Specific Channel? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 08-16-2011, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
 
camikazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
we have tvs connected to cable line, is there a specific device that accept cable signal and output to whatever. Though when the TV turn off. and turned back on, The device will automatically put the TV on specific channel of our choice?
camikazi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 08-17-2011, 12:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Most cable boxes have a start up channel you can set and configure for your choice.
Joxer is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-18-2011, 09:11 PM - Thread Starter
 
camikazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no cable boxes, directly connected to tv.
camikazi is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 08-18-2011, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
 
camikazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
was thinking of harmony remote control. but i guess u cant really use power button to power equipment then switch to channel
camikazi is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-18-2011, 10:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Cable boxes have a "last channel" and a "specific channel" option.

I've never seen a remote with that, nor a TV that was directly hooked into cable. I don't think it exists.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-18-2011, 11:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yeah some programmable universal remotes support custom created macros that can be set to emulate several key presses plus delays - such as turn on power, delay a few seconds then send the numbers for a specific channel.
Joxer is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 08-19-2011, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So what you want to do is have the TV tune to a specific channel when it is turned on?

Why don't you just tune it there just before you turn it off, as long as you don't unplug it it will stay on that channel.
RCbridge is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 08-21-2011, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
 
camikazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCbridge View Post

So what you want to do is have the TV tune to a specific channel when it is turned on?

Why don't you just tune it there just before you turn it off, as long as you don't unplug it it will stay on that channel.


Its in a small hotel , and can't use those fancy boxes that restrict people to so much stuff. Just want it to tune to the welcome channel when turn on
camikazi is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 08-21-2011, 03:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
You'd need a programmable remote, but I don't think you'd want to risk a guest walking out with or damaging a $50-$100 remote.

They don't make TVs or standalone devices that when turned on tune to a specific channel. Cable boxes can do it.

I understand wanting to tune to a welcome channel, but I don't think you have an easy solution. Honestly, I'd just put up a placard saying "Tune to channel X for such-and-such hotel's welcome program for information on this and that!" Or just have housekeeping change the channel back before the next guest arrives. I don't think most people would care one way or another.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 08-21-2011, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
most tvs when powered for the first time after getting no power will tune to the particular channel, usually 2.

so for the hotel situation, have the welcome channel be on that channel 2 or whatever is the default powerup channel. then you can cycle power from central or whatever circuit/breaker and know the tv when next powered up will go to the welcome channel.

or housekeeping staff could turn a switch or unplug and replug to ensure welcome channel on next powerup.
tveli is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 08-21-2011, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:


most tvs when powered for the first time after getting no power will tune to the particular channel, usually 2.

None that I've ever had. Hotel Motel TVs usually have special firmware to accomplish that (some examples: http://www.samsung.com/global/experi...es2009_01.html & http://hdsupplysolutions.com/shop/ca...evisions-18529)
olyteddy is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off