Television Flickering - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-07-2011, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
engineersighted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I'm new to the forum and I have a question. I have a 42" Sharp Aquos connected to Comcast cable, Xbox, PC, Sony Blu-Ray all via HDMI cables through a Denon AVR-3311. I am seeing an irregular occasional flicker only from the cable, and there is no particular relationship with SD or HD. I can backup the DVR and view the missed video. I used to have Dish Network and an Onkyo TX-SR606 and observed the same thing; I replaced the receiver thinking it was the culprit. The Denon does better, but it's still a major distraction. Is that just the cost of doing business with a tv source or is there something I can do about it?
Thanks everyone.
engineersighted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-07-2011, 03:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Connect directly to the TV (bypass the receiver). If problem persists, at least you've eliminated the receiver.
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-07-2011, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
IrishJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How old is the Sharp? Some of the older HDMI models have handshaking issues of the HDMI connection.
IrishJack is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-08-2011, 02:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
engineersighted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The tv handles all of the other connections fine, incuding BluRay. It's only 4 years old. I think that the culprit is the cable box (it's an Xfinity Cisco RNG200N), which, after doing some further research, looks to have other people reporting this problem.

Unfortunately, I spent money upgrading my receiver that I probably didn't need to spend, but I go a pretty good deal on it, so I can only be so unhappy. I'll call Comcast and see how they handle it and hopefully this will go away.

Thanks for your help.
engineersighted is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off