50 ft of HDMI Cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
roberto188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I currently live in an apartment but am building a house right now. I have an Optoma HD20 projector and I LOVE IT. I bought a 50ft HDMI cable to run from my PC to the projector because when i move into my new house I am having the cable run in the walls. The only problem is that the 50ft cable shows snow on black screens. Not green lines or specles, but snow, like on an old school TV. I have used a shorter cable, without this problem. I have read that the longest HDMI cable certified to pass 1080p resolution is 45ft. My question is, what is the PROPER and most reliable way for me to send about 40-50ft of 1080p signal? Do I need to use a signal repeater? I am having this installed IN WALL so it HAS TO WORK!
roberto188 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
There is a lot about this in the HDMI forum.

1080p60 at 50' seems to be quite doable at 50'. But HDMI performance depends on the cable, the bit rate, all the electronics involved, and the environment.

What cable do you have? What color depth are you running (are you using Deep Color)?
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
roberto188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 26 gauge 50 ft bluerigger HDMI cable. I am outputing from my ATI HD 3450 graphics card. I am outputting 1920 x 1080 at 32 bit color depth at 60hz. I am playing all my bluerays. All are 23.97 fps (not sure on the bitrate, but I'd like to be able to play the highest possible). Again, I just want to know what is the best, most reliable way for me to run 50 ft of HDMI cable without signal loss or interference. I am willing to buy new cables.
roberto188 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 01:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 235
50' HDMI at any gauge is "pushing it". If you want to run in-wall HDMI cable(s), you better consider using repeaters.

If you want to take your chances, I'd suggest 22AWG and keep your fingers crossed.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
Ratman is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
roberto188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's my question: what kind of repeaters? Where do I put em, at the begining of the cable, middle, or end?
roberto188 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberto188 View Post

Again, I just want to know what is the best, most reliable way for me to run 50 ft of HDMI cable without signal loss or interference.

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/dproduct.jsp?prod_id=8961 There are other less expensive options that will probably work, but you asked for the "best, most reliable way."

FWIW if you are running deep color at 1080p60, a passive HDMI cable is not likely to do it at 50'. Have you tried turning off deep color? 26 AWG cable is probably not going to cut it either, even at 24 bits. Most folks use 24-22AWG cables for that length. BTW 32 bit deep color doesn't make any sense because 32 is not divisible by three. Did you mean 30 or 36?
Colm is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
roberto188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Colm,
This is being run from PC. The ATI HD 3450 has two modes, 16bit and 32 bit. So yes...I meant 32bit.
roberto188 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
roberto188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I say the best most reliable way, I mean something that won't cost as much as my projector! Haha thanks for the help guys!
roberto188 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberto188 View Post

When I say the best most reliable way, I mean something that won't cost as much as my projector!

Well...you should have said so, then!

If you don't run deep color, then the BJC Series 1 cable recommended above is likely to work. If you have to run deep color, then you need an active high speed cable or an active HDMI extender that uses some medium such as Cat 5/5e/6 cable, coax or fiber. There is a wide range of prices and performance. Nobody can tell you ahead of time what will work for you. But all the information you could want is available in the HDMI forum.

BTW do anything else, try hooking up to the projector with a short cable and see if the problem is still there. If it is, then it isn't the cable.
Colm is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-11-2011, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberto188 View Post

...I meant 32bit.

Different bits. Standard HDMI color depth is 24 bit. Deep color is 30, 36, or 48. Which is being output on the DVI/HDMI port?
Colm is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 09-12-2011, 05:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberto188 View Post
When I say the best most reliable way, I mean something that won't cost as much as my projector! Haha thanks for the help guys!
Reviews look good:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberto188 View Post
That's my question: what kind of repeaters? Where do I put em, at the begining of the cable, middle, or end?
Question: How do you connect these equalizers?
Answer: The equalizers should be connected on the end of a long run and not the beginning. This way they can compensate for errors that develope as the signal travels through the cable. One side of the equalizer is labeled, "source" and the other side is labeled, "sink." The source should point toward the origin of the signal and the sink should point toward your display.
Ratman is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 09-12-2011, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
roberto188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post
Different bits. Standard HDMI color depth is 24 bit. Deep color is 30, 36, or 48. Which is being output on the DVI/HDMI port?
My understanding is that on a PC 32-bit implementation is 8-bits per color with another 8-bits allocated for the alpha channel (which I believe is NOT passed via HDMI) So...to answer your question, my color depth is 24bit.
roberto188 is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off