Wireless TV distribution - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By olyteddy
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-04-2017, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dharris45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wireless TV distribution

Not sure if this is the correct area of the forum for this question.

I have Verizon FIOS TV with a set top box in my family room. The STB is connected to my family room TV with HDMI, but it also has component video and RF out ports. I have a small TV in the kitchen which is probably 15 ft from the family room TV with a wall in between. I connected the kitchen TV to the STB via the in-home coax wiring. The in-house coax is all home run from a single location on the side of my house.

So to connect the small TV I had to connect the coax from the family room to the STB RF out then on the side of my house I cross connected to the coax to the kitchen. So I end up with a coax run of probably 65-70 feet. The TV works but quite often it get into heavy static/snow mode. To correct this, I have to disconnect the coax from the back of the kitchen TV and it correct the picture for a time, but then get messed up again.

I do not have the need to watch a different channel on the Kitchen TV. I am considering using one of the wireless transmission set ups.

Is this the best solution for my problem? If so, I would like recommendations on the bet set up. I found recommendation on a IOGEAR wireless setup by searching this forum, but when I research, this system seems to get very mixed reviews.

Is there a better solution than wireless using my existing in-house coax? The least expensive solution would be to simply run a direct coax from the STB to the kitchen TV, but that is not practical since I would have to get into the walls behind my kitchen cabinets.

Thanks in advance,

Don
dharris45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-04-2017, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,540
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 536 Post(s)
Liked: 941
75' of coax at ch.3 is not too much loss. If I were you I'd find the bad connection and fix it.
egnlsn likes this.

🔥🔥🔥 Sent from my Samsung Note 7 Using Ove Glove™ 🔥🔥🔥
olyteddy is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-04-2017, 08:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
If disconnecting from the kitchen TV fixes the problem for awhile, I suspect a bad connection on the cable in the kitchen.
HDMI Guy is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 02-05-2017, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dharris45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have re-done the connections as best I can. I have not gone so far as to cut off the connector ends of the coax and crimped new connectors. I can try that. I think I have pretty much changed everything in the run except the in-house wiring. I also have in-house coax that was installed to home run to the attic for an off-air antenna. There is a separate cable running to the same locations as the coax that home runs to the outside of the house (this was originally installed for Cable TV). I originally had the kitchen TV looping through the attic coax, and I had the same problem. I moved to the other coax since it made for a short overall run.

When the kitchen TV goes into the snow/static mode, I can disconnect the short coax at the wall outlet or the back of the TV and then reconnect and the picture will clear up. I have also replaced this short coax.

Can anyone explain to me what is happening to cause the snow/static? TV is working fine then suddenly the picture get snow/static.

Thanks again,

Don
dharris45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off