Verizon Fios set top box messed up the image aspect ratio on my tv - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-09-2010, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Boxing Fan 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I get back my 4:3?

After having VF installed with regular boxes, my iar changed. So now, it looks as if my screen is always zoomed in whether its just watching tv, or watching a movie on my dvd player. I called Verizon and they swore it was my tv, but it wasn't like this until after they installed their boxes. They sent me a new box, but its the same problem. None of my other tvs do this though. The tv I'm using is an RCA 27 inch Entertainment Series, XBox Ready.

anyone had any similar problems?
Boxing Fan 75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-10-2010, 05:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,409
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 281
If the problem occurs when using the DVD player, why suspect the FiOS box?

You must have inadvertantly hit a "zoom" button on your remote for the TV.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-10-2010, 09:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Yeah, a setting on the TV was hit when you changed boxes. In the act of installing it, someone changed something. The box itself isn't at fault.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-12-2010, 12:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Boxing Fan 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

If the problem occurs when using the DVD player, why suspect the FiOS box?

You must have inadvertantly hit a "zoom" button on your remote for the TV.

Because the problem was there before I even turned the dvd player on.

As it is, the dvd players iar was working fine until recently.

So, no I didn't hit zoom on the remote on my tv as I don't have the remote for the tv. The only remote I have is for theVF box and dvd player. To add, the problem didn't begin until after VF was installed.
Boxing Fan 75 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-12-2010, 12:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Boxing Fan 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulpa View Post

Yeah, a setting on the TV was hit when you changed boxes. In the act of installing it, someone changed something. The box itself isn't at fault.

There is no setting for zoom on the tv though. I've searched every menu, looked all over the tv itself, and nothing.
Boxing Fan 75 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-12-2010, 07:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,409
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Try unplugging the TV from wall power and see if a hard power cycle resets the TV.

Where's the TV's remote? I'd try to find it and look to see if there is "zoom" or "aspect" button. As a matter of fact, on my RCA TV, using the RCA's remote, the "forward" button changes the zoom/aspect.

If you program a FiOS universal remote to operate your RCA TV, many times, buttons on the remote (other than volume, channel, on/off) may activate/operate "unknown" features. The Model Codes are not always "perfect".

What is the Model # of your RCA TV?
Ratman is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off