Clear QAM stand-alone tuners? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-20-2009, 11:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Are there any Clear QAM stand-alone tuners? I've seen them for computers, my Phillips 3575 PVR has one, but I want one for my bedroom TV.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Just as big an idea thief as)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
olyteddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-20-2009, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Many OTA HD receiver boxes also support clear QAM, such as the LG models.
Joxer is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-20-2009, 11:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The Samsung DTB-H260F does as well. However, there wouldn't be much point in most cases in a QAM-only tuner - the ones out there generally do both ATSC and QAM. Just clear QAM isn't generally very useful, since with a few exceptions, the best you can hope for is local HD channels in clear QAM.
demonfoo is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-20-2009, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My older Samsung SIR-T451 also is ATSC and Clear QAM. In my area with QAM I receive only what is provided on the air, no digital cable channels otherwise. Best used on the air.
jdre is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-21-2009, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Stand-alone HD tuners were never priced well and a bedroom set might not justify the added cost of the full HD digital outputs that they had. An HD ATSC tuner was never much under $200. For that amount you can get a DVD recorder with QAM/ATSC tuner and HDMI upscaled output. The actual signal is downconverted to DVD format and quality because of recording requirements.

If it's an SD TV then there would be no need for anything but a downconverting tuner. (your Philips is also one)

You would have thought that all of those HD-Ready TVs from '99 - '04 would have created a market for the tuners but the prevalence of Cable and Satellite reduced the market to the point that the Electronics Manufacturers didn't want to make them.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-21-2009, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Are there any Clear QAM stand-alone tuners? I've seen them for computers, my Phillips 3575 PVR has one, but I want one for my bedroom TV.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=179095

Scroll down to "Over The Air DTV/HDTV/Cable Clear QAM"

Xbox Live:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Mii: 5207 2388 9861 4135 | Steam ID:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Origin ID: oktoberrust11

oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-27-2009, 08:41 PM
Member
 
slytrans69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Long Beach, CA with Charter, clear QAM gets basic cable, extended basic cable, both analog and digital. Therefore my PDP 5010 is happy and my HTPC with myHD 130 is happy. I get all of the sports channels as well as local and public broadcasts and the non premium movie channels..
slytrans69 is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off