Currently have Motorola DCX3400-m in living room. Wanting to add dvr and cable service to two other rooms. Help. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-13-2012, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So as the subject says. I want to add dvr and cable to two other rooms. My question is, can I just buy the bridge box things and be done with it or would it be better if I bought two more DCX3400's? I really don't know much about the MoCa stuff. So any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!
qwerty11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-14-2012, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Will you have multiple users watching the same thing at the same time?
Moca boxes allow you to have one DVR within your home and it gives you the ability to watch it anywhere within your home.
There are limitations to it so your home usage should help you decide.
RCbridge is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-14-2012, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One person would only want to use the DVR at a time. Do you know know where there is any real good information on the net? I can't find much about the moca system.
qwerty11 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-16-2012, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Have you looked into Window 7 capabilities? You can have up to 6 TV's on at the same time all doing different things with just one dedicated Home Theater PC and media center extenders. And you can decrypt HBO, Cinemax and whatever other premium channels you may subscribe to, as long as you are in the US, and subscribe to a Cable or FiOS provider.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-16-2012, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That sounds more difficult.
qwerty11 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-17-2012, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwerty11 View Post

That sounds more difficult.

Well, if turning on a PC and inserting a CableCard into it is difficult, then, you are not going to get much. Everything else, whether cable company provided DVR or TiVO are nothing more than a very limited capabilities PC with a CableCard tuner.

The only effort free way will be to get rid of TV's and just read a book. :-)

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-17-2012, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody have anymore info on Moco?
qwerty11 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-18-2012, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwerty11 View Post

Does anybody have anymore info on Moco?

Perhaps you meant MoCA?

MoCA is a networking protocl that uses coax rather than twisted pair wires to carry signal. With proper adapters you can bridge MoCA and Eithernet networks.

You still need IP addresses, and you are limited to about 1/3rd (300 Mbps max) of the speed of typical eithernet (1 Gbps). You can use MoCA just as you would eithernet.

Cost is much higher for MoCA equipment than eithernet. Most parts are not widely available through retail channels, and you are pretty much limited to stuff that "falls off the truck" which may or may not be tied to the provider.

You are probably much beter off using powerline network than MoCA 9if eithernet is not an option), since it is more widely available through retail.

Just for comparison costs:

Typical powerline adapter is about $50, and you will need at least 2 to connect a piece of equipment to the network.

Typical MoCA adapter is about $100 and you also need 2 to connect a piece of equipment to the network.

Typical ethernet adapter is $10, and a 1000 ft. spool of Cat5e (supports gigabit) is about $40.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-18-2012, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So neither one of these would be feasible in my condo which is already wired.
qwerty11 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-20-2012, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Look here this is a general overview.
http://www.mocalliance.org/
RCbridge is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off