Cable Splitter, Cable Line or Modem - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV > Cable Splitter, Cable Line or Modem

Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

sportsdude7's Avatar sportsdude7
07:25 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 5
05-16-2012 | Posts: 16
Joined: May 2011
Hello,

My cable internet connection keeps going down about once a week. When it's down, I'm able to get it going again just by unplugging the internet cable (Coax) from the splitter but not from the modem. The splitter is a 4-way Monster splitter that I've had for a 2 years. The modem I'm had for 1 year. I have another splitter between the monster splitter and the modem due to lack of cable length. No way around that because the cable is in the wall and plastered around it, so I can replace it with a longer wire.

Does anyone know what the problem could be?
sitlet's Avatar sitlet
09:43 AM Liked: 19
post #2 of 5
05-17-2012 | Posts: 1,591
Joined: Jun 2007
You need to call your cable company. They can walk you through getting into the diagnostic menus of the cable modem and checking it's signal strength. We really can't say what the problem is, it could be a bad modem, it could be a bad signal. I will say, having two splitters before the modem probably isnt the best idea, however in many situations it will work just fine.
egnlsn's Avatar egnlsn
11:25 AM Liked: 31
post #3 of 5
05-17-2012 | Posts: 2,238
Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportsdude7 View Post

Hello,

My cable internet connection keeps going down about once a week. When it's down, I'm able to get it going again just by unplugging the internet cable (Coax) from the splitter but not from the modem. The splitter is a 4-way Monster splitter that I've had for a 2 years. The modem I'm had for 1 year. I have another splitter between the monster splitter and the modem due to lack of cable length. No way around that because the cable is in the wall and plastered around it, so I can replace it with a longer wire.

Does anyone know what the problem could be?

The possibilities are many. Having the cable modem after ~11dB of signal loss certainly doesn't help any.

In your browser, type in http://192.168.100.1. That should get you into the cable modem. Look for signal or something like that. In there, you can see what your signal levels are. You may simply need to connect your cable modem using a DC-6 or DC-9 prior to the 4-way splitter (which is how it should be done anyway). It would also be really helpful if you could get rid of that Monster splitter.
olyteddy's Avatar olyteddy
06:28 PM Liked: 259
post #4 of 5
05-18-2012 | Posts: 3,494
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:


I have another splitter between the monster splitter and the modem due to lack of cable length. No way around that because the cable is in the wall and plastered around it, so I can replace it with a longer wire.

If you're using a splitter instead of an F-81 (barrel) connector simply to join two pieces of cable you may need the help of an onsite technician to get your problem straightened out. Give your cable provider a call and they will send a technician.
lsturbointeg's Avatar lsturbointeg
01:22 PM Liked: 12
post #5 of 5
05-29-2012 | Posts: 296
Joined: Sep 2007
it's the monster splitter. if that's the first thing i saw as a service technician i would just make another cable, barrel it at the wall and straight to the modem.
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3