QAM mapping... I don't want to use the Comcast box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 04-10-2009, 11:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a group subscription through the property management and Comcast gave every tenant a pair of QAM to analog 3 converter boxes, which they're saying "YOU HAVE TO USE IT".

The instruction says to push the analog output through the VCR, but the problem with that is that I can't record and watch different channels and I have to pre-set the Comcrap box to the channel I want to record before I can even program the DVR/VCR.

My TV is QAM compatible, so I can still watch the channels, but I can't remap anything and things show up as like RF100-002 while the Comcast box will let me see the proper familiar station name and channel # correlations.

An additional benefit of not using the Comcast box is that I can get a few local HD stations.

I have a 32" MAG TV... how do I go about NOT using the Comcast box, but to get the correct channel mapping?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 04-11-2009, 12:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1A1F1 View Post

I have a 32" MAG TV... how do I go about NOT using the Comcast box, but to get the correct channel mapping?

If Comcasts offers CableCards, you could get a TivoHD ($199 @ Sears, plus a monthly/yearly subscription or one-time $399 payment). One CableCard will map all channels correctly on that box.

If CableCards are unavailable, or you don't want one, then another option is the Moxi for $799. This box allows you to remap the channels through a web site.
post #3 of 3 Old 04-11-2009, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1A1F1 View Post