wireless cable TV - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-18-2012, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
guilio_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven'e seen a post since 2007 on this, but wanted to see if there is any new products for transmitting cable signals to room with no cable outlet? I want to have a transmitter in my basement where I have my version fios box at, then transmit the signal upstairs. Are there any new products that have better transmission for this type of application?
guilio_2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-18-2012, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 39
The only thing that can be sent wirelessly is baseband audio/video.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-19-2012, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No way to do the HD but they still make the devices that send modulated signals (one at a time). You must tune the device in the room that it resides in.
RCbridge is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-19-2012, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by egnlsn View Post

The only thing that can be sent wirelessly is baseband audio/video.

Meaning u can only view 1 channel at a time and the tuner won't be next to the TV meaning u have to rig some sort of IR extender and.... if that makes u happy so u don't have to lay a RG6.
MrBobb is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-21-2012, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,758
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Look into building an HTPC and use a CableCard tuner. Verizon charges $4/month to rent a cableCard and it is capable of decrypting 6 streams at once. You can distribute the decrypted HD TV signal over home network.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off