Digital Cable Not Showing Program Information - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-17-2012, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Macleod52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have basic digital cable. My local HD channels all show the program information but no other stations do. I have the coax directly plugged into my TV. Is this a limitation due to not having a set top box or is there something with my TV's setup preventing all of the information to be displayed? I've tried setting the date/time manually as well as auto but neither of those had any effect.
I have Mediacom cable in the Quad Cities (Davenport, Moline, Rock Island, Bettendorf) and my TV is a Samsung PN59D7000. Any help would be appreciated.
Macleod52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-06-2013, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Seems normal/reasonable/expected-behavior.

Indeed, the provider's set-top box probably would be able to provide the program information for the other channels.
tveli is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-06-2013, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 199
The local HD channels are piped pretty much directly into the cable and carry the info that is broadcast, whereas the resized to SD version of these channels is also re-encoded. Most of the non-broadcast channels don't carry any information. The program guide you get on a cable converter is downloaded to the box independent of any of the channels.
olyteddy is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-10-2013, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is this important to you or do you just want to know the answer as explained above you will need a STB to get the guide data.
RCbridge is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off