Summer service Time Warner - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-17-2012, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kmurp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a lake home that had Time Warner service last year. It was cheaper to turn off the service and return equipment than it was to use their "seasonal" ripoff rate. I went in today to re-establish service. It was then that I learned that it requires a truck to come out to re-establish service at the pole.
What I don't understand is why the company has to re-enter the home. This is inconvenient for me as I don't live up there. Can anyone explain to me why the company needs to do this as I'm already wired?
kmurp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-17-2012, 05:46 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
As you know, they do not need to. Al they are doing, is really speculating that the homeowner undid or cut cables, so the CSR believes by what their script states, that they must have a technician do what the consumer can check on their own. Insist on a "Self-Install" option. That is, you pick up the box, hook it up and activate it. if it does not work then, then they can roll a truck if something happened to the drop since last time service was hooked up.
gregzoll is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-17-2012, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kmurp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will try what you suggest.
kmurp is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-17-2012, 07:03 PM
Newbie
 
Bump123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure which area of Time Warner Cable offers self-install on a new account. This is different from Comcast, which does have this service. In the east region, a tech roll is always required, it's not part of the CSR script. Sometimes a caretaker can be there when the tech comes, but the service is not activated from the office. The customer has totally disconnected rather than having a seasonal hold. Usually this means the pole has been tapped.
Bump123 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-17-2012, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:


Usually this means the pole has been tapped.

?trapped? They usually just disconnect at a pole, don't they?
olyteddy is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-18-2012, 05:00 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Sometimes, or they place a trap at the pole. Still if all they have to do is remove the trap, there is no need for the truck to roll to install the box, if the place had service before, and the end user is competent enough to hook it up themself and know how to troubleshoot if it does not work.
gregzoll is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-18-2012, 07:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,302
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Either way, they will have to be at the location to provide service from the pole/ped. With that in mind, it's better for them to visit once and verify proper operation in one truck roll.
Ratman is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-18-2012, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
Bump123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, sorry, was typing fast. There is a truck roll fee to open a new account regardless if op has a box installed, and an authorized adult over the age of 18 is required to be present. Sometimes there are outages during the winter, and customers who chose the seasonal hold option instead, (perhaps keeping a phone number), often have problems with the service restoration.

Even though customer previously had service, it is a brand new account, new account number, equipment deposit, install fees.
Bump123 is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off