best way to receive TV via coax? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 12-07-2011, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
genjix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I currently receive tv signal via coax cable directly to my TV, however I just go an AVR and wondering whats the best way to get sound through my AVR. Since the coax is going to my tv audio goes through my TV, but everything else goes through my receiver. thanks for any input.
genjix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 12-07-2011, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Does your TV have any sort of audio outputs?

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 12-07-2011, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
genjix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its an lg 55lw5600, here are the connectivity specs. Right now I have one HDMI connected from receiver to tv, and all my other stuff HDMI into the reciver.

Connectivity

* Input/Output connections 1 x VGA input (15 pin HD D-Sub (HD-15)) - Rear,
1 x Serial - Rear,
4 x HDMI input (19 pin HDMI Type A) - Side,
2 x Composite video/audio input (RCA phono x 3) - Rear,
1 x Headphones (Mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm) - Rear,
1 x Audio line-in (Mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm) - Rear,
1 x Digital audio output (optical) (TOSLINK) - Rear,
2 x USB 2.0 (4 pin USB Type A) - Side,
2 x Component video input (RCA phono x 3) - Rear,
1 x Network (RJ-45) - Rear,
1 x Audio line-in (RCA phono x 2) - Rear
genjix is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 12-07-2011, 10:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,282
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Run an optical from the TV to the receiver.
"1 x Digital audio output (optical) (TOSLINK) - Rear"

No need to pay big bucks for a Toslink cable. Check here:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10229
Ratman is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 12-08-2011, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You have two choices, keep the coax to the tv and run an optical cable to the receiver. Or get an HD cable box, and run the hdmi out to the receiver, then to the tv. That way you can use your receiver to switch everything and keep the tv on one input all the time.
sitlet is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 12-09-2011, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
genjix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

You have two choices, keep the coax to the tv and run an optical cable to the receiver. Or get an HD cable box, and run the hdmi out to the receiver, then to the tv. That way you can use your receiver to switch everything and keep the tv on one input all the time.

would the HD cable box for TV channels work even though I dont have cable service? can I purchase any model or does it have to be a certain brand/model?
genjix is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 12-09-2011, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:


would the HD cable box for TV channels work even though I dont have cable service?

If you don't have cable service, how are you getting channels? Is it OTA?
sitlet is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 12-09-2011, 09:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by genjix View Post

would the HD cable box for TV channels work even though I dont have cable service? can I purchase any model or does it have to be a certain brand/model?

You generally can't buy a cable box (in the US) and expect it to work. They have to be leased from the cable co.

But yeah, if you don't have cable service, how are you getting TV? Because that will answer how you can get audio.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 12-09-2011, 09:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Zenyatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you AVS Forum members read the #1 link he is getting cable/TV channels service via a hot "coaxial" cable. It doesn't matter if it is OTA or cable. The point he is getting ONLY one signal. The chances are that he is getting that signal from a splitter or a router. In this scenario the ONLY audio option routing to his AVR is through an optical cable from TV>AVR. BTW I don't mean to be redundant.
The monoprice infatuation is endemic in this forum, sheesh...

Home Theater Aficionado
Zenyatto is online now  
post #10 of 19 Old 12-10-2011, 05:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,282
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:


The monoprice infatuation is endemic in this forum, sheesh...

Why is that a problem? Sheesh...

To the OP:

I see that your TV supports ARC (audio return channel). Does you audio receiver support ARC also? If so, all you have to do is enable the feature on both devices.
Ratman is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 12-10-2011, 10:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenyatto View Post

The monoprice infatuation is endemic in this forum, sheesh...

fwiw, usage is incorrect... in two ways...

correct usage would be "endemic to this forum"...

and it is in no way endemic to this forum, as the recommendation to shop at monoprice is seen at many different forums...

jus' sayin'...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 12-11-2011, 12:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Zenyatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
[quote=Ratman;21327609]Why is that a problem? Sheesh... :rolleyes
You like tomato, I say "tohmahtoh", DUH?

Home Theater Aficionado
Zenyatto is online now  
post #13 of 19 Old 12-11-2011, 12:07 PM
Member
 
goingjag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
zeny, I will admit to not knowing about monoprice until I saw it here. The reason I'm back is to post the fact that what was recommended there is no longer stocked, but they have a very good replacement. The reality is that now that I have found them I will tend to look there first. Their prices are very good (beat eBay and Amazon for a crimp tool and a few other things I looked at).

Now if I can just find the right thread to post my compression tool recommendation.
goingjag is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 12-19-2011, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:


You like tomato, I say "tohmahtoh", DUH?

A watched pot never boils, DUH?
SAM64 is online now  
post #15 of 19 Old 06-21-2012, 08:23 AM
Member
 
beerhunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I subscribe to digital cable service ( NO CABLE BOX ) from TimeWarner...is my only option to get sound to my AVR (Pioneer VSX-1122) is via an optical (TOSLINK) cable? I wish it were possible to directly connect the F coax cable to the AVR! AVR is connected via HDMI to the HDTV ( Samsung 55UNC6400RFXZA ). This TV has ARC, Samsung calls it ANYNET+(HDMI-CEC)...I've enabled this on the TV and AVR...thanks anyone?
beerhunt is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 06-21-2012, 10:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,282
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerhunt View Post

I subscribe to digital cable service ( NO CABLE BOX ) from TimeWarner...is my only option to get sound to my AVR (Pioneer VSX-1122) is via an optical (TOSLINK) cable?
Yes (but!, see my final statement).... or you could use analog audio outputs (red/white) if your TV has them, but you will not get Dolby Digital. Optical would be the preferred option.
Quote:
I wish it were possible to directly connect the F coax cable to the AVR! AVR is connected via HDMI to the HDTV ( Samsung 55UNC6400RFXZA ).
That is not possible.
Quote:
This TV has ARC, Samsung calls it ANYNET+(HDMI-CEC)...I've enabled this on the TV and AVR...thanks anyone?
As long as both the TV and AVR support ARC, that will work and is the best option. You've enabled it, so how does it sound? smile.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 06-21-2012, 12:44 PM
Member
 
beerhunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Ratman, I'm out of luck because after searching on the Samsung website my TV (Samsung series 6) does NOT support ARC therefore I'll have to buy/connect with an optical cable! In 2010 the series 7 & 8 both support ARC! I appreciate your fast response and concerns !
beerhunt is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 06-21-2012, 12:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,282
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
This TV has ARC, Samsung calls it ANYNET+(HDMI-CEC)...I've enabled this on the TV and AVR

.
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerhunt View Post

Hey Ratman, I'm out of luck because after searching on the Samsung website my TV (Samsung series 6) does NOT support ARC

Initially, you said you enabled it on the TV. rolleyes.gif
Precise info will get you precise recommendations. wink.gif
Quote:
...therefore I'll have to buy/connect with an optical cable!
Yup.
Ratman is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 06-21-2012, 01:07 PM
Member
 
beerhunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
....yup ! you certainly are correct! ...flog me! Once again thanks !
beerhunt is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off