Cable problems after a storm - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2012, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blu87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The area I live in got a fairly nasty thunderstorm last night and since then I've been having problems with my cable TV. I'm trying to determine what the problem is because I can't meet with a repair guy until Thursday.

I'm having pixelation/freezing problems on two TVs. One is a bit worse than the other. The third TV isn't even getting a picture. It just has a message that states the channel will be available shortly. The guide works fine. I tried unplugging the STB, but that didn't help at all.

I used the diagnostic screens to check the signal and all three TVs are getting approximately the same signals, which aren't all that good. But the TV that's getting the best picture shows

Can anyone figure out what's going on based on the info I provided? I assume this problem is related to the storm as everything was fine before it. But something must have happened somewhere. It seems like the neighbors would be complaining too though and Comcast would send someone out to check at the pole.
blu87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2012, 12:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Could be various issues. I'd say be patient and wait for Thursday.
Ratman is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blu87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But knowing Comcast, they won't show up until next Monday.
blu87 is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Then Monday it is...
Ratman is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
gring40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Same here last week after local storms; the TV screen said the channel would be available shortly, and also gave an error code. Comcast CS rep tried to jog the STB, and after 30 min or so it was OK.

One other neighbor had this as well, but another did not, and CS said it takes 3 complaints to trigger an automatic outage response. In my case, the TV was mostly out, but not all channels, and the Internet was ok.

I cancelled the service call after the TV started working again.
gring40 is offline  
Old 07-11-2012, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Could be many things, but the low signal strength is your problem. Could be a node out in the area, thus lowering your signal as others in the area are hogging off another node. Or it could just be as simple as a connection at a pole became loose.
sitlet is offline  
Old 07-11-2012, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

Could be many things, but the low signal strength is your problem. Could be a node out in the area, thus lowering your signal as others in the area are hogging off another node. Or it could just be as simple as a connection at a pole became loose.
That's just a bit nonsensical. Nodes just don't suck the juice out of other nodes. I'd believe a sucked out connector, especially if there were strong winds or tree falling issues. Perhaps they did a hasty repair or amplifier replacement and they'll be back to balance it. I've worked a bunch of storm restore projects and know the goal is to get as much back on as quick as you can then go back to fine tune it so be patient (but be persistent too!)...
olyteddy is online now  
Old 07-15-2012, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 31
If there are analog channels in your system, what do they look like? Are they all noisy/snowy?
That will tell you if the signal is low.

If there is an analog channel 19, does it get intermittent bursts of "herringbone" interference (lines and chevrons on the screen)? That channel is the same frequency band as many VHF two-way radios, and it will show massive interference if there is a break in the cable shielding someplace. This is called "ingress", and it will be even worse if the TV signals are low.

Ingress of local signals (both TV, and two-way radio) over the top of the Digital channels will make many of the digital channels show a "loss of signal" message, or cause intermittent breakup.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
Old 07-15-2012, 12:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Wonder if the OP got his issue(s) resolved.
Ratman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off