Time Warner Samsung box with remote extender - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 10-16-2011, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PzNuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the latest STB from TWC (Samsung SMT-H3362, non-DVR) and I was hoping to hide the unit behind my TV that will be hung on the wall. There is no IR port on the back like I hoped, just the USB and 1394 jacks. Is there anything I can get to easily hide this thing and still control it w/o issues?
PzNuts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-18-2011, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
IR Extender
sitlet is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-19-2011, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PzNuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IR extender into where? The only ports available are 1394, USB, and LAN.
PzNuts is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 10-19-2011, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
IR extender that you tape to the front of the box in front of the IR port itself.
sitlet is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-06-2012, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
radunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

IR extender that you tape to the front of the box in front of the IR port itself.
I too have the smt h3362 box with an IR extender... where is the IR bulb so I can tape the extender to the front of this box? Thanks
radunn is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-25-2012, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
clatrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having difficulty getting my new Samsung smt h3362 to respond to my ir extender, which has hitherto worked perfectly with a Harmony 650. It responds to the Harmony without the extender (i.e., when the cabinet doors are open), but somehow cannot read what the extender is putting out despite moving it to different locations. Tivo, receiver, Blu Ray all have no trouble reading the extender. Any suggestions? It's a NextGen extender by the way.
clatrell is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-27-2013, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
juryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know where I can get a user guide or technical guide for this box. I just picked mine up from TW and see that it can do more than just give me HD channels. TW wont give out the tech guides btw.
juryman is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-30-2013, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryman View Post

Does anyone know where I can get a user guide or technical guide for this box. I just picked mine up from TW and see that it can do more than just give me HD channels. TW wont give out the tech guides btw.

Even if you were to find the guide, the box is most likely locked to TW specifications.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off