Hauppuage Colossus 1/2 for TV recording - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 04-17-2017, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hauppuage Colossus 1/2 for TV recording

Hi. I am looking to purchase a Hauppuage Colossus to record my Comcast/ Directv. I have a few questions before I make the purchase. First, what is the difference between the Colossus, and the Colossus 2? Is the 2nd one worth the extra $10? Second, I am mainly purchasing this to schedule recordings, so can this automatically change TV channels for recordings? Third, would a different method, (possibly external ) work better for this task? Finally, is the Colossus even worth purchasing?

Sorry for all of the questions, but there aren't many topics on this.
Thank you in advance, and I appreciate any help!
planesguy2004 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old Today, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Not Much Difference Colossus 1 vs 2

Colossus 2 will accept and pass through 1080P/60 (the 60 is frames per second). However it records 1080P/60 as 1080P/30. Colossus 1 will only accept and record 1080i/60 (lower resolutions are the same for both cards). Whether 1080P/30 is better than 1080I is not really clear - a consensus view is that 1080i/60 is less choppy for fast moving scenes - although may be a bit blurrier. I upgraded to Colossus 2 because occasionally I get sources that are 1080P/60 and the Colossus 1 card just shows a black screen - no warning as to what's wrong. Then I have to go into a menu on the source and down sample to 1080i/60, which is a pain to do. So with the Colossus 2, at least I don't have to switch. Also, a minor difference, but the Colossus 1 shipped with ArcSoft Showbiz for capture. Colossus 2 has similar functionality with Hauppauge Capture, which by the way, can also be downloaded to work with Colossus 1.

Hope that helps.
Bobbo7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Tags
colossus , hauppauge , hauppauge colossus

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off