TV on my PC, complicated set up and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-13-2013, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ackis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone, I think I started down a dark path of disappointment.

I originally purchased a DIAMOND ATI Theater HD 750 USB TVW750USB USB 2.0 Interface to be able to transfer home VHS movies to something digital.

Worked like a charm, but then I saw it had a cable input and I decided to give watching tv on my computer a try.

Boy, I was wrong. Hours and hours of configuring have left me frustrated.

I then decided to pick up a SiliconDust HDHomeRun DUAL Tuner TV Box thinking that it would solve my problems and allow both my wife and I to watch tv on our computers.

Boy, I was wrong.

So right now, I'm just wondering. What is the best set up to get the most channels on our PCs. I know I won't be able to get the full cable suite that I have purchased due to some sort of encryption issue, however I'd like to get as many as possible.

I have a crappy house location and I've noticed that the antenna really didn't work, so my preference is to just plug in the coax cable from Shaw to get whatever I can get. I'm also located in Canada.

Thank you.
Ackis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-14-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Does Shaw encrypt everything? If so, you are SOL, since there is no FCC in Canada to force Cable providers to allow third party devices.

See if your antenna can pick up any channels when plugged into the TV. If you can, then try any of the tuners you have, but only one, without the splitter.

Ditch the software that was packaged with ATI, and use Windows MEdia Center that is included with every copy of Windows 7, some Vista's and you need to buy it for $10 for Windows 8 pro.

It will give you the TV guide listing on screen, just lilke Shaw DVR/box for your particular postal code.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-14-2013, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ackis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah it looks like I'm SOL with a digital tuner. My analogue one can get some signals, but I can't get anything digital.

And the reception in my house is terrible, I tried a couple antennas and still got crap.
Ackis is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-17-2013, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ackis View Post

Yeah it looks like I'm SOL with a digital tuner. My analogue one can get some signals, but I can't get anything digital.

And the reception in my house is terrible, I tried a couple antennas and still got crap.

At least in Canada, you can walk into Future Shop and buy your own DVR, without having to pay rental fees.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off