Looking for a converter please help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-15-2012, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nafizur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

So I am faced with an issue which is stopping me from watching cable tv. So I have cable Internet at home, and when I plug the cable behind my tv (without any receiver or cable box) I get all the analog channels. I bought the ps3 3d tv, and it does not have the input to connect the cable tv wire. It only has 2 hdmi and a component input. I need a converter or something where I can plugin the cable tv wire and get an output to hdmi or component, which I can plug into the PS3 3D tv. If anyone please help me resolve this issue, I'd be grateful. Please not I am not interested in calling my cable service to get a receiver because I am not paying for cable tv subscription. The channels automatically comes because I have cable Internet.
Nafizur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-15-2012, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
nafi, weird that sony could call it a TV since it does evidently lack the tuner ! it's a 3d-monitor apparently, not a 3dTV.
In any case, to solve/answer the problem as well as increase functionality I suggest you take a look at Moxi 3-tuner DVR or the newest channelmaster DVR. (not the 7000/antenna-only - the newer one which supports both cable and antenna.)
tveli is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-15-2012, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nafizur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
Thanks for your reply. The turner looks great; however, I'm not looking for something that expensive or loaded with much feature. I'm trying to spend as little money possible to get just a basic tuner with an output option of hdmi or component. $799 is too much. I don't need anyyy extra functionality or such. Just a basic tuner.
Nafizur is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-15-2012, 03:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nafizur View Post

I don't need anyyy extra functionality or such. Just a basic tuner.

They don't really make them anymore, at least not in analog form.

You can use a DVD recorder. They have analog tuners and HDMI/component out. Just don't use the DVD function.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-15-2012, 03:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132


One of the least expensive tuner options is the Magnavox MDR515 HDD/DVD recorder, $199 refurb'd from excellent source, J&R.

J&R usually also has the MDR513 at $169 but out of stock at current time. They'll prob. get another batch if you can wait. Here's the link to those which you can check every so often.

wajo is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-16-2012, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You can purchase a device with a tuner but you won't get any HD.
I don't know who your cable company is so those channels that you are seeing today could suddenly go away without any warning if your cable-co goes all digital.
So I would invest as little as possible!!
RCbridge is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-16-2012, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
seatacboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nafizur View Post

Please not I am not interested in calling my cable service to get a receiver because I am not paying for cable tv subscription. The channels automatically comes because I have cable Internet.

Don't count on receiving those extra channels indefinitely. Cable operators do sometimes audit individual accounts, and could send out a tech to install a filter on your line to block access to some (if not all) of the TV frequencies.
seatacboy is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-17-2012, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
If your set does not have a built-in tuner capable of QAM tuning, you'll need to buy some sort of full-blown stand-alone HD tuner.
Even so, the only channels sent in (un-encrypted) Clear QAM are usually local channels, a very few public-interest channels, and a few shopping channels. You won't get the usual "Cable" networks.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-18-2012, 03:07 PM
Member
 
jcs444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kworld makes a couple of tuner boxes that have an atsc/qam tuner and also output in hi-def. The KW-SA290-Q LE outputs through component cables and costs around $70, and the KW-SA295-Q DE outputs through an hdmi cable and costs around $100. You can find them on amazon or ebay. With the qam tuner you can get any unencrypted digital channels that your cable company puts out. Usually these channels will be the local broadcast channels and the community access channels only.
jcs444 is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off