Does such an animal exist? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-08-2017, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nukejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does such an animal exist?

I currently have a Antronix 2 Way splitter (CMC2002H-A) and a Multimedia Drop Amplifier (PCT-MA2-M). The splitter separates the cable modem from the amplifier for TV distribution in my house. Is there a device that combines these two components in such a way that the benefits of having the signals split and isolated will not be compromised?
nukejr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-08-2017, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 17,528
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 1191
No. Can you explain why or how you believe your signal is compromised.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-08-2017, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nukejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
No. Can you explain why or how you believe your signal is compromised.
No, there is no issue with signal. I have an On-Q enclosure that contains both my cable TV distribution and ethernet distribution wires/cables. In an effort to make it more tidy and organized, I wanted to consolidate some of the components (namely the cable TV components) to make things more compact and eliminate wires where I could.
nukejr is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 01-09-2017, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,641
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Post a picture of what you have.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-11-2017, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nukejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by egnlsn View Post
Post a picture of what you have.
This is what I have, as installed by the cable company since construction. As one can see, wires run haphazardly within the enclosure:




This is what I am planning to attempt, as it will eliminate one RG6 Cable.





And this is what I hope exists somewhere in the world:

nukejr is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-12-2017, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,641
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 66
No, there isn't. For one outlet, you shouldn't even need an amp. If you had several outlets, yes there are amps like what you're looking for.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-12-2017, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nukejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by egnlsn View Post
No, there isn't. For one outlet, you shouldn't even need an amp. If you had several outlets, yes there are amps like what you're looking for.
The "PWR RF OUT IN + 15dB" is connected to an 8-Way splitter (very similar to picture below) which is then sent to the 7 TV's in the house:



With that said, which amp would work for me?
nukejr is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-12-2017, 09:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,641
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 66
I've sent you a PM.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off