Cable to Surround Sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-16-2012, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Snagelpuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just moved in to a new apartment. Cable comes in, hooked it to my tv coax input. Searched for channels and everything is fine. Now I decide I want to hook up my surround sound. Before I moved I had dish. Hooked the optical for sound coming out of the dish box to my surround sound and the hdmi cable to my tv all worked fine. New place has no cable box just a coax coming in from the wall. I have no audio outputs on my tv to run to the surround sound. What are my options to get the surround sound hooked up?

Thanks.
Snagelpuss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-16-2012, 01:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Rent a cable box. wink.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-16-2012, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Snagelpuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, that is what I figured. Didn't know if there would be a way around it.
Snagelpuss is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-16-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
You could also buy a QAM tuner (assuming you're tuning digital channels with the TV.) If you're happy with your TV's current channels, the QAM tuner should have outputs for audio to hook up to a surround sound system.

Although then you're at the whim of the cable company if they decide to encrypt some of the channels, but then again, you'd have the same issue with the TV alone.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is online now  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off