Cable box changing channels on its own - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-17-2012, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I have a digital Motorola STB (forgot the model right now, maybe 5200 or 5400, but its not HD) from TWC LA. On occasion, there will be a message displayed on screen to press OK/Select to continue viewing the current channel. If I don't click OK/Select with the remote, then the channel reverts to the one prior to the current. You can see what a hassle this is if I'm recording to a PVR and am not present at the time. A TWC cable tech is sending someone to look at the connection/coax/signal which seems reasonable to me. Any idea what causes this or how to avert the in-house visitation? Also, there are 3 boxes in my house, two of which the tech said are receiving low signals. All three TVs to the boxes have coax splitters as each has a PVR.

Arvy
Arvy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-17-2012, 10:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
It sounds like the box is activating a channel reminder feature, as if you set a reminder to switch to the previous channel. Usually it's so you can set the box to switch to a future program just before it starts airing.

But if you didn't set it, sounds like the box has a glitch that is causing it to do it on its own. I'd see if you can't swap the box out.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-18-2012, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I don't use the reminder much, if at all, on that particular TV/STB and think it's more related to the signal strength OR the PVR attached to it. The tech is visiting tomorrow so maybe hopefully possibly perhaps it will be fixed. I surely will ask for a box exchange although it's doubtful the tech can replicate any instance. It happens only occassionally and I haven't tracked what time or channels are affected most.

Arvy
Arvy is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-19-2012, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Well, fyi for everyone (and I knew it but didn't know it)... TWC put switched digital into place for a number of digital channels a couple months agio. That coincided with when my problems started, too. So, there's no signal problem, no cable box problem, just a jumble of digital channels that decide to switch to other programming at will depending on some mad scientists' algorithms and the moon phases. The tech suggested I live with it, there's nothing he can do, or change providers.

Arvy
Arvy is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-25-2012, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes If that is the attitude I would change providers if possible!!
RCbridge is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-03-2012, 11:34 AM
Member
 
TheJERK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Are you seeing this more often in peak demand times? Like when most people get home after work?
TheJERK is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-03-2012, 10:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJERK View Post

Are you seeing this more often in peak demand times? Like when most people get home after work?

I didn't really notice and should have looked. These were all instances of recorded shows on a DVR mostly with TCM, HLMK, FMC, and some ENC channels. I also didn't ask if these channels are switched digital either. The occurances have subsides and alomst dropped completely I think because of how the shows were being recorded. There were times I would schedule several movies in a row and invariably one or two would change channels near the end. I'm trying to leave a space in time between recordings now. It's just a hunch on my part, though.

Arvy
Arvy is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off