need some help selecting a cable splitter box. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-28-2013, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
another-user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
comcast recently sent out a notice that they would be going all digital in my area, and that we would need the digital converter boxes to receive any channels.

ive hooked up the converter boxes and found that they are getting little to no power, so all but one or two channels are coming in.

i then hooked up one box directly to the first splitter thats connected directly to the main line coming into the house. that single box/tv works perfectly. so, it appears my 2nd splittler (an 8 port, with 4 tvs currently hooked upto it) isnt able to transmit enough power to the other converter boxes in the house.

my current setup is...
main line - 2 port splitter. 1 port goes to my cable modem, 2nd port goes to 8 port splitter, which then goes to 4 different tvs.

is theres some kind of active/powered splitter that i can use that will transmit a boosted signal to all the tvs its hooked up to? some of the cable lines are probably 40-50 feet long.
another-user is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-28-2013, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Just put a standard drop amp in front of the 8-way splitter. Do a search for an EVO-AMP-1.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-29-2013, 08:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,392
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Or.... try replacing the 8-way splitter with a 4-way splitter.
Ratman is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-29-2013, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
That too. I've always had the rule of thumb that if there are more than 3 outlets, install a drop amp. In this case, there will be 5.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-29-2013, 02:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,392
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 272
MY rule of thumb is.... don't use an 8-way splitter when you only need 4. smile.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-29-2013, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've measured losses of 15 to 16dB on lots of vertical port 8-way splitters. When I broke them open, the "circuitry" was just "Y" nodes with tiny ferrite chokes on them. Among the dozen or so I tested, the only ones with typically 11 dB loss were the Antronnix and Blonder Tongue 8-ways.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-30-2013, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post

I've measured losses of 15 to 16dB on lots of vertical port 8-way splitters. When I broke them open, the "circuitry" was just "Y" nodes with tiny ferrite chokes on them.
You gotta love those -- electrical contractors sure do. I guess it does give us something to do... wink.gif

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-08-2013, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
Big Jug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

MY rule of thumb is.... don't use an 8-way splitter when you only need 4. smile.gif

+1

If your feeding an 8 way splitter, than your also causing leakage on your unused ports (unless you have them capped off with a resistor). The higher the splitter, the more the signal loss through that splitter. If your only using 4 sets, then drop it down to a 4-way, which usually loses 7dB all around.
Big Jug is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-09-2013, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
+ 2 on the 8 to a 4 way splitter.

Do you have the unused ports capped with terminations?
RCbridge is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off