GlobeCast World TV Questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 03-30-2004, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pericles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Xenia
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,

I hope this is the appropriate venue to ask this, but I am trying to receive certain channel from Europe, which are apparently carried by a company called Globe Cast, via their GlobeCast World TV service (http://www.globecastwtv.com/).

Does anyone know what kind of receiver is required for their services (manufacturer, etc?). I do know they use an elliptical dish with one LNB, but the receiver is very non-descriptive, i.e. GlobeCast's MPEG-2 DVB receiver, which doesn't really say much -- I am hoping I can find a cheap used working receiver somewhere.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

"I fear, from the experience of the last twenty-five years, that morals do not of necessity advance hand in hand with the sciences." --Thomas Jefferson to M. Correa de Serra, 1815. ME 14:331
Pericles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 04-02-2004, 07:47 AM
Member
 
CablerMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, MN 55744
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the channel you are interested in a "subscription channel"? If so, then you will need to get the GlobeCast system which has a smart card. If not, any FTA system that you can aim at T-5 should allow you access to the programming.
CablerMN is offline  
Closed Thread Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off