noobie question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 06-26-2009, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chromecrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I've got this TV and it only has one input and its a screw on co-ax type. Now all my game consoles use the three RCA type inputs. Is there a way to make the connection and will the govt. subsidize any adapters I may need??? Thanks in advance, John.
chromecrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 06-26-2009, 02:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
How 'bout something like this?

http://www.amazon.com/UNIV-RF-Adapte.../dp/B000IGLK8W
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 06-26-2009, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chromecrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That could work but Im kinda wanting to adapt the Yellow-red-white RCA's to co-ax somehow so I can have games and TV
chromecrow is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 06-26-2009, 03:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Ratman is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 06-26-2009, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chromecrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THATS IT!!! Thanks Ratman. Now I just need that govt coupon!!
chromecrow is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 06-26-2009, 05:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
The gov coupon has nothing whatsoever with connecting game consoles.
Ratman is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 06-27-2009, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by chromecrow View Post

Now I just need that govt coupon!!

I want one! Coupon for what, anyway?

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 06-27-2009, 08:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
I'd assume the $40 voucher for a DTV converter, which cannot be applied to the purchase of adapters/cables/modulators/etc.
Ratman is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 06-27-2009, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by chromecrow View Post

THATS IT!!! Thanks Ratman. Now I just need that govt coupon!!

Are you also trying to watch over the air TV? Then the coupon would apply to a converter box.
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 06-27-2009, 09:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
And... he will have to either manually change coax cables or purchase an A/B coax switch, which the coupons will not cover.
Ratman is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 06-27-2009, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
If you look hard enough, you can find a coupon for anything.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 06-29-2009, 09:21 AM
Vin
AVS Special Member
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by chromecrow View Post

Well, I've got this TV and it only has one input and its a screw on co-ax type. Now all my game consoles use the three RCA type inputs. Is there a way to make the connection.....

Thisswitcher/modulator will accept RCA connectors from up to 4 devices and output via coax...should work great for your application.

Vin
Vin is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 06-29-2009, 10:35 AM
 
caledonia1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cali
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you can find coupon when you search them [IMG]http://www.*****************/trafficreport/img/3721/k08t1221bbuq/gdsmile.gif[/IMG]
maybe google them..
caledonia1 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 06-29-2009, 10:53 AM
 
juda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by egnlsn View Post

I want one! Coupon for what, anyway?[IMG]http://***************/9/P/i.jpg[/IMG]

Coupon for bestbuy i guess..there are probably some lying around if you google them..probably not worth much though
juda is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 06-29-2009, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by juda View Post

Coupon for bestbuy i guess..there are probably some lying around if you google them..probably not worth much though

I haven't checked recently but Best Buy coupons for 10% or 15% off were usually found in change of address kits found in post office lobbys.

Information concerning government coupons for $40 off on Coupon Eligible Converter Boxes (CECBs) for ATSC (antenna reception) may be found here:

https://www.dtv2009.gov/

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is online now  
post #16 of 16 Old 06-29-2009, 05:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Well, the OP said gov't coupons, not Best Buy coupons, but I don't think the gov't/DTV ones cover RF modulators.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off