DCX3501-M HDMI Output Problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-21-2012, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
draper7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to hard reset this unit? No matter what I've tried it refuses to detect the HDMI connection. There is only "Y,Pb,Pr" in the configuration menu... It was working fine until I came back from vacation. The strange thing is I had Charter replace the previous Motorola box for the same reason, it stopped output to HDMI. I think I've tried everything to output to HDMI, no dice. I have it running over Y,Pb, Pr and optical out at the moment to get by. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dusty
draper7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-30-2013, 04:45 PM
Newbie
 
Klicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Looks like a pretty old thread, and not exactly the same problem, but I found it Googling a problem of my own and figured I'd leave my solution here just in case it helps anyone else who finds this thread with the problem I was having.

 

The same cablebox (DCX3501-M) was outputting 480p to my new HD TV (Seiki LED) and I couldn't figure out where to change the output.

 

So here's what I finally found, with the TV on, and tuned to the cablebox's HDMI input, turn the cablebox off. That's right, power it down. Then hit the 'Menu' button. Here you can fiddle with what signal the cablebox is outputting over the HDMI cable. My guess is my TV's firmware was sending some bad info back to the cablebox. 

Klicks is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-30-2013, 05:59 PM
Member
 
AntonH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Hi,

Also make sure latest firmware is downloaded. You have to call several times their tech support until

you get hold of an experienced knowledgeable guy. Even if there is no new firmware, reloading existing

one is not a bad idea either.

AntonH is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off