HDMI to VGA cable connecting satellite receiver to computer monitor not working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2013, 11:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jack289's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to use my computer Benq lcd monitor to watch TV by connecting it to a full HD satellite receiver set top box. My lcd monitor only has a VGA input. So I bought an HDMI to VGA cable, connected the HDMI to the receiver, and connected the VGA to the monitor. It did not work. The message on my monitor says "no cable connected".

Any idea how to get this to work? do I need extra hardware? what am I missing here?
Jack289 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2013, 02:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-VGA-converter-Audio-Converter/dp/B003O55U8K

http://www.walmart.com/ip/StarTech-HDMI-to-VGA-Adapter-Converter-for-Desktop-PC-Laptop-Ultrabook/26464398
Ratman is online now  
Old 10-02-2013, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack289 View Post

I want to use my computer Benq lcd monitor to watch TV by connecting it to a full HD satellite receiver set top box. My lcd monitor only has a VGA input. So I bought an HDMI to VGA cable, connected the HDMI to the receiver, and connected the VGA to the monitor. It did not work. The message on my monitor says "no cable connected".

Any idea how to get this to work? do I need extra hardware? what am I missing here?

HDMI is digital, VGA is analog. Is there a converter in line that converts digital to VGA? Where does the sound go? HDMI can carry sound, VGA does not...


Basically, there is no way to go from HDMI to VGA without some sort of converter.

If you DVI input on the monitor, you may be able to get an HDMI to DVI adapter, but you are still not going to produce sound.

Also, if the sat receiver requires HDCP "talk back" then you are SOL.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Old 10-21-2013, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,123
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 411
If you are in the US, both DirecTV and Dish have free software to stream your recordings to a PC. This will be a lot cheaper than what you are trying to do. In fact, a whole new monitor will probably be cheaper.
mdavej is offline  
Old 10-21-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

If you are in the US, both DirecTV and Dish have free software to stream your recordings to a PC. This will be a lot cheaper than what you are trying to do. In fact, a whole new monitor will probably be cheaper.

New monitor would be a better deal:


http://www.bestbuy.com/site/samsung-21-5-led-hd-monitor-red/8682086.p?id=1218884670047&skuId=8682086&cmp=RMX&ky=1whxm51gbOgORrn6M8JOUlLjDtR0yY7Rx

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off