

I most likely do NOT need a Active Return Path splitter since i don't use Pay Per View or Cable Internet or anything like that...

I am thinking of also putting in a amplifier as well as an active splitter so if you have a recommendation on that i would appreciate it...

Thanks in Advance
Eddie

First of all, there is no such thing as an active splitter. A splitter is a passive device -- period. The device commonly called an active splitter is an amplifier and a splitter in the same housing. Whether it is an 8, 4, or 2-output, device, it is still nothing more than a 15dB gain amplifier with a 8 or 4 or 2-way splitter in the same housing. Utilizing a single output drop amp and an external splitter yields the exact same results.

Drop amps need an input signal level of ~+10dBmV or so. Assuming a 10dBmV signal level going into a regular drop amp, the 15dB of gain would give it an output of +25dBmV. To feed it into another 15dB gain drop amp would literally kill the 2nd amp.

Another good place for amps is http://www.cencom94.com/gpage4.html, right-hand column about half-way down the page is an 8-output one.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 05-16-2008, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cytomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well thank you for the response....

I guess it will be best for me to just get the EDA-UG2802 since it "supposedly" will give each TV the same quality as plugging the original cable from the pole into the TV....

This is my current setup...
I was just curious if buying the EDA-UG2802 would be better than my current setup....

http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/CableTVSetup

Original Cable from utility pole --> Radio Shack Amplifier --> Regal GS3DGH and/or Regal GS2DGH and split multiple times until you get 8 ports --> 8 TV's

What do you guys think.. should i just scrape the system and get the EDA-UG2802.... would that be better or not really..

Thanks in Advance
Eddie
Cytomax is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 05-16-2008, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytomax View Post

Well thank you for the response....

I guess it will be best for me to just get the EDA-UG2802 since it "supposedly" will give each TV the same quality as plugging the original cable from the pole into the TV....

This is my current setup...
I was just curious if buying the EDA-UG2802 would be better than my current setup....

http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/CableTVSetup

Original Cable from utility pole --> Radio Shack Amplifier --> Regal GS3DGH and/or Regal GS2DGH and split multiple times until you get 8 ports --> 8 TV's

What do you guys think.. should i just scrape the system and get the EDA-UG2802.... would that be better or not really..

Thanks in Advance
Eddie

Definitely better to replace the current setup. Those Rat Shack amps are rather noisy and the shielding leaves a lot to be desired, and all of those connections are just points of potential failure. Better to have either a high-quality amp and a good 8-way splitter (such as a PCT MA2-M and a PCT-NGNII-8S) or an 8-output amp (such as a PCT MA2-8PN or the Electroline one).

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 05-16-2008, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cytomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the informative post...

I noticed there are 2 products...

PCT MA2-8P --> Drop Amplifer, 8 Way Pass Return with Power Inserter --> This gives a 4 db gain
PCT MA2-8PN --> Drop Amplifer, 8 Way Pass Return --> What db gain does this give?

What is a Power Inserter and do i need one?

I guess it is really down between either the PCT-MA2-8P/PCT-MA2-8PN or the EDA-FT08100 because they both come with Surge Protection and they both give 3 db forward gain

EDA-FT08100
8-Port
Bi-Directional
3dB forward gain (2x)
0dB return path loss
54-1000 MHz (forward)
5-42 MHz (return)
Surge protection 6000v

Which one do you guys recommend?
Where do you guys recommend i buy it from?

Thanks in Advance
Eddie
Cytomax is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 05-16-2008, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytomax View Post

Thank you for the informative post...

I noticed there are 2 products...

PCT MA2-8P --> Drop Amplifer, 8 Way Pass Return with Power Inserter --> This gives a 4 db gain
PCT MA2-8PN --> Drop Amplifer, 8 Way Pass Return --> What db gain does this give?

What is a Power Inserter and do i need one?

I guess it is really down between either the PCT-MA2-8P/PCT-MA2-8PN or the EDA-FT08100 because they both come with Surge Protection and they both give 3 db forward gain

EDA-FT08100
8-Port
Bi-Directional
3dB forward gain (2x)
0dB return path loss
54-1000 MHz (forward)
5-42 MHz (return)
Surge protection 6000v

Which one do you guys recommend?
Where do you guys recommend i buy it from?

Thanks in Advance
Eddie

A power inserter would be for if you needed to power it remotely, such as you located it in a place where there is no power.

According to the spec sheet, the PCT one has 4dB gain.

I would go with the PCT one because it costs less (from CENCOM) and PCT is a major manufacturer of CATV stuff.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 05-16-2008, 03:08 PM
Member
 
RWALKER44's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Which one do you guys recommend?"
"Where do you guys recommend i buy it from?"

