Comcast DTA Adaptor Boxes Not Working For Me - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 157 Old 05-06-2014, 12:37 AM
Newbie
 
drd2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

You will be surprised how much noise one person can make. 

 

Are you affiliated with a cable company?  

 

Most people with a HDTV 40 inches and up have at least a 5.1 system,  After all HDTV and home theater go hand and hand.  Without the 5.1 sound the commercials are not being presented with their full impact.   No content is.  A sporting event or SYFI movies and shows action movies etc. really makes a difference in 5.1. sound.   The cable companies not providing it on their DTA  is not only cheating their customers but the broadcast networks and the people who are paying for the commercials.  Not to mention the people responsible for the programing.  Actors, musicians, producers etc.  It make a big difference.

 

When a cable company says HD DTA they are saying not only HD picture but HD 5.1 sound.  If the 5.1 sound is not there then they are given us some thing you find on the ground where the bull is kept.

 

I would really like the cable companies to stop scrambling the digital and HD channels so our TVs can receive .   Its a big waste of our digital tuners in our TVs.   It still fills the FCC's digital mandate.  

 

If the FCC really wants the cable companies to have all cable go through some kind of box the cable companies must provide a $1.99 box that gives us what we had before by providing a box that works exactly like what we had when the channels were not scrambled.

drd2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 157 Old 05-06-2014, 03:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
dread2000, I agree with your position. And I had so tried to cut the comast cord.
but instead I merely frayed the cord, and now have 5 outlets with internet hbo service for $75/month including a working HDTV-DVR via cablecard.
(outlet 2 is the free hbo/standard-def box. 3,4,5 are DTAs.)

I won't be making a complaint with the FCC, since that would be too much like complaining to a fox about how well he is guarding the henhouse.

Would cablecard plus appropriate DTV tuner/DVR solve the issue for you? i got my 2-tuner moxi back in service a couple days ago.
Would you consider paying monthly or "lifetime" for a tivo/cablecard setup?
tveli is offline  
post #153 of 157 Old 05-06-2014, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by drd2000 View Post

You will be surprised how much noise one person can make. 

You're talking about going up against an enormous conglomerate with tons of congressional influence. Comcast was once considering buying Disney, a company that easily imposes its will on copyright law. That's serious power. I'm just saying you got a tough road ahead.

We all like the story of the little guy defeating Goliath, but there's a reason that story is so revered. It's because Goliath almost always wins. Hate to be pessimistic, but I've seen lots of posts like yours over the years and they just don't get anywhere , no matter how much noise they made. And that type of grassroots movement is just not something that happens much.

Like I said, good luck.
Quote:
Are you affiliated with a cable company?  

Not at all. And I don't appreciate the assumption. Just because someone offers a dissenting viewpoint doesn't mean they work for the "enemy."
Quote:
Most people with a HDTV 40 inches and up have at least a 5.1 system, 

I would doubt that. Think of all the homes you've been in. How many surround sound systems have you seen? Be willing to bet it's not that many. Plus, most people buy TVs under 40 inches. We're biased because we're on an AV forum here, but the majority of people? This falls outside their interests. And I can't tell you how many people I've seen that do have a 5.1 system and IT ISN'T HOOKED UP RIGHT. Stereo cables, stereo sources. I tell them about true 5.1 sound and they look at me like I told them you could milk hamsters. Telling them to take up this cause would be like telling them to help me drive a hamster herd with John Wayne. It doesn't make sense to them, because they just don't know anything about this. They say, "well, it works just fine as is" and don't want to make the effort. Seriously, that's how little most seem to care.

Again, I understand your position, but you gotta keep perspective on this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tveli View Post


I won't be making a complaint with the FCC, since that would be too much like complaining to a fox about how well he is guarding the henhouse.

Yeah, that's the other issue. Not only does this fall out of the interest of most Americans, it falls out of interest of most people who could do something about it. Unless you personally know the president or the FCC chairman, it's going to be a Sisyphian struggle.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
 
post #154 of 157 Old 05-06-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1283 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
I'd pose the question...
Why can't (or doesn't) a DTA with HDMI pass DD5.1?
Ratman is online now  
post #155 of 157 Old 05-07-2014, 06:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 5,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 647
That's a good question, my guess is that they cheaped out and didn't want to pay the DD license.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #156 of 157 Old 05-07-2014, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1283 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
To me, it would seem to be easier to pass DD5.1 as opposed to going to the effort/expense to downmix/convert to PCM stereo.
Ratman is online now  
post #157 of 157 Old 05-07-2014, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

To me, it would seem to be easier to pass DD5.1 as opposed to going to the effort/expense to downmix/convert to PCM stereo.
From a discussion elsewhere, it seems there is an either/or situation with DD licenses. If they pass everything through without changing, they don't even need a license but any downmix (for legacy TVs/Receivers) kicks fees up and adds some copy protection requirements for 5.1. At least that was the impression that I got.

For example, VideoReDo can edit 5.1 streams for output but if you want to change the volume level, they have to output PCM per the DD license. The cost to add DD features would have, at least in the past, added $100 to each installation.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off