Switching at will from OTA antenna signals to cable w/new HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 09-08-2010, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tomstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A splitter doesn't work, a switcher requires one to re-scan every time. LG informs that one needs two tuners to do this for my new LG-LD550 HDTV. "e-How" recommends using an old VCR as tuner. But as the OTA signal is digital and the VCR processes, & outputs, analogue how is that possible? What is the easiest & most cost-effective way to deal with this conundrum? As my OTA signal (for viewing local channels) is superior to Comcast cable's any input would be greatly appreciated. Thomas.
tomstan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 09-08-2010, 10:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
1) a TV with two tuners.
2) an external OTA or QAM tuner.
3) live with one or the other (cable vs. OTA).

Correct, a VCR is only analog and is not a preferable solution as all OTA (for the most part) is digital and many cablco's are migrating to 100% digital.

If you only watch "HD" via OTA, then rent an SD digital tuner from your cable provider and use the TV's RF input for OTA.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 09-13-2010, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tomstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. TGS
tomstan is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 09-13-2010, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does you tv support QAM? If so you can get all the channels you would through OTA.
sitlet is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 09-13-2010, 02:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Built-In TunerATSC/NTSC/Clear QAM (from the LG website).

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstan View Post

As my OTA signal (for viewing local channels) is superior to Comcast cable's

I think the OP prefers OTA vs. cable "locals".
He'll have to choose.
Ratman is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 09-13-2010, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bakersfield California
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2 HDTVs connected to both cable and an antenna. A Vizio and a Samsung. Fortunately both of them have two scan lists, one for cable and one for air. I use mechanical A/B switches from Radio Shack. Flip the switch, go into the tv's set-up menu and switch from cable to air or vice versa and it ts ready to go. I am really glad I don;t have to rescan every time I switch. Over the air I can get KCET in HD, KCET Orange, World, Coastal TV Network, and Daystar, which are not carried by Bright House. There are also a few more which I never watch.

How can we say "the digital transition is complete" when thousands of low power stations are still broadcasting in analog?
LOW POWER ANALOG NEEDS TO DIE NOW!!!
Desert Hawk is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 09-14-2010, 02:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jedi Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
If you only have SD cable and no cable box use the VCR for the cable tuner and hook it up to the TV with composite (RCA) cables. Them use the TV's tuner for your antenna.

Broadcast TV - a vital national public resource
Jedi Master is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 09-26-2010, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tomstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you all. Finally was able to do this without resorting to two tuners by using a variation of Desert Hawk's m.o. A bit tricky to achieve with my LG but eventually I did it. T.
tomstan is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off