I will not answer because egnsin knows a lot more than me

"Is there a way to adjust the amount of db gain i get incase it is too much?"

Yes, they sell adjustable gain amps and signal attenuators that lower the DB. Your system sounds simple and I dont think you need these items

http://www.cabletvamps.com/accessories.htm

I dont think you need to over think your system. It sounds like you have a good signal to start so any quality amp w/ 8-way splitter or combined unit should work. One combined unit would be easy and you cant go wrong with a 4db gain on each line for that extra push. (-5DB for each 100 ft of cable)
RWALKER44 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 05-16-2008, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cytomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well thank you again...
I will be getting this
PCT 8-Output Drop Amp w/Passive Return (MA2-8PN) $50.00
from
http://www.cencom94.com/gpage4.html

Its amazing how much cheaper this is compared to the
EDA-FT08100 for $105...

Why dont they just sell the PCT in the stores... its only $50 bucks...seems like a no brainer...

Well thanks again
Eddie
Cytomax is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 05-17-2008, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
pilot20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Texas
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm using the ELECTROLINE EDA-FT08100 purchased on ebay.

I have TWC TV, Digital Phone and Internet, all channeled throught the amp. It made a huge improvement.

I highly recommend the Electroline.
pilot20 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 05-17-2008, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cytomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply but i already bought the PCT MA2-8PN...
I would of bought the FT08100 if i had a cable modem though...
Eddie
Cytomax is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 05-17-2008, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytomax View Post

Thanks for the reply but i already bought the PCT MA2-8PN...
I would of bought the FT08100 if i had a cable modem though...
Eddie

It's best to have a cable modem and/or eMTA connected prior to any amplifier. If you had a cable modem and an eMTA, the setup would be: cable comes in to an unbalanced 3-way splitter with the 7dB legs going to the cable modem and the eMTA. The hot (3.5dB) leg would go to your MA2-8PN.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 05-26-2008, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cytomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply..
I just found this Arcom double density MP-B 055 device connected in between the original cable from the cable company and my radio shack amplifier....

http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/...89616280499490
http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/...89620575466802
http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/CableTVSetup


My question is...

1) What is it and what does it do?
2) Should i use this device and put it in between my original cable from the cable company and my new PCT MA2-8P or should i throw it out...

Thanks in Advance
Eddie
Cytomax is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 05-26-2008, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytomax View Post

Thanks for the reply..
I just found this Arcom double density MP-B 055 device connected in between the original cable from the cable company and my radio shack amplifier....

http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/...89616280499490
http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/...89620575466802
http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/CableTVSetup


My question is...

1) What is it and what does it do?
2) Should i use this device and put it in between my original cable from the cable company and my new PCT MA2-8P or should i throw it out...

Thanks in Advance
Eddie

You probably should leave it in place. It's a type of trap/filter. What it's actually doing on your system would be just a guess. See this about MP positive traps.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 05-26-2008, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytomax View Post

Thanks for the reply..
I just found this Arcom double density MP-B 055 device connected in between the original cable from the cable company and my radio shack amplifier....

http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/...89616280499490
http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/...89620575466802
http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/CableTVSetup


My question is...

1) What is it and what does it do?
2) Should i use this device and put it in between my original cable from the cable company and my new PCT MA2-8P or should i throw it out...

Thanks in Advance
Eddie

It's a positive filter, left over from when your system used to use them for premium channels. That one was for channel 15. It was needed to watch whatever was on that channel. Assuming that your system no longer does positive encoding, you can leave it out. If channel 15 is unwatchable with it removed, put it back in.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 05-26-2008, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cytomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply egnlsn...
channel 15 is watchable so i guess i dont need it ....
YOU GUYS ARE AMAZING!!... the TV looks so much better in all the rooms... everybody is thanking me for it... but i let them know that i get my knowledge from the forums and great ppl in them...
btw here are pics of the before and after install....

http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/CableTVSetup

Thanks
Eddie
Cytomax is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 05-26-2008, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytomax View Post

Thanks for the reply egnlsn...
channel 15 is watchable so i guess i dont need it ....
YOU GUYS ARE AMAZING!!... the TV looks so much better in all the rooms... everybody is thanking me for it... but i let them know that i get my knowledge from the forums and great ppl in them...
btw here are pics of the before and after install....

http://picasaweb.google.com/cytomax/CableTVSetup

Thanks
Eddie

Glad everything has worked out for you. Looks much better than the "before" pictures. Glad to see that you have labeled everything, too.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off