Can anything Decode with a CableCard without Selecting a channel? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-19-2017, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can anything Decode with a CableCard without Selecting a channel?

My parents have not gone HD yet, and have no plans to do so any time soon. I gave them my old Series 2 TiVo when I went HD several years ago, and they subsequently bought a lifetime subscription on this TiVo, so they don't want to switch to another DVR. Everything worked fine until their cable company (Charter) switched to a digital signal.

Now they cannot use their cable without a cable box to decode the digital signal. I set up the TiVo to interface with their cable box and change the channel, but it still can only read one channel at a time, which defeats the dual-channel-input feature of the Series 2 TiVo. Even worse, the channel change works about 90% of the time, which means sometimes they try to record a show and end up with a recording of the wrong channel.

When I talked to their cable company, one suggestion they had was to use a Cable Card instead of the cable box. The series 2 TiVo does not accept Cable Cards (that started with series 3), so I have been looking for other devices. But every stand-alone device I can find which accepts a Cable Card comes with its own tuner, and only outputs the selected channel. To make this work with the Series 2 TiVo, I would need a device which outputs an undifferentiated analog signal, so that the TiVo downstream of it can be the tuner, otherwise I would have the same problem as the cable box.

Is there a decoder like I am envisioning, which uses a Cable Card to decode the cable's digital signal to an undifferentiated analog signal, or is there any other possible solution which I have not considered? I've tried searching this site and the internet in general for this type of decoder, but all of the key-words I can think of show up in a lot of web-sites which talk about other things entirely. Any help would be appreciated.
SeekingDecoder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-19-2017, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
SPDICKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Bite the bullet, ditch the he old TiVo and get a new Bolt. No other solution to have the TiVo record shows automatically.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
SPDICKEY is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-19-2017, 06:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Check with the cable company to see if they have digital to analog converters.

Last edited by HDMI Guy; 02-20-2017 at 10:52 AM.
HDMI Guy is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 02-21-2017, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
SPDICKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 102
A D to A converter (usually called a cable box or DTA) will still only output one channel at a time. A CableCard equipped TiVo can record multiple channels at one time, digital or analog.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
SPDICKEY is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-26-2017, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post
Check with the cable company to see if they have digital to analog converters.


I have checked. They do not.
SeekingDecoder is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-26-2017, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPDICKEY View Post
A D to A converter (usually called a cable box or DTA) will still only output one channel at a time. A CableCard equipped TiVo can record multiple channels at one time, digital or analog.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk


I use a CableCard TiVo (Series 3) in my own system. It works great.


All of the decoders I found output only one channel at a time. My purpose in posting here is to see if there were any other products available I had missed.


I also saw a number of CableCard decoders set up to run in a PC, normally intended for applications where the PC itself is the DVR. Not optimal, but if something like that could also be set up to give me my undifferentiated analog output, that may be workable as well. Is there really no way to convert digital to undifferentiated analog?
SeekingDecoder is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-26-2017, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
SPDICKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 102
No. A "Multi-Stream" CableCARD (M-Card) can decode up to six channels simultaneously. You can use them with Ceton PC tuners and modern TiVo devices.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
SPDICKEY is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-26-2017, 08:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekingDecoder View Post
I use a CableCard TiVo (Series 3) in my own system. It works great.


All of the decoders I found output only one channel at a time. My purpose in posting here is to see if there were any other products available I had missed.


I also saw a number of CableCard decoders set up to run in a PC, normally intended for applications where the PC itself is the DVR. Not optimal, but if something like that could also be set up to give me my undifferentiated analog output, that may be workable as well. Is there really no way to convert digital to undifferentiated analog?
Samsung made a Smart Media Player GX-SM530CF that uses a cable card and basically replaces a cable box. This box has been out of production for at least two years now but some may be hanging around used. I have one in a spare bedroom and it works fine. This box has no DVR function and the guide from a third party is unreliable. This box has only an HDMI out so it may not work for them.

Last edited by HDMI Guy; 03-14-2017 at 11:20 AM.
HDMI Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off