Any way to make RG59 work well for digital cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-25-2012, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BBMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This post is cable centric, but the programming is HD. I didn't see an equivalent HD (cable source - technical) forum. If there is, let me know and I'll move the post.

I live in NYC and have Time Warner digital cable. On some channels and when using their Start Over service, I tend to get pixelation or complete dropout.

I called TWC, who send over a technician. He told me that the cable I have running in the walls was RG59, and it really should be RG6U (IIRC).

Replacing the cable in the walls would be a huge, expensive, and difficult project. Is there any way to boost the signal through the RG59, or otherwise improve the signal getting to the box?

Thanks,
BBMW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-25-2012, 08:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Unless your cable runs are very long, RG59 should be adequate. I would have someone from TWC either:
1) check replace connectors
2) check incoming signal levels from their incoming feed and adjust accordingly
3) provide a bi-drectional signal amp to compensate for low levels

Or.... you can purchase an amp on your own if you don't want to deal with TWC.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-25-2012, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 68
It could be as simple as a bad splitter, or connector. I had some channels pixelate on me, while others were fine, turned out it was a bad splitter that was affecting certain frequencies. "look back" is probably using frequencies that a bad splitter or connector is failing at.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off