Cable Signal Flicker - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-12-2010, 12:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
blueleo65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

First time posting.

I recently subscribed to COX cable here in Phoenix and I am having some issues with picture flicker.
My cable box was hooked up using component cable, and I had no issues. I ordered a pair of HDMI cables, one for the cable box and one for the new Denon Blu-Ray player that I recently bought. I was under the impression that HDMI would improve the picture quality.
As soon as I hooked up the HDMI cable, I started seeing the image flicker ever 20 seconds or so on my Plasma Samsung. I hooked up the Blu-Ray player with the same kind of HDMI cable and I have no problems with the Blue-Ray, only the signal coming from the cable box. I tried looking for some form of adjustment in the box, but no such luck. I haven't contacted COX since it's the beginning of the weekend. I'm hoping someone here has had the same issue and what solutions were suggested.

Thanks.

Mike
blueleo65 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-12-2010, 12:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Could try swapping the HDMI cables to see if that makes any difference. It's a long shot, but easy and free.

ARe there any stresses on the HDMI cables? Sometimes they are thick or stiff and get jammed behind the equipment. That can twist them in the sockets and affect the contacts.
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-12-2010, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It's most likely a bad HDMI port on the cable box. Try swapping cables first, and swap inputs on the tv. If that doesnt work, call and get a replacement box. I work for a cable company, and we get tons of bad cable boxes returned every day.
sitlet is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-12-2010, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
blueleo65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies.

I will contact COX on Monday.

Mike
blueleo65 is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off