Need an external tuner - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-10-2012, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blipstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I have a friend in a bit of a predicament. She broke the coaxial input on her TV. She lives in a dorm room that provides basic cable. A cable box is not an option. I am trying to figure out how to help her but I cannot find any type of external tuner. Getting her any type of basic channels would be enough.

Does anyone have any ideas? Again, the only coaxial input to the TV has been broken so it'll need to utilize RCA, HDMI, etc...


Any help is appreciated. Thanks

There is no spoon
Blipstein is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-10-2012, 08:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
If it's analog cable, a used VCR will work. Should be around $20, if that (maybe a relative has one they can just give her.)

If it's digital, you need something with a QAM tuner, either one of the external tuners (like the Channel Master) or a DVD recorder. That's going to be pricier, but probably around $100-$250, depending on what she gets.
Blipstein likes this.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-11-2012, 04:40 AM
Senior Member
 
gring40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A VCR is easy, but the CM is a lot, just to buy a tuner already in the TV set. For that kind of $$, couldn't the coax input be fixed? Or don't people fix anything anymore?
Blipstein likes this.
gring40 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-11-2012, 05:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blipstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions, fellas. Isn't everything digital now? Would an analog signal from a VCR tuner even work?

There is no spoon
Blipstein is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-11-2012, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by gring40 View Post

A VCR is easy, but the CM is a lot, just to buy a tuner already in the TV set. For that kind of $$, couldn't the coax input be fixed? Or don't people fix anything anymore?
On an old CRT TV, tuner repair was practical. Not so on a flat panel. (not available as a repair part - hard to impossible to remove)

If the dorm has an analog cable feed (fairly common) then a VCR would work fine to tune stations and output composite (yellow/red/white) video.

Since small sets didn't need digital tuners until 2007, I believe, a digital system would have almost had to have offered a cable box option. (and there is no requirement for cable digital tuners in TVs at all)

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-11-2012, 12:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blipstein View Post

Thanks for the suggestions, fellas. Isn't everything digital now? Would an analog signal from a VCR tuner even work?

Depends on the cable company. I still get an analog feed (along with a digital feed) from Time Warner, and they haven't released any timetable for going all digital. I even use a VCR to tune my bedroom TV.

Ask her how the channels tuned before the coax broke. If they had funky numbers with decimals, it's likely digital. If not, it could still be analog.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-11-2012, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Make/model of the TV would be helpful. wink.gif It may not "break the bank" to repair.
In a "dorm room" situation, the campus may re-distribute everything as analog.

IMHO, a VCR is an inconvenient workaround. But again.... without more info, why speculate? biggrin.gif
Ratman is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off