Comcast cable directly into new TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-17-2011, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
twentw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My mother is getting a new LCD HDTV. She currently has Comcast, but does not use a cable box as the cable goes directly into her old TV. I was surprised to notice that the new TV has an RF input. Does this mean that she can still plug the cable directly into the TV and get the same channels (1-100 I think) without having a cable box?
twentw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-17-2011, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
If the new TV has a "clear QAM" tuner, the best she will get are local channels only. For channels that are "expanded basic" (or whatever they call it now), she will need a cable box. (Assuming her headend has converted to all digital. If not now... they will be.)
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-17-2011, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
twentw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

If the new TV has a "clear QAM" tuner, the best she will get are local channels only. For channels that are "expanded basic" (or whatever they call it now), she will need a cable box. (Assuming her headend has converted to all digital. If not now... they will be.)

Thanks. I did some more research, and it looks like Comcast will be ditching its analog service here in Houston in March. So she's going to have to get a cable box no matter what.
twentw is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-17-2011, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 31
If her new set is an HD set, be sure to order HDTV Service and get Comcast's HD Box.

Or, if you don't want to pay for HD service, then use their "Digital Terminal Adapter" (DTA) box, a splitter and an A/B switch, so she can watch the unencrypted local channels in HD.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-17-2011, 11:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Ratman is online now  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off