Need info to run 2 HDTV's on 1 HD Cable Box with Dual Tuner.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-12-2012, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Knights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys, I been searching around to get some info on how I can run the setup that I want to do. I saw some threads on here but can't find anything on this setup.

Right now I have a 55" LED hung on the wall, But I want to add a 2nd hdtv on above it maybe a 42" so that when I change to playing on xbox the 2nd tv will turn on and I can watch tv on it while playing xbox on the main tv. I use a turtle beach headset so I would also change the surround sound to the 2nd tv while the xbox mode is on. I have 1 HD cable box from comcast and wanted to see how I can got both tv's to work on it with this set up??.

Also, When not playing xbox I would sometimes like to have both tv's on if i want to watch 2 games at the same time. (Main tv will have the surround sound 2nd tv with the tv sound of course) but this will require dual tuner to watch different channels at the same time which I don't know if it's possible or not. Any suggestions??

I use a Harmony 900 remote for my theater system so I would program it to run these setups.

Thanks in advance for any helpful info or suggestions.
Knights is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-18-2012, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Knights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping to have some replies on this topic. Anyone have any suggestions for my next home project??
I guess worst case scenario would be forget about watching 2 tv's at the same time and stick to just having the top tv work while i'm gaming on the main tv.
Knights is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-18-2012, 08:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
It's kind of hard to parse out exactly what you want to do. Sounds like you want the sound system to be interchangeable between the two TVs, get the headset in on the mix, as well as everything seamlessly turn on and off simultaneously. You'd probably need more than a Harmony remote, and need some kind of controller (like an iPad or Android tablet, or a dedicated one.)

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-18-2012, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Knights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulpa View Post

It's kind of hard to parse out exactly what you want to do. Sounds like you want the sound system to be interchangeable between the two TVs, get the headset in on the mix, as well as everything seamlessly turn on and off simultaneously. You'd probably need more than a Harmony remote, and need some kind of controller (like an iPad or Android tablet, or a dedicated one.)

Well, I have the sound output is connected to the theater system for the surround sound. Basically i just want the cable box to switch from the main tv to a different tv when the main tv goes on game mode. I'm guessing that if i get a HDMI Hub or something I can have the dvr box work on the 2nd tv.
Knights is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-19-2012, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 65
A dual tuner DVR will only output 1 channel at a time. 2 separate channels = 2 separate boxes. You could connect an HD antenna to the second TV to watch a different channel while viewing an HD channel from the cable box on the main TV.

Everything you want can be achieved but it's going to be very messy and difficult to control, sound quality will suffer as well.

What is the make/model of your AV Receiver?

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off