Most current TWC HD/DVR box? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 01-15-2009, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jcgso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What model Scientific Atlanta HD/DVR is the most current Time warner offers? Are there any new or about to be released. perhaps a dumb question, but will any boxes have 1080P?
jcgso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 01-15-2009, 07:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I think it's still the Scientific Atlanta 8300HD/HDC. Dunno if anything newer came out.

No box will have 1080p, as pretty much 1080i is the best you'll get from cable, satellite, or OTA. I don't even think Japan has anything better than 1080i, and they tend to get the new stuff way before North America or Europe or anywhere else.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 01-16-2009, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jcgso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have AN 8240. Is there anything worth upgrading for?
jcgso is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 01-16-2009, 12:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I dunno, maybe a few features are different.

http://www.sciatl.com/products/consu...cableboxes.htm

Doubt there's any picture quality difference at all.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 01-16-2009, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jcgso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, Like you said, a few extra features, but nothing I have to have. PQ looks to be identical.
jcgso is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 01-16-2009, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
TWC is hoping to deploy Samsung SMT-H3090 HD-DVR's to replace the current SA boxes. Those are at EOL (End of Life). I'm sure the divsions are testing these to make sure they work perfectly.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 03-23-2009, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomnan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: oh-io
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Looking to find out from other TWC customers. I talked to a Tech guy today at TWC, He said that the current DVR's hold 40 hours of HD programming. Not to doubt him but it wasn't that long ago that 20 was the estimate. Anyone know for sure, I will be buying an HDTV soon.
tomnan24 is online now  
post #8 of 22 Old 03-23-2009, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The 40 hour estimate is for the Samsung with a 320 GB HDD. A 160 GB HDD will hold about 20 hours of HD. Maybe more if they overcompress the signal. The 320 GB Samsung hasn't been deployed yet but divisions are testing them. If you can't get the Samsung then just get an HDC box.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 03-23-2009, 08:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I like the look of the Samsung DVR. I can't stand the SA boxes and their gray housings.

Yes, I am that anal.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 03-24-2009, 02:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The SMT-H3090 should do 35 hours of HD at 19 MBps when you factor in the trick play buffering.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 07-25-2009, 12:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The most current Samsung boxes are now the SMT-H3260 HD-STB and the SMT-H3270 HD-DVR. Though there are divisions that have just started deploying the 3090 DVR.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 08-01-2009, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think the 3260 is being deployed in San Diego. It's very much a non DVR version of the 3270. The 3270 I don't know when it's going to be deployed.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 08-04-2009, 08:29 PM
Member
 
rlanza1054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Astoria, NYC (Queens, NY)
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if these new Samsung SMT-H3090 boxes have the SATA port so that we can add our external hard drives as we have been doing with the Scientific Atlanta 8300HD or 8300HDC's.

Thanks!

Rob.

PS I've been trying to find a manual that shows the back of the box so I can see what ports are there, without any luck!

rlanza1054 Astoria Queens NYC

Time Warner, SA8300HDC, Mystro
Success with external Western Digital Caviar SE 16MB 500GB Model#: WD5000
rlanza1054 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 08-05-2009, 12:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The HDC's have broken eSATA. The 3090 also has broken eSATA.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 11-22-2009, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
runningmanms3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on when those new Samsungs might be released now?
runningmanms3 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 11-30-2009, 06:18 PM
Member
 
FockerCRNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey,
I was looking on here for info on the new dvr I just picked up, its the samsung smt-h3270. I didn't realize how new these were, but I can verify they are deploying them in durham, north carolina. The menu looks the same as the 8300hd dvrs and I can't really tell a difference in performance, but they certainly look better.
FockerCRNA is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 12-09-2009, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
dakotatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulpa View Post

I dunno, maybe a few features are different.

Doubt there's any picture quality difference at all.

Thanks for your helps....
dakotatt is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 10-24-2012, 03:48 AM
Newbie
 
Tandaemonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any update on this information?

I currently still have the 8300HD and I have to believe there's something better by now. I also have DirecTV at another house (work keeps me between locations) and the differences in the boxes' capabilities are night and day.
Tandaemonium is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 10-25-2012, 09:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Cisco (who bought Scientific Atlanta) has the 8600 box now. Dunno what Samsung has.

Set top boxes don't progress as much as other consumer electronics. Most people keep theirs for years at a time, especially if they've recorded videos on the DVRs, and most new features are deployed by software from the cable company. But you can stop by a local office and ask what they have.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 10-25-2012, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 259
I'm curious. What is the current rental fee for a HD DVR? And do you need one for each set?
olyteddy is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 10-26-2012, 11:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Varies from company to company (or even local offices), but it's usually around $15-$20 per box, or about twice what a regular cable box will be. Some may charge a separate service fee from the box fee.

Cable company DVRs are usually self-contained, so you usually need one per TV. But other DVRish solutions, like a HTPC with media extenders, or Moxi's older DVR with Moxi Mates (and I assume their newer home house solution) can use one central DVR to do the recording and then send the signal to other TVs. Something needs to be at each TV to pick up the signal sent from the main DVR, though.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 10-28-2012, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Thanks. I'm glad I got a HDHR Prime then. Equal to 3 HD DVRs for a purchase price of $130 (and $1.10 a month)...biggrin.gif
olyteddy is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off