Specific Channel? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV > Specific Channel?

Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

camikazi's Avatar camikazi
09:29 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 11
08-16-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2011
we have tvs connected to cable line, is there a specific device that accept cable signal and output to whatever. Though when the TV turn off. and turned back on, The device will automatically put the TV on specific channel of our choice?
Joxer's Avatar Joxer
01:04 AM Liked: 19
post #2 of 11
08-17-2011 | Posts: 5,212
Joined: Feb 2004
Most cable boxes have a start up channel you can set and configure for your choice.
camikazi's Avatar camikazi
10:11 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 11
08-18-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2011
no cable boxes, directly connected to tv.
camikazi's Avatar camikazi
10:12 PM Liked: 10
post #4 of 11
08-18-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2011
was thinking of harmony remote control. but i guess u cant really use power button to power equipment then switch to channel
Tulpa's Avatar Tulpa
11:33 PM Liked: 59
post #5 of 11
08-18-2011 | Posts: 10,026
Joined: Jan 2007
Cable boxes have a "last channel" and a "specific channel" option.

I've never seen a remote with that, nor a TV that was directly hooked into cable. I don't think it exists.
Joxer's Avatar Joxer
12:30 AM Liked: 19
post #6 of 11
08-19-2011 | Posts: 5,212
Joined: Feb 2004
Yeah some programmable universal remotes support custom created macros that can be set to emulate several key presses plus delays - such as turn on power, delay a few seconds then send the numbers for a specific channel.
RCbridge's Avatar RCbridge
05:52 AM Liked: 14
post #7 of 11
08-19-2011 | Posts: 1,904
Joined: Jul 2002
So what you want to do is have the TV tune to a specific channel when it is turned on?

Why don't you just tune it there just before you turn it off, as long as you don't unplug it it will stay on that channel.
camikazi's Avatar camikazi
01:31 PM Liked: 10
post #8 of 11
08-21-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCbridge View Post

So what you want to do is have the TV tune to a specific channel when it is turned on?

Why don't you just tune it there just before you turn it off, as long as you don't unplug it it will stay on that channel.


Its in a small hotel , and can't use those fancy boxes that restrict people to so much stuff. Just want it to tune to the welcome channel when turn on
Tulpa's Avatar Tulpa
04:00 PM Liked: 59
post #9 of 11
08-21-2011 | Posts: 10,026
Joined: Jan 2007
You'd need a programmable remote, but I don't think you'd want to risk a guest walking out with or damaging a $50-$100 remote.

They don't make TVs or standalone devices that when turned on tune to a specific channel. Cable boxes can do it.

I understand wanting to tune to a welcome channel, but I don't think you have an easy solution. Honestly, I'd just put up a placard saying "Tune to channel X for such-and-such hotel's welcome program for information on this and that!" Or just have housekeeping change the channel back before the next guest arrives. I don't think most people would care one way or another.
tveli's Avatar tveli
04:19 PM Liked: 17
post #10 of 11
08-21-2011 | Posts: 561
Joined: Dec 2001
most tvs when powered for the first time after getting no power will tune to the particular channel, usually 2.

so for the hotel situation, have the welcome channel be on that channel 2 or whatever is the default powerup channel. then you can cycle power from central or whatever circuit/breaker and know the tv when next powered up will go to the welcome channel.

or housekeeping staff could turn a switch or unplug and replug to ensure welcome channel on next powerup.
olyteddy's Avatar olyteddy
09:04 PM Liked: 263
post #11 of 11
08-21-2011 | Posts: 3,509
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:


most tvs when powered for the first time after getting no power will tune to the particular channel, usually 2.

None that I've ever had. Hotel Motel TVs usually have special firmware to accomplish that (some examples: http://www.samsung.com/global/experi...es2009_01.html & http://hdsupplysolutions.com/shop/ca...evisions-18529)
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3