TV suddenly only getting 5 fuzzy channels - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-15-2011, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
blackrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a 46 inch Magnavox LCD HDTV a little over a month ago. I tried it out when I first bought it and it was fantastic. It picked up plenty of analog and digital channels when I scanned for cable channels. It was just plugged into a regular coax cable (no HDTV box). My Service Provider is WOW Cable.

And so here we are a month later. I just mounted the TV in its future home in my basement and to my surprise, when I scanned for the cable channels again, it only picks up 5 channels (sometimes 7), and they are all fuzzy or have "snow". At first, I thought it might be the cable line. But then I hooked up my small Westy to that same cable line and it was perfect.

I tried the Magnovox on a different cable line, and still the same problem. Then, I hooked up WOW Cable's digital adapter (even though it shouldn't need it and did not need it a month ago), and while I was now getting digital cable, all of the digital cable channels were still fuzzy ("snow")

Is this a problem with the cable tuner? is it complicated to fix? The TV is under warranty. Repair man is coming to see it tomorrow. Just curious what some of the experts on this forum think so I can compare to what the repair man says tomorrow.
blackrain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-15-2011, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:


Just curious what some of the experts on this forum think so I can compare to what the repair man says tomorrow.

The only thing the repairman can say that matters is 'it's fixed'.
olyteddy is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-17-2011, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Is the TV set up for Cable mode, or for antenna mode?

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off